Cottage Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small hospital with supportive staff
Clinical Dietitian (Current Employee) –  Woodsville, NHJuly 29, 2015
Cottage Hospital has been a wonderful place to work. As a critical access hospital, we see a variety of patients who live locally for inpatient and outpatient services. It has been a rewarding experience to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Medical Receptionist/Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, ILJuly 3, 2015
This was a great job, all the co-workers make this a great place to work. I worked as needed in several offices and loved it everyday was different. The hardest part was just remembering the small little stuff that each office did differently.
Pros
all the co-workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Critical Access Laboratory
Laboratory Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Woodsville, NHJune 22, 2015
The hospital has a bustling emergency department and equally busy outpatient draw station. Add in a substantial outreach program and we have a steady workflow in an extremely Lean facility. Budgets have to be closely monitored.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
managing a large workflow with a small staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with patience.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  CASeptember 8, 2014
A typical day at work was looking up what patieont's I had for the day. Then I would look into what vital signe, showers needed to be done and which patieont's needed to go to activities.

What I have learned in the short time I have been a CNA is that
being effcient and caring is very important.

Management at Cottage Hospital is great. They take the time to listen to you and are always open to your ideas.

My coworkers always worked as a team. I enjoyed working with them.

Working with acute care patients there's not much that isn't hard.

The most ejoyable and rewarding part to me is making the patient and there family happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, versatile work place
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Galesburg, ILAugust 26, 2014
Check in patients, schedule appointments, answer phone calls, take messages, file and manage medical records, take payments, verify insurance elgibility and work with the general public.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work, family atmosphere
Medical Coder (Current Employee) –  Woodsville, NHJuly 13, 2014
Cottage Hospital is a small rural hospital. They run a very organized hospital, are patient-oriented.

It is a privilege being associated with the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff RN
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CANovember 7, 2013
Worked in an amazing city at a great hospital. Learned a lot as a telemetry nurse at Cottage.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers good, management bad
Stationary Engineer (Current Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CAOctober 4, 2013
Management has two main attitudes: If you are not on my level or above, you do not exist, and I am in charge and I can do WHATEVER I want - be it unethical, unlawful, or just plain mean.
There is no training and little documentation. Industry best practices are ignored - they would rather do it their way.
Avoid this company unless you can ignore your common sense, go along to get along, and do things their way.
Pros
compensation and benefits
Cons
management, commute
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, ILOctober 2, 2013
Great co-workers. Management unstable at times. The hardest part of the job is the constant diet changes of the patients.
Pros
flexible schedule.
Cons
schedule can change.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really nice hospital to work at and definitely room to grow
Food Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CAOctober 1, 2013
This is a really nice hospital to work for. The facility is beautiful and nice and the majority of the staff is very nice and professional. They really know how to care for their patients here, and management really knows how to take care of their employees. I enjoyed communicating with the patients and letting them know that they are our top priority. It's a hospital so you never really know what to expect usually around certain times of the year we had more patients, other times we had less there was always something to do whether it was to stock the pantry, collect patients trays, distribute menus, take orders, clean up, or orientate new patients.
Pros
very nice facility
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment.
Radiologic technologist (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, ILSeptember 9, 2013
Performed diagnostic x-rays on ER, in and out patients. I had to adhere to all radiation protection practices. There was also clerical duties that had to be performed, filing, answering phones, checking in patients, charging exams, and scheduling exams. I also performed non-enhanced CT scans of the head and abd/pelvis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cottage Hospital was a great workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Woodsville, NHAugust 5, 2013
This facility had great insurance benefits, offer further education funds, overall a good facility to work for.
Pros
health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with the latest technology
Extern - Radiology (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CaJune 19, 2013
Extern – Radiology: Observed, assisted/ and took outpatient, inpatient and emergency room radiographs. Observed and assisted/performed the radiologist with fluoroscopy procedures. Performed portable radiographs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff and wonderful doctors
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Medical Arts ClinicApril 3, 2013
We worked as a team for the excellent Patient care values we believed.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
never enough hours in the day
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rural hospital, close care
Staff Technologist (Former Employee) –  Woodsville, NHMarch 6, 2013
day to day work conducting a imaging services department, generally easy going staff and accommodating to personal needs.
Pros
reduced charges for service provided by their facility
Cons
small hospital, no real general advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very family oriented, great people to work with.
Quality Assistant (Current Employee) –  Woodsville, NHFebruary 27, 2013
Great place to work, the people you work with are great, you meet many different people from the community and working relationships. A typical day is not so typical. Very unpredictable for this job which is what is exciting about it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced.
Outpatient Medical Coder (Current Employee) –  Woodsville, NHJanuary 19, 2013
I don't mind working hard but in my job accuracy should come first.
Pros
nice co-workers
Cons
nit picky about small things
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work- you feel as you aree part of a family- all staff included!
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, ILSeptember 24, 2012
Every day was hetic- but we all pulled together as a team for a common goal the patient. Supervisors were understanding and worked close with you.
Pros
we had pot luck or drug reps bring lunches on tuesdays- even the doctors enjoyed.
Cons
as with any job in galesburg right now not enough pay for the work required.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some wonderful and caring nurses.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Galesburg, ILSeptember 19, 2012
a very busy place to work, a wide variety of medical conditions on floor for great learning, good nusing staff and doctors, managment needs to spend more time on floor.
Pros
good nurses
Cons
patient load to high for good care and patient satisfaction
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff members generally a good group of people to work with
Staff nurse (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, ILAugust 18, 2012
Management was issuing verbal and written warning to staff members, ith little credibility. I was feeling that staff members had no job security whatsoever. If someone in management had it in for you, they would find a way to fire you.
Pros
relatively close to work
Cons
poor management; harrassment by some management to some individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture