Cottonwood Financial

18 reviews

Cottonwood Financial Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start out
Asst. Store Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TxJuly 21, 2015
This is a great company to start out with. They pay well, and provide you with growth. The typical work day can be a bit hectic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working enviroment, good people - lots of odd rules and long hours
Store Manager (Current Employee), Clarksville, TXJuly 6, 2015
Typically I will work an 8.5 hour day all alone in the store. Customer service is my favorite part of the position, I love to meet people and I get to do that with this job. I dislike some things about the position, but overall I do enjoy my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like worrying about getting fired constantly, this is your job!
Store Manager (Former Employee), IllinoisJune 29, 2015
Pros: the pay is good
Cons: EVERYTHING ELSE
I know the pay is good, and the raises look nice, but trust me, you want to RUN from this place. DO NOT WORK HERE. They have no respect for employee safety during bad weather, nor during family emergencies. You WILL be wondering if you're getting fired pretty much every other week. If you don't hit the "numbers" goals they set for you (and I'd love to know how they come up with them), expect to be fired, because they "can train a monkey to do this job". They want to lure you in with nice pay just like they lure their customers in with promises of easy money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated with trust and respect.
Senior Real Estate Manager (Former Employee), Irving TXMay 26, 2015
Pros: Work place, freedom to get the job done, freindly environment.
Cons: no cons just good things
Great Place to work, I would go back in a heart beat. I was always treated with trust and respect. It was a great opportunity while it lasted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work Environment
Real Estate Manager (Former Employee), Irving, TexasApril 20, 2015
Pros: Not micromanaged, good pay, professional work environment
Cons: Slow at times, repetitive travel
CF is a very straightforward and professional company to work for. I enjoyed my job and was very grateful to work for such good people. The training was second to none as a real estate manager working for a national retailer. Although there were not many happy hours and interdepartmental mingling, I have very high regards for the team I worked closely with. Overall compensation was very competitive, and benefits were decent. The job required a ton of travel (4 days a week) which is really my only complaint...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Stores are the worst
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Irving, TXMarch 27, 2015
Pros: Good pay
Cons: Everything else
This has got to be the worst place I have ever worked for. Even Walmart was better than this. They have the most unprofessional managers in the existence of ever, especially in the DFW/North Texas area.

First off, you get saddled with either two or three other employees to work with in close proximity. One is a store manager and the others(yourself included) are assistant store managers. The only – more... difference is that none of you are managers and the store manager gets more hours and higher pay. If you don't get a long with your coworkers, you're out of luck. There will be no help from your DM or even RM. If you complain, there's no guarantee of justice if your complaint is legit. It comes down to who they like more.

Numbers are more important than employees and employees are the most changing element here. If you don't meet their ridiculous, ever scaling goals, something is wrong. When you're in the business of loaning out money to individuals with abysmal credit, there's a high chance they will not pay back. I can't tell you how many times people have closed their bank accounts or ignored courtesy calls/collection balls. There were several good customers on the other hand if you played goody-goody and buddy buddy with them.

Your job is to be their "friend" and develop a good relationship with your customers. Once they decide they are getting ripped off (you pay 20 per 100 that you borrow... do the math.) If you pay only the interest, that's only the interest and its never towards the loan at all. Payday loans are terrible and are often taken advantage of by people who don't care about their credit. It's so easy to get one and so easy to avoid paying it.

Once they feel you aren't getting those numbers in, you will be terminated. They rarely keep anyone there over a year and if you are one of the rare ones to be there longer than 2, congratulations. It could have been the management I had, but I made it a total of 2 and a half years. I can't tell you how often I looked at the store roster and saw the names change over and over again. There is no being good, there is only being a favorite.

Avoid this for the long term. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst IT Department ever!!!
Solutions Developer (Former Employee), Irving, TXMarch 15, 2015
Pros: there is none.
Cons: poor management, micromanage environment, does not care about employees, medical is terrible, etc.
If you like to be micromanaged and have your code scrutinized daily then this is the company for you. The turnover rate is extremely high, either you get fired or quit. Your time is logged in on your computer. The manager gets a daily report on your time-in and time-out. No respect for lunch breaks, family emergencies, etc. I wish someone had warned me. If you want to be miserable daily, then this company's IT department is just for you. Upper management will make you insane by constantly calling meetings to force you to meet ridiculous deadlines. Medical insurance is the worst ever. Avoid this company at all costs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A laid back call center
Debt Collector (Former Employee), Irving, TXDecember 29, 2014
Pros: competitive pay, bonuses, company as a whole was great
A typical work day for me would be making outbound collection calls on pay day loans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with small departments make for cozy workplace
Remarketing Specialist/Skip Tracer (Current Employee), Irving, TXDecember 4, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, fun work environment, enjoyable work
Cons: bad insurance benefits
My typical day consists of pulling reports, finding truant customers and collateral by using internet search tools. I have learned many different programs while employed here and expanded on some knowledge that I already had. I have learned how to use very complex systems like CashWise and AdvantEdge along with the broadening my knowledge of Microsoft Office programs including Excel, Word, Outlook, – more... etc. My direct manager is very diplomatic and an effective problem solver. He is spread very thin and could use an assistant since the department has almost doubled in size since I started with the Remarketing in 2010. My coworkers are enjoyable to work with and make for a fun work environment. We are a diverse group and work very hard to maintain a smooth running department. The hardest part of my job is finding and correcting mistakes others have made. Due to when the Skip team gets accounts, we are in a position to catch most of the mistakes made by other team members. This can be frustrating at times, but a necessary and important part of the job. I love what I do. I enjoy searching for answers, problem solving, finding what seems "unfindable". I like working closely with repo agents and coordinating efforts with all parties involved to secure the company's collateral. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't count on job security
Management (Former Employee), Irving, TexasNovember 30, 2014
Pros: can advance to upper management based on performance
Cons: too much micro management
Pay is O.K. Biggest beef is that company does not show loyalty to long term employees. They fire based on numbers VS performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Collection Specialist (Former Employee), Irving, TXOctober 27, 2014
Not a good company to work for. Dusty work environment and not a good overall place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay/Terrible Benefits - Managed by fear
Ops (Former Employee), Irving, TXJuly 30, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: sexist environment, poor hr administration
This company pays well, but has terrible benefits and a human resources department that thumbs its nose at employment law. The culture is wrought with old school sexism and is stiff and fun is absolutely not allowed. Employees are given autonomy, the management structure is lean, but unfortunately if you are female you probably will never get promoted into the boys club at the helm. Many of the middle managers are great, but their hands are tied by the CEO who is blatant in his disregard for the well-being of his employees. The salary/wages are very good so you have many people who stick around. Management style is create fear in all employees at all times. Everyone is always afraid they are going to be fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too demanding, somewhere to get paid...not somewhere to grow
Collector (Current Employee), Irving, TXJune 9, 2014
Pros: hour lunch and good compensation for easy work
Cons: permanent schedule request changes take forever to be done
You come in and you put on your headset then....you COLLECT COLLECT COLLECT! Nothing much else to the job besides that. It gets competitive with everyone trying to make sure they have their "dollars per hour", but otherwise you make a decent check for minimal work. Wouldn't plan on staying forever, because you get use to the job fast and they are fickle with employees. You could have this job for years and get fired suddenly. Or you could be here a short time and trying to maintain high results and they let you go cause you're at the bottom. All about numbers and quota, if you're not at the top...your job isn't secure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
District Manager (Current Employee), Ponderay, ID 83852January 12, 2014
Pros: great pay, flexibility
Cons: politics
This is a wonderful place to work. I feel very privileged to have a job through cottonwood financial. They are a great company to work for. They focus on employee growth and employee retention which is amazing. My employees feel like family. The most enjoyable part of the job is the flexibility I have within my schedule and the great opportunities to learn new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent mngmt staff!!!
Collections Specialist (Former Employee), Irving, TXJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: management
Cons: working sundays
I have no complaints about this company at all. I was laid off after 10 months still not sure why, but the entire time I worked there it was wonderful!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
CALL CENTER COLLECTOR (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 8, 2012
Small office environment. Was almost like a family. Not too bad a place to work. Good compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay but Terrible work culture and a no room for advancement
Annoymous (Former Employee), Irving, TXMay 7, 2012
Pros: great pay, and you are not micromanaged
Cons: no room for advancement, no job security, and awful work culture
The corporate location is in Irving (Las Colinas) in a C rate building. They share the building with a few other tennants and are consistantly dealing with issues with maint issues with this building. The work culture is very strange and the environment is very sterile. The expectations are always changing so you are always trying to hit a moving target. Upper management here are consitantly trying to cover there tracks even at the expense of throwing there staff under the bus. On a positive note the pay is very competitive but the health benefits are less than par.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Irving, Texas
Employees
1,001 to 5,000
Industry
Links
Cottonwood Financial website
Cottonwood Financial Jobs
Inc. 5000 List

Twitter