Find companies:
Council On Aging
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Council On Aging Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting people with other opinions
Transportation Driver (Former Employee), LaPorte, INAugust 24, 2014
Pros: good people to work with and work for
Transporting clients to and from Dr. Appts. Meeting and enjoying
company with people with a vast amount of knowledge about things
I never even thought about such as a person I met that knew Adolph
Hitler personally. I learned to be humble in the face of adversity and
to accept people as they are.I have had 3 Managers in my nine years with Council On – more... Aging and not one bad Manager.The hardest part of my job was saying goodby to my comrades when they left in retirement or sickness and hearing that one of our clients had passed. My best time was when the other drivers and other employees would come around at the end of the shift and we
could have a good old fashion gab fest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The agency as a whole
RN Case Manager (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 30, 2014
I love the agency as a whole. And I really loved my job until it completely changed one month ago. Before I felt like I was helping seniors stay in their home, and while I am still sort of doing that, I don't have any authority and the managed care company runs the show.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment/Amazing learning experience
MSW Intern (Current Employee), Santa Ana, CAJune 24, 2014
I really enjoyed my time with COA. The atmosphere was positive and supportive. I had amazing MSW supervision and training. I would work there if they offered pay for MSW's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work with elderly.
Home and Escort Linkage Program (Current Employee), Brookline, MAApril 28, 2014
Pros: learning experience
Cons: seeing how some seniors are lonely
It's a wonderful place to work. Atypical day can vary at what your agenda is for that day with the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neat place to work with shiny doors
Receptionist (Temporary on behalf of AppleOne) (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAMarch 25, 2014
My typical day looked like opening up the lobby, checking any important e-mails for the receptionist that was out, scheduling and signing out car-keys for the Council on Aging agents, signing the keys back in, greeting guests and notifying appropriate people, receiving and distributing mail.
This was my first job as a receptionist. I learned how to – more... schedule and keep track of things that needed to be kept track of. This was only temporary but it was a neat company to work for with very nice people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elderly services
Assistant living aide (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: pro-seniors
Cons: no helath benefits
Excellent organizational services.

No day is a typical day. Everyone should work for COA if they have an aging family member and are able to provide services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly evolving
Care Manager (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: constantly changing
A typical work day consists of working with clients and caregivers to develop care plans that are both efficient and comprehensive. It is the goal of the agency to keep the elderly in their own homes, and divert them from nursing homes or long term care facilities. I enjoy working with clients, and I enjoy making a difference in the community. The hardest – more... part of my job is finding community resources that will compliment the care plans that I create, but I still enjoy the process. I think the coworkers are very supportive of each other and the training is excellent. The company is constantly changing and this is very intimidating for new and veteran employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Health
hha (Former Employee), Bucyrus, OHJanuary 14, 2014
The day consisted of traveling to a clients home and assisting them with daily activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good practice
Volunteer Receptionist (Former Employee), Albany, GAJanuary 8, 2014
Although this wasnt a actual job it was volunteer but it gave me a chance to practice and get familiar with the way a office is ran and everybodies duties and etc. Being fast paced with making appointments, taking messages and answering calls at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized buisness
housekeeper (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLNovember 26, 2013
This job here was a very easy type of job.. A typical day at work was a waist of my time. The most hours I worked at this company was 2 hours a day 3 days a week. I really didn't learn nothing new here because I already knew the basics of this job. The management was poor unorganized very disrespectful. I didn't have many co-workers that I communicated – more... with I was to myself.. There was nothing hard about this job it was basic common sense work.. I enjoyed taking care of the elderly people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is team oriented.
Case Manager (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLAugust 16, 2013
Pros: going out in the field and meeting your client and their needs.
Cons: going out in the field and seeing i have little gas in my tank. it's a challenge but i love it.
A typical day at work is never the same when it comes to dealing with elderly clients. I learned very much that they are not only your clients but also people that are not just another number. I also learned within the company Medicaid Waiver, Older American Act, Home Care for Elderly and Community Care for Elderly are grants that has been very effective – more... for our clients. My co workers as well as myself have gained knowledge enough to support each other for success. I love my job, there is nothing negative that can be said. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a people person this job can be very rewarding
Assistant Program Coordinator (Current Employee), Albany, GAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: great source of consumer information
Cons: healthcare
If you enjoy working with the elderly you will enjoy working with this organization. The work you do is very rewarding and you get a sense of true appreciation from the seniors in the community. You learn how humble you can become working with the elderly. The management philosophy is living longer, living stronger, living safer. The people who work – more... with you are truly team players and genuinely care for their clients. The hardest part of the job is getting attached to the clients, and one day you come to work and they're gone. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing a smile on faces of the people you help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn and be educated about the issues our seniors have on a daily basis
LPN Supervisor (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLJuly 18, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: healthcare red tape
I had the wonderful opportunity to be able to be educated about medical coding for Home Health and to put my new knowledge to work to the best of my abilities. Also I enjoyed very much the interaction with my clients however when you give your all and things out of your control prevent you from continuing your care it is very difficult but I know there – more... will be someone else that will need me so I move on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enriching work.
Cook Assistant (Former Employee), Detroit, MIApril 23, 2013
Pros: meeting people and learning to prepare meals.
Cons: no cons good work.
preparing food for meals to serve senior citizens,learned how to prepare different meals,management easy to get along with, different and interesting co-workers. lifting and carrying packaged products. serving the food and help the clients and meals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Certified Nurse Assistant (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHMarch 5, 2013
I ENJOYED THE EXPERIENCE AS WELL AS THE PEOPLE. HELPING OTHERS MAKES IT ALL WORTH WHILE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Position Fast Pace
Private Pay Manager (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: providing services to seniors
Cons: found many people in coa to be unprofessional and closed minded
The merger of Extra Care, Inc was a rewarding experience. Extremely challenging.
Introduced Private Pay (Profit) sector to a non for profit organization funded through Federal Grants and Donations proved to be difficult however conquered obstacles.
During this period of employment balance of Home Life and Career was difficult.
Learned new time management – more... skills and communication skills
Most enjoyable working with Seniors who have been my passion for years. Finding the perfect fit for them made it all worth while providing the service they needed to remain in their homes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Medical Assistant/ med tech (Former Employee), Fernandina, FLOctober 22, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: flexible hours
The hardest part of the job was the lifting.The most enjoyable part was the patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency that provide services to the elders.
Case Manager (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLSeptember 22, 2012
Pros: conferences
Cons: meetings
Assisting the seniors daily by telephone calls, home visits and healthcare settings. I have learned to evacuate by a case to case basis. It is an enjoyable atmosphere with co-workers. The hardest part of the job is not being able to assist the elder and know that they needs services. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you have made a – more... difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow pace, calm environment, interacting with senior citizens
Driver (Former Employee), Elkhart, INJuly 31, 2012
Driving clieats to appointments, keeping miliage and maintaining vehicles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excitement in traveling meeting new people.
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Saint Augustine, FLJune 14, 2012
Pros: employee lunch
Cons: n/a
traveling to homes ensuring the proper care for the elderly in their homes.