County of Alameda Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Customer Service Representative/Lead (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 13, 2017
Alameda county is a good place to work I love how that employee help you out when you have a problem and I also love how you can move up in the company and grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Classroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 15, 2017
I worked temporarily for the Presidential Election so it was 60 hour work weeks that were grueling. I would not want to work this way on a regular basis but it was a concentrated period of time so I survived.
Pros
Government Agency Exposure
Cons
Not a lot of freedom, strictly scheduled breaks which I am not used to coming from the private sector.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job
Specialist Clerk/ Eligibility Support Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 11, 2017
I worked for several departments throughout the County of Alameda;
There are a lot of governmental services that benefit the community.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Testing for job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Class "A" Driver (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CAJanuary 24, 2016
I was an owner operation for Rossiter Relocation,
great environment, great co-workers and management. the only problem was on the winter time sometimes there was not enough work available.
Pros
Great work and family balance
Cons
during the winter time, not to much work available
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Assignments
Specialist Clerk II (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 13, 2015
Working for the County of Alameda as a member of the Temporary Assignment Pool has been a refreshing learning experience. The most important thing to keep in mind is to remember - everyone around you is a real live person with feelings, treat them as you would like to be treated; humility and a willingness to pitch in are Key.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Much Micromanagement/No Room for Advancement
Temporary Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJuly 11, 2015
What I have learned from this company is that you are a nobody and management will never move you up no matter how many promises they may. Too much favoritism goes on around there.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow on most parts of the day
Registrar of Voters (Former Employee) –  San LeandroMay 18, 2015
Election day was slow but interesting. People almost voted at the same times, like people in rush hour. The team I worked with was nice and helpful with the rookies including myself.
Pros
Good time alotted for lunch/breaks
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Specialist Clerk I (Current Employee) –  Alameda, CAMarch 20, 2015
Hours: 8:30am - 5:00pm
One hour lunch.
Management is supportive.
Overall environment is great!
Learning new things daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to be employed.
Supply Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 2, 2015
A typical day at work includes inventory checks, massive e-mails, unloading containers, working as a liason between vendors and imployees. Productive & efficient co-workers help with receiving product and evaluating ergonomic equipment. Courses and helpful management has helped me become more of a polished employee; i am great under pressure and I love to learn new things and acquire information.

The hardest part of my job is learning how to pace myself; passionate to get all work done by end of shift. The most enjoyable part of my day is knowing that I worked as hard and as efficient as possible. I posess a great amount of ambition to get any job done. I feel that this mentality is conducive to the quality of work done and speaks as a whole for any established company.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive culture
Registrar of Voters (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 22, 2014
atmosphere wad unlike any other. staff was great at responding to needs
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Patient Registration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAOctober 25, 2013
Great team environment
Excellent customer relations
Cared about patient care
Pros
Excellent Benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax field work enviroment
Environmental Health Inspector (Former Employee) –  Alameda, CASeptember 27, 2013
Work here is pretty relaxing and exciting. The most enjoyable part is deciding between doing office work such as making phone calls or write up reports or field work which involves on-site inspections. I learn how to properly manage time in the field, knowing when to head back to the office counting for traffic.The hardest part of the job is when establishments fail to meet requirements and requires to be shutdown.
Pros
Work at your own pace. Field work or Office work, your choice each day.
Cons
Hot summer heat, angry business owners
Was this review helpful?Yes18No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to hard but enjoying place to work.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CANovember 26, 2012
very good day even in winter.
not to over work my self be a team player.
they are ok.
sometimes they could be a little lazy.
it wasnt hard at all
the driving to the jobsites.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The training is what I liked the best. My manager was there to answer all questions.
Clerk (S.A.N) (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 7, 2012
Love this job! Learned alot about voting. I liked management . Got along with my co workers. The hardest part was all the overtime. You learn how to eat right and get your rest, you can do it.
Pros
the togetherness. management.
Cons
it's not a permanent job.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No7Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at County of Alameda. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.8
Culture
3.4