COUNTY OF HAWAII Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and work schedule
Custodial/Groundskeeper (Current Employee) –  Hilo, HIJune 12, 2016
Good job, pay, benefits. Nothing negative to say at all. County government position, stable job, good sense of security and advancement potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productuve working environment
Activity Aid Technician (Former Employee) –  Honokaa, HIMarch 16, 2016
I learned a lot about organization and how to deal with children in an environment outside of school and sports. It was very interesting and a good learning experience
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro management & Nepotism
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Big IslandJuly 4, 2015
Job itself was good, however, management does not trust their crew... distrust begets distrust.

Insecurity and insular attitudes abound.
Pros
Lower stress levels in actual job
Cons
Good luck advancing
Was this review helpful?Yes37No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the office of the Governor in Kailua Kona was an incredible experience for e.
Office of the Govenor (Former Employee) –  Kailua-Kona, HISeptember 19, 2012
No typical day, always different and stimulating. Met all kinds of people and learned how to operate state id machines that produced id cards for local constituents. My supervisor was astute, and I have nothing but respect for him who is a visionary and someone very capable of getting any job done. My co worker was a wonderful person who is most qualified in many ways, one being with the computer. I truly enjoyed this job, if there were hard times, I would have to say this would only happen if we were unable to assist a constituent. Often times we stayed overtime.
The most important part of this job to me was to represent the office of the Governor in the most positive of ways, Always honest, on time, and friendly.
Pros
medical benefits, clean office space, convient location.
Cons
not full medical and dental benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun volunteering experience got to look at the beautiful beaches.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kailua-Kona, HISeptember 1, 2013
I enjoyed volunteering for the county of Hawaii because Ive meet alot of nice workers and also people.it was an experience that was well worth the volunteer.
Pros
ride past the beaches of hawaii
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes33No26
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and Fun
Student Helper (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIApril 29, 2013
Tasks that were assigned to me were challenging from time to time and yet I had managed to get it done in a timely manner.
Pros
got to meet clients of all backgrounds
Was this review helpful?Yes25No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad moral
custodian/groundskeeper (Current Employee) –  Hilo, HISeptember 30, 2012
No Human factor, very low moral. Workers are incouraged to spy on others and report to management
Cons
micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes43No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIJanuary 9, 2013
Great benefits, great people. Set schedule (weekends off). Pleasant and professional work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No7

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
4.1
Culture
4.4

COUNTY OF HAWAII Reviews by Location