Find companies:
County of San Diego
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

County of San Diego Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great flexibility
Registrar of Voters (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 24, 2014
Its been over 10 years, so I don't remember much. However, co-workers were nice to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of change, room for growth
Supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 17, 2014
Compensation was high, benefits were solid. Environment was chaotic at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security
Control Specialist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 17, 2014
great job security. I have nothing more to say about the County of San Diego
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful work setting, with engaged employees.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 18, 2014
I enjoyed working here. The work was interesting and varied, and my coworkers were terrific.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to learn a great deal and advance very quickly. San Diego was a great place to live.
Account Exec, Development Manager, Support Analyst (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 21, 2014
Pros: job security, great benefits and fantastic city to work in.
Cons: ultimately answering to elected officials.
I started out in the Courts as a Departmental Computer Consultant and quickly became the lead. I enjoyed working with the Judges to solve their problems which helped me learn a great deal about the legal system.

My co-workers were young enthusiastic IT professionals who I am in contact with today.

Most enjoyable time was Managing an application development – more... team. The Management in the County was for the most part hardworking, professional and open to suggestions for improvement.

The hardest part of the job was watching the outsourcing of the IT Department and my co-workers in 1999 . I was fortunate in that my position at the time of Account Manager allowed me contact with several other Departments, two of whom employed me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Learning Experience
Library Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 14, 2014
As a Library Technician for the County of San Diego, I answered a variety of research and ready-reference inquiries in a timely manner.
I assisted students with research projects, online navigation, and database resources. Also, I provided excellent customer service to a diverse public library population.

An increase in skills identifying patrons needs – more... and request for information improved as I progressed in the position.

Working with a diverse population, I had many opportunities to better understand cultures other than my own and I developed new language skills.

As a library technician, I most enjoyed working with the public in a positive, learned environment which allowed each patron the potential for growth in various areas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with friendly and easy to get along co-workers.
General Support Aide (Internship) (Former Employee), La Mesa, CAMay 13, 2014
My everyday task was reviewing clients applications with strict thoroughness and verifying through a software. Working for the Family Resource Center helped me gain more experience in customer service mainly how to communicate with every individual differently. The most enjoyable part of this job was as the day came to an end I know that I had helped – more... many people get one step closer to there need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome folks
Intern (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 9, 2014
Pros: good communication, took us all to lunch as the intership drew to a close.
Cons: would have liked to have more to add to my resume from the experience.
Really enjoyed working here as intern. Like my atty very much, Very committed people. Wish I could have learned & did more and that the position had led to more permanent employment. Overall, a very good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room to find your niche
Protective Service Worker (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 9, 2014
San Diego is a huge county. There are as many personalities and approaches as there are units and supervisors. I worked in 3 Units over 5 years and had great experiences in two of them. Overall, San Diego is a front runner in best practices, early implementer of SOP and other cutting edge strategies, and has a lot of resources to offer. I loved my time – more... there with very little exception. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with opportunity to advance, well run county.
Agricultural/Standards Inspector (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: annual staff meeting is fun.
Cons: 3 strikes and you are out.
Worked in this place for 6 years, didn't want to leave but had to because of family commitments. Great co-workers, the best I have ever worked with in my career. Work hard, keep your head, make good judgments and you will soon be a supervisor, program manager or even a position higher than those. I Would have love to stay for 20 years but had to moved – more... because my spouse got a job 2000 miles away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Managed
Revenue and Recovery Officer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: organized. fiscally sound. lots of opportunities for advancement
Cons: central operations moved out of downtown.
The County of San Diego is a testament to how good government is operated. They fiscally sound. Their numerous workplaces are organized. Great benefits. Great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An outstanding place to work
Human Service Specialist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: the desire of management to want to see you succeed
Cons: that i had to leave
The culture of the City of San Diego is for advancement and seeing that everyone succeed in their career. This desire to see employees do well and be happy has never been matched before or after working here. The acknowledgment and encouragement to do your job well and to strive for the next rung has been unparalleled. The recognition makes everyone – more... feel like a rock star. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good
Home Health Aide (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: very easy
Cons: time consuming
Nice, made it easy. able to help my patients. I enjoyed the variety of patients and the vast difference in thier needs. it allowed me to expand my skills while getting to know alot of unique people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work. Very understanding management
ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR (Current Employee), Oceanside, CADecember 22, 2013
This is a great place to work. It is a very secure job, and management is very understanding. However, it is very hard to get fired once you have been working there for a while. Therefore, a lot of the people working there are very inefficient and lazy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing opportunity!
General Support Aid/WAY Intern (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 13, 2013
I enjoyed working with the County Of San Diego. The people who work there are amazing. They are friendly, helpful, understanding, patient, knowledgeable and just overall the best co-workers I've had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with many opportunities to learn new and important things in which to help our customers
Library Technician II BIL (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 26, 2013
Pros: was able to share my love and belief in the library's ability to change lives
Cons: not enough young people
A pleasant place to work with many opportunities to grow in the culture. A wonderful way to serve humanity with the gift of knowledge. The hardest part was our dealing with San Diego's mentally challenged communities. The most enjoyable part was our dealings with the younger and the older parts of our customer base. There was never a typical day at – more... work. I learned how to effectively manage a very diverse customer base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Child Protective Services
Child Protective Social Worker (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 10, 2013
Required social workers to go unannounced to families and assess if safe for children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
County of San Diego
Sr. Payroll Clerk (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 20, 2013
Pros: benefits, training, pto
Cons: location
I enjoyed working here very much. The office had a good environment to work in everyone got a long very well. No office drama. Was able to go to training and learn new skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, family environment. All coworkers backed one another.
Human Service Specialist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 20, 2013
Pros: fun environment
Cons: the building was old
The office was a fun atmosphere but could also be stressful. The County allowed a "fun" day to play games in the parking lot. We also celebrated everything with lots of potlucks. I enjoyed working with the public in establishing Medi-Cal. I got to know my clients and they got to me. I learned in five years that not one case is the same and that each – more... client has a different background and story. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful atmosphere to work at
Accounting Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 18, 2013
Working at the San Diego County as a student worker with accounting technician duties really helped me to learn more about accounts recievables and payables. My tasks mainly consisted of dealing with invoices (calling other companies to request both accounts receivables and accounts payables as well as faxing required documentation), as well as looking – more... through Oracle and the M4 database to find certain documents. All of my co-workers were extremely warm and friendly. It was a pleasure working there. – less