County of San Mateo Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An industrious place to work
Dept of Public Works Stationary Engineer II (Current Employee) –  Redwood City, CADecember 21, 2016
Working at the County of San Mateo has been a love hate relationship. Always working with budget constraints and a lack of tools one would imagine that the richest county in California would have the best in it's inventory. Constantly dealing with the Lowest bidder mentality has only led to a decaying system and infrastructure that only gets improved when it involves political benefit. Aside from the people I work, Management and it's entity have been stressful. I am a productive self motivating worker, this is not fostered at the county.
The enjoyable part of the job is there was a lot of work to be done to maintain and replace equipment. Being one of the most experienced it fell upon me to do a lions share of the work.
Pros
Plenty of work maintaining a decaying infrastructure
Cons
Bureaucratic management, corruption..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Congenial atmosphere, and good management.
Pest Detection Specialist (Former Employee) –  Redwood City, CANovember 6, 2015
Very organized environment.
Great people to work with.
Able to be out in the different neighborhoods contacting homeowners regarding the availability of use of their fruit trees.
Also, great to be out in nature while looking for target-pests.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for San Mateo County
Community Worker II (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJuly 18, 2012
Visiting juvenile's on my caseload.
I learned how to be culturely sensitive to others.
I learned a lot about the Juvenile Probation Department.
My manager, supervior and co-workers were a pleasure to work with.
The hardest part of my job was not being able to help a juvenile or their family.
The most enjoyable part of my job is to see the juvenile's on my caseload successfully complete their contract.
Pros
ineraction with different people within the county.
Cons
politics within each department.
Was this review helpful?Yes40No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dept. of Child Support Services
Project & Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Redwood CityMay 18, 2015
• Oversaw the management of >10K files; submitted file orders for Superior Court, and reported claim volume and family services payments to management. [Achieved >90% processed documents accuracy.]
Was this review helpful?Yes14No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progresive and Great Place to work
EDMS Manager - IMS/ISD [Contractor] (Former Employee) –  Redwood City, CAAugust 4, 2013
Enjoyed the various projects that I worked on. Excellent opportunity for up and coming individuals wishing to learn about government structure and inner workings! ..
Pros
Constituants
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes17No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bebefits
Communications Dispatcher II (Former Employee) –  Redwood City, CADecember 21, 2012
very poor management for a communications department. County policys are strong but department lacked management skills.
Pros
salary
Cons
no breaks long hours very poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes21No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
System Engineer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAAugust 28, 2013
Work with great people on a large variety of projects. Provide daily support to the users.
Pros
Nice retirement package and great benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes15No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and makes a difference
Job Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Carlos, CANovember 26, 2013
Typical day is developing relationships with employers and matching them with my job seekers.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Sorter / Scanner (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAMarch 17, 2014
A great place to work
learned how to code/prepare documents into proprietary system
Pros
great place to learn
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes33No10Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at County of San Mateo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.7
Culture
4.4

County of San Mateo Reviews by Location