Find companies:
Covance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

Covance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned new and exciting skills
Clinical Data Coordinator I (Former Employee), Radnor, PAApril 8, 2014
Pros: was always learning new applications and policies within the pharmaceutical industries
Cons: workload was increased after a surprised lay-off session
• Reviewed and implemented SOPs and SSPs (Study Specific Procedures) using various information systems including web tracking, inventory, Query, IVRS, Oracle Clinical and CRFXpress
• Examined and updated client’s primary database, worked with client on design and execution activities including trial set-up, query generation/resolution, data coding and – more... issues
• Assisted with quality control audits and research
• Wrote data for test scripts to conduct systems validations for study start-up – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Study Technician (Current Employee), Greenfield, INMarch 24, 2014
Great entry level job, but when wanting to further career- this site has a hard time advancing individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't provide resources in a timeley manner to produce efficient work outcomes.
Contract Program Specialist (Former Employee), La Jolla, CAFebruary 10, 2014
Cons: no benefits, inefficient trainings and policies
A typical day at work consisted of taking inbound calls and making outbound calls to patients and insurance companies. I have learned how to manage difficult callers over the phone in a professional and compassionate manner. I managed my time by prioritizing my workload for the day. I was also able to assist the Special Exceptions team put together – more... reports for patients that required an exception to the drug assistance program's eligibility guidelines that were sent to the manufacturer for review. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Sedona Group Contract
RVII/ IVR researcher (Former Employee), Greenfield, INFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: pay was ok
Cons: short assignment, no guarantee for perm position....unorganized
I did not enjoy working for this company....
unorganized, to many changes in the day
never consistent with the assignments of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they practice age discrimination and prefer to hire non US workers
Clinical Data Coordinator (Former Employee), Princeton, NJFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: free popcorn
Cons: unprofessional management
Worked there as a contractor. Underpaid, only given negative feedback. Five contractors were up for perm hire, the only one not hired was the US citizen, over 50 who had more education and experience. Mangement played big time favoritism.
Ex: told that I must commute to work no matter how bad the road conditions are. I replied that ther are state laws – more... that proclaim during inclement weather they can't force an employee to drive to work.
Ex: other contractors were allowed to work from home. My manager said not to worry about what other employees do and refused to let me work from home. The person also made a comment about taking time off for a family emergency.
Completed my contract and was rehired 6 months later for a year long contracting position. Three days before my start date I was told by ***** that my project was canceled. I later found out through another contractor who was hired for the same project that the manager who told me I had to commute through bad weather came forward and disparaged my reputation and thus prevented me from working at Covance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and always looking for a chance to have a potluck
Program Representative (Former Employee), Gaithersburg, MDJanuary 27, 2014
A typical day is that I walk in and greet everyone. I turn on the computer and start taking calls. I have learned a lot. Some good which I intend to use in my next job and some bad which I no longer practice. My co-workers were always helpful. The hardest part of my job is when I am unable to help a client due to program restrictions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great work, great opportunities!
Field Market Access Assocaite (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: culture is great. room for advancement and they will listen to your thoughts and ideas.
Cons: pay your employees the industry standard.
Covance has some of the greatest people to work with! They are very caring, compassionate and care about their employees well being.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Clinical Project Administrator (Current Employee), Princeton, NJJanuary 23, 2014
There are lots of opportunities here if and only if you know the right people. Friends of managers are promoted and not the best qualified for the position. Benefits are not competitive at all. Company seems to underbid jobs just to win the bid then work employees to death while yelling at them for using too much billable time. Horrible employee turnover – more... rate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work...terrible management
Live Phase research (Former Employee), GreenfieldJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: compensation, fast paced
Cons: management, no room for advancement
Very interesting work, however like stated before, unless you are a yes man that does not think for themselves, you will not advance in the company nor will management reward you for your efforts. Toxicology has the same management as before the plant site acquisition in 2008 and the cliques of leaders along with the 'quantity of quality" motto ends – more... up creating a workplace high in drama and employee confrontation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting work but a poor work environment.
Lab animal technician (Former Employee), GreenfieldJanuary 6, 2014
I loved the work but employees are overworked and unappreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Manager Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no set polices, all to the managments desretion
Great place to work with advancement opportunity's. benefits are great and there is always room to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and productive.
Program Representative (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 20, 2013
Pros: overtime, healthcare, gym
Cons: short lunches, timed breaks.
Covance was a straight forward job, data entry, verifying insurances and some ICD-9 coding which I did enjoy because it was never a dull moment. I learned how to type faster and how to ask the right questions for verification and how to ask for help when I needed it. Management jumped in to help when we needed it and never complained and still made – more... their employees feel appreciated. My co-workers and I still keep in touch and always helped when they needed to get our job done. The hardest part of the job was making sure other employees were doing their part so we can all work as a team. My most enjoyable part of the job was being able to give my opinion and it being accepted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with semi flexible schedule
Medical Insurance Investigator (Former Employee), La Jolla CANovember 14, 2013
Pros: lunch sites on campus or very close. early morning shifts. pay was good.
Cons: training wasn't very organized.
Covance was a great place to work. The staff was friendly and hardworking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy place to work. plenty of overtime
Animal technician- Supervisor Chad Lasco (Former Employee), Madison, WINovember 13, 2013
working at covance can be challenging sometime do to heavy work load
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Covance
Research Associate I (Former Employee), Madison, WIOctober 26, 2013
Pros: ability to work a 4th shift tuesday-saturday
the environment is friendly and the science is really important. I learned a tremdous amount in the 2 years I was employed at Covance. I would like to return in a management capacity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company to work with.
Administrative Assistant l / Phlebotomist lll (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasOctober 23, 2013
I was privileged to work for a prestigious company make miracles come to life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical CRO envir., all work & no play make this place brutile
Sr. Director, Clinical Data Management (Former Employee), Madison, WIOctober 21, 2013
Pros: few
Cons: stay away from this place if you are looking for a work-life balance
Bland environment
Poor talent management
Management only concerned about the bottom line, not employee well-being
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management - No Respect
Client Service / Madison (Current Employee), Madison, WIOctober 9, 2013
Pros: benefits, coworkers
Cons: management!!
This was the worst company I have ever worked for. No respect for the employees. Corporate management has a different mind set than local management. The company would be much better if they followed Corporate strategies. Minimal training,there is no work / home balance, no advancement. Coworkers is the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review of Covance
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 4, 2013
Pros: great people in the area i worked
Cons: no room to get hired on if a temp employee
their is no room for growth. If you are management you are paid well, if you are an employee they do not pay well. I did like the people I worked with and I enjoyed helping clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual Environment
Associate Analytical Chemist (Former Employee), Madison, WISeptember 17, 2013
While deadlines were always looming, things stayed relatively calm. The hierarchy slowed change by requiring approval far up the line when competent workers could have had it done sooner. Overall, not bad.

1 2 3

About Covance

Covance Inc. is a drug development services company providing a range of early-stage and late-stage product development services – Read more