CPS, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't like
Lunchroom Attendant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 19, 2017
I didnt like this place very poor management it's alot of under the table stuff going on and i had a poor manager who didnt care about noone no lunches no breaks
Pros
the kids
Cons
no lunch, no overtime, cant never talk to noone down at head quarters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job job with many perks
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 12, 2017
Working for Chicago Public Schools has it's perks.. But it's an unreliable job due to Position cuts.. Strikes... And Closing of Schools due to lack of Revenue
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gratifying Civil Duty
Investigator (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 12, 2017
Making a dent in the world of abused and neglected children here in Maricopa County was privilege and an honor. It's a tough job. Every little bit counts.
Pros
Excellent training.
Cons
Caseload too high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Teacher Assistant, Office Employee (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 1, 2017
Daily office tasks given to me, nothing to complain about... Happy environment, very professional yet fun to be around.
Flexible schedule on a day to day basis
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would like to help the kids
Daycare Provider (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXAugust 22, 2017
Worked in daycare my parents were sad to see my leave they said I helped all their kids. I could not stay due to not pd enough for me and my husband. He lost his job in May.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAAugust 16, 2017
facility way too small for the number of employees, lots of unofficial note takers, no advancement opportunities within. tedious nerve racking bosses.
Pros
none
Cons
too small of a company to be mentioned, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a program
Grade Cracker (Former Employee) –  6091 s wentworthAugust 3, 2017
it was a job program and a lady that didn't follow the rules of the job put a aid up and got the program closed down..i didn't have a problem with the job it paid good and my boss was outstanding I loved my job just wish the lady didn't mess it up for everybody..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelente
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 9, 2017
excelente compañía , seriedad y cumplimiento
Nuevas oportunidades de trabajo
Pros
cumplimiento
Cons
servicio médico
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investigator
Social Worker/Investigator (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJuly 3, 2017
This was the hardest job I have ever had in all the years I have worked. The abuse I witnessed was sad and I felt helpless due to the organizations policy and procedures. There was no support from management. The documentation was horrible. My assessment was 52 pages long.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Documentation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Employer
Specialist III - CPS (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 23, 2017
I can truly say that I never left this employer because of a bad experience. I found myself to be very fulfilled when working with the clients whether they were happy or not, receptive or not.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Security (Former Employee) –  Chino, CAJune 21, 2017
this job has helped me a lot to become a better security officer. Although I wasn't limited to just one job site, I had great experiences adapting to whatever location I was sent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and good support from upper management
Director of Pharmacy (Current Employee) –  Crowley, LAMay 22, 2017
Great company to work for, would do it again, if given the chance. I would definitely recommend this position to someone else. The people at the location were helping and friendly, with such a fast learning curve.
Pros
Good Upper Mgmt support
Cons
Fast learning curve
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is great, the district manager is not
Administrative Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 15, 2017
A typical day was me coming in just before 8 am, and getting everything ready for the investigators that they needed, assigning jobs, How CPS really works, and why they are really not the bad guys, my direct supervisor was was great and I adored her, but other managers were not as nice. and some were downright mean. overall a nice place to work, really enjoyed my job for the most part, the hardest part being at the end when I was told to do nothing while being there for 8 hours anyway, and I enjoyed everything else.
Pros
Fun environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work good
Substitute Bus Aide (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 26, 2017
Very good company however, on call. Need more hours for those who are temporarily substituting for the regular bus aides. Calls in the a.m. are not good.
Pros
split between hours
Cons
Substitute bus aide, on call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CPS Review
Junior Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  InfitecApril 26, 2017
CPS is a good company for finding job opportunities. One thing they could do better is match salaries with education and experience. As a company though I think CPS does a good job at finding employers.
Pros
Easy
Cons
Bad Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching is the best
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 5, 2017
1-
Best employment I ever had in my life.
2-
Bravo !
3-
Education is to know human thoughts over human centuries and to garner insight for your own life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Noteworthy
Investigator (Former Employee) –  GAMarch 21, 2017
I learned a lot working for the State of GA. Unfortunately, I'm not much of a 'corporate' person, and have a tendency to tell the truth even on myself. However, if you can work here, you can work anywhere.
Pros
Generous leave policy; flexibility with doctor visits
Cons
Depending on your county, work environment may not be ideal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hour days and commitment to working with others
CPS Specialist IV (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 16, 2017
A typical work day is unpredictable. Some days are hard most days are rewarding. It is important to be organized and efficient in your task and responsibilities.
Pros
assisting with permanency
Cons
dealing with abuse and neglect of children daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fits my Schedule
Exam Proctor (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 14, 2017
I only want intermittent part-time work - this organization fits my schedule. They communicate well with you on assignments. I always know what my job is and where and when I am required to be there.
Pros
Easy to schedule work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its all about the kids
Dining Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 22, 2017
CPS is an organization who's purpose is to educate the children of Chicago. However in my humble opinion they fail at that. Standardized testing has taken the place of traditional education. This method has created a society of people who have been "dumbed down". A typical work day is business as usual. There is structure that is in place that allows the school system to run itself
Pros
Free breakfast program that was initiated by the Black Panther Party
Cons
CPS doesn't really educate students for success but for testing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CPS, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 187 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

70%
48 ratings
Add your rating