Find companies:
Cracker Barrel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,523 reviews

Cracker Barrel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cracker Barrel
Server/Retail (Former Employee), Sulphur, LAJuly 23, 2014
A Typical day at cracker barrel is like a typical day in the country. The great smell and atmospher is acceptable for people all ages. The people are friendly and the management have good judgment. The hardest part about the job was not having many benefits and the pay was not for me. The monst enjoyable part of the job was knowing that when i get to – more... work i will be meeting new people and provide help and food to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE
Server (Current Employee), Flagstaff, AZJuly 23, 2014
ENJOY MY JOB AND THE PEOPLE I WORK WITH AND FOR. FLEXIBLE WORK SCHEDULE. ENJOY TROUBLE SHOOTING
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers
Server & Skill Trainer (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 23, 2014
I enjoy working with all different types of people and Cracker Barrel offers that. There is a large turnover and several different, fun types of people to work with and learn about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Clean place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Bowling Green, KYJuly 22, 2014
Pros: discount card
I loved working at Cracker Barrel. It was a very clean environment to work in with fun loving people. I ran the cash register and priced items for the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Lakeland, TNJuly 22, 2014
Pros: got paid every week, great food, love the people i work with
Cons: cash register was hard
Cracker Barrel is a fast pace restaurant . Normally the same people comes back ,so its good to have regular customers. I learn have to be very quite on my feet .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Company to work for.
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Morrow, GAJuly 21, 2014
A great and fair company to work for. Very fair with promotions, just a little slow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work enviroment
Night Maintenace (Former Employee), Henderson, NCJuly 19, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: part time
Team work plays a very important part in the overall performance in reaching the goals that have been set by managerment. I love this Job because I seen how the manager came together to increase the income, and how they kept the consumer happy and satifed. They also kept the communication line open with the employees in other to keep a heath work enviroment. – more... There are many opportunity to keep growing in this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend it.
Cashier/ Hostess (Former Employee), Richmond, KYJuly 18, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: selfish managers, spotty hours, no benefits, bad atmosphere
A typical day of work is not fulfilling or satisfying in any way, unless you have a friend that is on the same shift as you. Not to mention your shifts are not guaranteed and your hours are usually short, such as mine. Went from working nine hours a day to three hours a day, three days a week for what was supposed to be a full time job.
Management isn't – more... very good, they don't communicate well and you have no time to even ask a question before they blow you off. My coworkers were the best part of the job, friendly people who were unfortunately stuck in the same dead end job as myself. The best part of the job was seeing a familiar face and the end of my shift when I could go home. Mind you, this is only my opinion of the Richmond, KY store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job, management needs to be upgraded
Grill Cook (Former Employee), Bowling Green, KYJuly 17, 2014
management talks down to employees, and will always point out the negatives, and never compliment you on the good work you have done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good starting job
Hostess (Current Employee), Kingsland, GAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: 20% discount. $10-$100 at christmas.
Cons: hard to live with the paychecks
In highschool this job was fun and easy. But you really make no money. Management will stay down your throats. The few times I have requested off they overlooked the request.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Time at Cracker Barrel.
Server/Cook (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNJuly 16, 2014
Pros: 50% discount on food while on the clock, 20-35% discount off the clock, amazing coworkers.
Cons: short to no breaks, unbalanced schedules. hours get shaved when they schedule me overtime.
I am pretty well known around my store. Most of my coworkers love me. I walk in and immediately get greeted by my coworkers and some of the regular customers. I clock in and talk to everybody and ask everyone how they are doing, how their day is going, etc. My day starts getting awful as soon as management comes over. I love the guests for the most – more... part of being a server. I love my coworkers, Management is awful. They do not know how to speak to their employees. I constantly get my hours shaved because they do not like paying me a time and half on the grill line. I am also a grill cook a couple times a week. My schedule is never set. I never know when I will have a day off until the schedule comes out on Thursday every week. The hardest part of my job is dealing with management. Not all of the managers are awful. Some of them are just absolutely amazing. I did learn something from this job. I do not want to do this for the rest of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DECENT
Server (Former Employee), Athens, TNJuly 15, 2014
I GOT VERY FEW HOURS. MADE VERY LITTLE MONEY. SOME CUSTOMERS WERE NOT VERY GRACIOUS WHEN IT CAME TO TIPPING SERVERS. STAFF WAS FUN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAJuly 14, 2014
There is quality of life with this company, so prepare to give them all of your life energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but hours not so great
Server/Hostess (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 14, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: no breaks, no hours, and favoritism
Working at Cracker Barrel is fun! The diversity is great and learning about different cultures is awesome. Also, money can be made but hours always vary. One week you get decent hours and next week you cant pay for your bills. A lot of favoritism and managers seem to give those employees the best benefits and hours. Other than that, the job itself is – more... easy and money isn't hard to make. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work at all
Server (Former Employee), Norcross, GAJuly 13, 2014
The money is not good and you have to spend a lot of time to make just a little bit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A high volume, stressfull job. Must be able to prioritize.
Caregiver. (Current Employee), Hot Springs, ArkansasJuly 13, 2014
Pros: stable employment.
Cons: must work at different shift times. no set schedule.
A stressful job and labor intensive. Requires ability to multi-task and prioritize. Must have good communication skills between customers and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and consistently changing environment
RETAIL MANAGER (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 12, 2014
Home away from home for all guests. Very competitive pay and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cook
cook (Former Employee), Bentonville, ARJuly 12, 2014
Pros: great manangment team
Cons: no hours
I feel that the cooks are not treated fairly. We don't get off at our scheduled time makes it very hard to make time with the family .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for nationwide
Server (Former Employee), Duncan, SCJuly 11, 2014
A typical day at work you will not stop going. I learn something new about my job everyday. You will have some customers not happy and then others will be thrilled. Hardest part about the job is the customers, and the best part is also the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day was always good because i enjoyed what i did. good place to work mangs very nice easy to talk to.
Dishwasher,prep,/ team leader (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLJuly 9, 2014
I worke at cracker barrel from 10/2000 to10/2004 it was a great experience got along with my co/worker very well managers was easy to talk when ever anybody had a problem open door sweet

1 2 3 4 5

About Cracker Barrel

This company has gotten ahead in the restaurant business by holding onto a bit of the past. Cracker Barrel Old Country Store owns – Read more