Find companies:
Crate and Barrel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

Crate and Barrel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Replenish sales floor (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 3, 2013
assigned to a task that must be completed by the end of your shift. If cant complete it alone theirs always help even from the managers. Everyone acts professional and are very kind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and a nice place to work.
❸ Part time associate (Former Employee), Carlsbad, CAOctober 13, 2013
I would walk the floor all day. Greeting customers and having conversations with them, helping them find what they needed. Worked at the register/POS, placed shipping orders, handled money, opened credit cards. Looked up information about products for customers as well as finding the products they were looking for throughout all our stores in the country.bimonthly – more... meetings with sales manager which were reviews and setting goals as fas as what we wanted to improve in the way we worked. My co-workers were wonderful, we were a little family and helped each other out all the times. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the customers and being able to make them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive, fun envoirment.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: engergetic envoirment, we share as a family.
Cons: traffic can be low, hours
I love my job because I love the energy.
We aren't only a store, were the Crate and Barrel family. We all get along and have fun. I can say that we function well together, we understand each other. The funnest part of my job is watching a customer walk out of the store happy because they got something they needed! my job is to satisfy the customer and – more... that's what I intend to do is satisfy my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and quick pace envoriment
Bulk Driver (Former Employee), Tracy, CAOctober 8, 2013
A typical day was to always out do the guys. The fun part about the job to me was to always see If I could do better then the day before. My coworker was all friendly. I am an outgoing person I get along with everyone. To me there really wasn't anything hard about the job as long as you did what you was suppose to it was easy. My most enjoyable part – more... about this job was getting people to smile even if they was having a bad day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love this Job
Merchandising Associate (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 8, 2013
Pros: really cool stuff and great customer service
Cons: low pay
Crate & Barrel is an American Home Furnishings Store with a great reputation for products, pricing, design, and service. The place is like working in a big toy shop for me and my co-workers are awesome. It really is like working with your extended family - who you like - and doing a great job. The Downside is that pay is kind of low for tenured retail – more... staff. Oh, well... back to the fun! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place TO WORK
Merchandise (Former Employee), Tracy, CASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: working
Cons: no cons really
working in a warehouse. learned how to use a pallet jack. Fun co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, beautiful place to work
Store Designer (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 17, 2013
Fun place to work. Beautiful merchandise. Learned a lot from management and how to work with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but zero opportunity for advancement and very low pay
Sales Associate/Merchandiser (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZ Kierland Commons MallSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: fun co-workers, beautiful environment
Cons: low pay, lack of hours
Crate and Barrel is a fun place to work if you are passionate about design and aesthetics, however they never give enough hours and they do not pay associates livable wages. Tasks are mostly busywork and mind numbing especially for merchandising associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chestnut Hill, MAAugust 27, 2013
I was holiday help at Crate and Barrel, and can honestly say this was the best job i ever had. They didn't work off commission so everyone liked each other and got along and it was the best working environment. Everyone there was great and management was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place
Merchandising Associate (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJAugust 20, 2013
Pros: co-workers and the family like atmosphere, good pay and respectible discount
Cons: trying to remember all of the different things happening company wide, i.e promotions
This is a pretty good company. But also that is all based on which store you work for...the store that I am currently working for is great. The management team is awesome and the co-worker are great as well.

The hardest part of the job is every position that happens behind the scene, yet we have so much fun that the work load doesn't seem hard. Hands – more... down, the best job that I've been apart of.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with safety motivated people with a drive for completion.
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Naperville, ILAugust 17, 2013
Pros: respectful atmosphere for all
Cons: short breaks, healthcare
Getting started with a good attitude enforced with the completion of a good days work.
Trust instincts and never doubt my training
To depend on my team to do as trained and work well with others.
Be friendly and respectful at all times as well as the consistency of a great attitude.
Not becoming complacent.
To see everyone go home the same way they – more... came in and know that we had a productive day of delivering our commitments to the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace, with various personalities
Separate Shipping (Former Employee), Naperville, ILAugust 16, 2013
Pros: close to home, early am hours, great management team
Cons: lack of advanacement, hourly wage
Great time during my tenure, coached many personnel, learned many things, and now with updating of the warehouse and modernization, will wonder if those of us let go, will be called back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Sales, Merchandising and Design Associate (Current Employee), Oak Brook, ILAugust 16, 2013
Experiences everything in the company during my internship and enjoyed it very much. Great environment to work in!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about merchandising
Design Assistant (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 13, 2013
Pros: really enjoyed doing design work
Cons: some shifts were early morning
Helped the store designer arrange floor plans, set up displays, and help with store fixtures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work one you get used to it
warehouse clerk (Former Employee), TracyAugust 1, 2013
Consisted of loading and unloading trucks of product. organizing and moving product with a forklift. Management was cool and comprimising as long as you got your job done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Customer Service/Night Manager (Former Employee), Bridgewater, NJJuly 11, 2013
Crate & Barrel is a fine place to work. New corporate management changed the operating philosophy of the business. I hope they get the results they are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Secure
Systems Administrator (Current Employee), Naperville, ILJuly 10, 2013
Pros: always wokring on something different
Cons: lack of growth, skillset and compensation
A typical day is always different, always on the go handling multiple tasks and situations. The people are always very nice and respectful to me which makes the day more enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and fun place to work
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJune 22, 2013
C & B has great benefits and is an enjoyable place to work. It just had an organizational change, but it appears that it has made it a better company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, nice relaxed work environment
Floor Stock (Former Employee), Manhasset, NYMay 25, 2013
A typical day at Crate & Barrel would consist of me stocking the shelves and assisting any customers in need. While there I learned the many different styles of plates, vases, place mats, and glasses. I liked the management and my co-workers were very easy to get along with. the hardest part of the job for me was remembering all of the sku numbers for – more... the products. The most enjoyable part for me was having the work experience considering this was my first job ever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Sales associate (Former Employee), Austin TXApril 26, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: long hours
I was working there for Holiday Help. Seems like a great place to work. I still shop there.

About Crate and Barrel

Working directly with European ateliers and factories to import their products, Crate and Barrel was among the first retailers – Read more

Crate and Barrel Photos