Crown Cork & Seal Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNJanuary 13, 2018
Great co-workers & supervisors. You would always have something to do, so that made the 12 hour shifts go by quick. Long breaks and you get plenty of them.
Pros
Long breaks, small & clean company, union, great supervisors
Cons
rotating shift schedule, no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about workers
Machinist/millwright/tool and die (Former Employee) –  Batesville, MSJanuary 11, 2018
There is lots of buddy system and back stabbers don't trust anyone at all it's dirty nasty hot very dangerous and unsafe not clean house keeping is not done very well spills all the time into environment they have been fined for that cover a lot of stuff up I would not drink out of can's made by them there quality is not good at all company's have started to get away from them because they run bad products not safe and unclean
Pros
Good pay and insurance is all
Cons
Poor training and dangerous work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay/benefits if you want to be a slave
Industrial Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, MAJanuary 10, 2018
Stressful environment
Too much scheduled mandatory OT
Poor training practices
Management powerless due to union
Lied about future of plant....closed 2 months after we were told our jobs were safe
Pros
pay/benefits
Cons
mandatory OT, no training provided, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced machinist shop
Quality Control Inspector/Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, MAJanuary 8, 2018
My job with Crown Cork and Seal has taught me a lot about work in a machine shop. A typical day includes performing standard company checks and helping out in other departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/ life balance
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Nichols, NYJanuary 8, 2018
They compensate very well for the work they expect, but trying to balance life with this job is nearly impossible. Just to work here is a sacrifice that someone with a family might want to think hard about. You're advertised work schedule is rarely the case.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crown has some good aspects and bad ones
Licensed Electrician (Current Employee) –  Lawrence, MAJanuary 8, 2018
I like to work but some of the people use the union as a shield, not to
work. People with a lot of seniority seem to think they can spend all
day on break.
Pros
Paid lunch on 8 hour shift
Cons
Third shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with others to do a good job
PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Cheraw, SCDecember 29, 2017
come in check with jobs to run check quality running in lines,
check employees and machines needed to run
check all documents to ensure correct labels being produced.
Learned how to stay focused and multi task.
culture was hot , fast paced and very little room for mistakes always at your best in order to run good parts,
Hardest part was staying coll in 100 plus degree heat in the summer while trying to concentrate on doing a good job,
seeing the finished product of making an aluminum can from scratch and see the final production after print and finished
Pros
Gauranteed hours job security
Cons
Hot working conditions, stressful, very competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid, stable company. Good benefits
Manager (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 19, 2017
Crown is a good company to work for. We work hard, but the company pays fairly and offers comprehensive benefits. This is an older, established company so sometimes change can happen slowly. I would like to see more communication from Sr. Management and an investment in computer systems, but no company is perfect.
Pros
Full company paid medical benefits for all employees, plus dental, prescription, life insurance. Fairly stable employment. Retirement plans are excellent: pension + 401k match
Cons
Older, established company that can be slow to change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Quality Control Assurance, Printer Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, MADecember 15, 2017
good company to work for..
good environment
nice people , willing to help
management at the time was excellent .
it was a very good experience working for this company, learned a lot from coworkers, supervisors even the manager ...
Pros
highly competitive
Cons
work under union
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant shut down
Production Supervisor & EHS Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 7, 2017
The plant shut down and upper management kept telling the workers they had a plan to keep it open when in fact they knew they were closing the doors and selling off the equipment inside.
Cons
did not try to relocate me
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so so
Quality Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 19, 2017
Management could be more involved in the day to day. They do not show much attention to detail. Work life balance is above average but you are constantly harrased at home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro managed
Manufacturing Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Weirton, WVNovember 19, 2017
worked for them for 32 years and the first 30 were some really good years, then the last two years were changed in plant management and they did not care about the employee anymore and began micro managing the plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Production Control Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Faribault, MNNovember 15, 2017
Crown is a great place to work. Coworkers/Management are easy to work with, understanding, just an all around great team. Flexible hours of work just put your hours in.
Pros
Coworkers, commute, hours
Cons
Not getting the compensation when promoted to new position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace highly stressful work environment
Litho mechanic (Former Employee) –  Batesville, MSNovember 1, 2017
I worked at crown for four years. It has always been very hot and noisy inside the plant. The quality of training an employee receives is highly depending on the supervisior that a person gets put under. Most of the management at crown are new due to the constant changes in plant manager, therefore most of the lower management know little about the can making process. There are great pay and benefits at crown for an employee and family members but a very high pace cut throat environment
Pros
Great pay and benefits for you and your family
Cons
Extremely hot and hostile work environment with very long hours and poor training periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here.
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Alsip, ILOctober 29, 2017
Crown Holdings had an enjoyable atmosphere with close-knit, personable group of people in plant I worked at. People around you would offer help if needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has great pensioin
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee) –  Olympia, WAOctober 22, 2017
Management has changed a lot and not for the better. Lots of new people and the moral of the employees is down. Work is slow so only working 3 days a week at this time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Production Planning Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Batesville, MSOctober 18, 2017
Good job, great people, great atmosphere. I would Recommend to work there to anyone. I have been here two years and relocated for this job and do not regret it at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Quality Process Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Tukwila, WAOctober 3, 2017
I am work since 2000 in this company. i like work in this company. good management. and good environment, every one in this company is very helpful. only one reason, I want to change my job is that laid off every year 2-5 months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp job. Good paced
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Massillon, OHSeptember 27, 2017
Packaged cans and lids, really fast paced depending on what machine being placed on. Did inspections of product for imperfections. Did night shifts. Nice and quiet, except for the machines stamping the cans.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Decorator (Former Employee) –  Nichols, NYSeptember 20, 2017
It was a very good place to work. I felt I wasn't trained good enough for the job i was doing and it was very fast paced and stressful job that i was doing
Pros
Paid lunches
Cons
Very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Crown Cork & Seal. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 141 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2