Crowne Plaza Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 961 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 22, 2017
Flow of guests through lobby, sometimes busy sometimes not.

Learned problem solving and how to maintain professional relationships with clients.

Hardest part solving problems that are beyond the capabilities of the workers. Sometimes with out assistance from management. A lot of own your complaints. Though some understand that the complaint is out of your ability to solve others do not.

Most enjoyable part was when guests understood the amount of effort you put into solving the issues that they had or the effort made to keep their stay as complication free as possible.

Had a few fun meetings that were unexpected. Department manager would occasionally surprise us with little things to show he appreciated the work we put in.
Pros
Free lunches, amicable work partners
Cons
heavy responsibility for situations that may not be fully understood.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 19, 2017
Will definitely refer someone to work at Crowne Plaza hotel. Pretty good environment. After I put in my two week notice the supervisor informed me if I ever wanted to come back I was welcome.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
often work more than five days in a row
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hosteal work inverment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 19, 2017
making shore that my coworkers had everything they needed for the day and night and put away truck orders and do truck orders and produce orders and talking to guess
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short braks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Company
Evening Guest Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 18, 2017
This hotel was owned by a different company when I was there. The management company was not a fair company and the HR department was very dysfunctional.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Supervisor of Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Feasterville, PAJune 18, 2017
When I first started working at Crowne plaza hotel in Trevose, Pa.,I learned a lot. Changes were made by the Owners and it went very bad.Pay is horrible and no chance to advance.
Everyone who worked on my team has left,and the brand name is going to change.
Look elsewhere for work!!!!
Pros
Lots of smoke breaks
Cons
No Camaraderie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Staff
Laundry (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 15, 2017
It's a typical summertime job for college students. I met fun interacting people while working. Staff ranged from young adults to elderly. It was a very hands on type job which is always a plus.
Pros
Free job, hands on type job
Cons
Room temperature was very high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, but fun. Great team effort. Fair treatment by management. Fair wages.
Line Cook/ Banquet Cook (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJune 13, 2017
I had some good years working here. Worked with a great stuff under the guidance of a great executive chef. I learned a lot working behind the scenes of some interesting venues and events. Upper corporate management can be stressful to work for but the benefits often made up for it.
Pros
free meals, good wages, good benefits
Cons
corporate intervention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJune 13, 2017
Easy and fun gig working the Addison Oktoberfest 2015. Got free t-shirts, worked hard for the shifts but had a lot of fun! Pay was okay for the work load.
Pros
Fun weekend
Cons
Needed more opportunity for more money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy
Cashier/Greeter (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 12, 2017
For the most part, it definitely is entertaining to work here. My task is different every day and the work culture is nice and laid back. People in the hotel are kind but gossip can go around. Also, management can be strict with calling off, using cellphones, etc.
Pros
pay
Cons
Senority Rules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucked!!
Deep Clean House Keeping (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 9, 2017
I ended up catching staph infection while working here and it progressed to MRSA. Which is more resistant to antibiotics. I also lost my child while working here which ultimately ended the job foe me.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and very reliable.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cromwell, CTJune 6, 2017
I loved working here. You meet new people everyday and also see recurring faces every week. You develope a relationship with your guests. Management was well. Any problem you are having is addressed as soon as possible. I would definitely work there again.
Pros
Free Dinner at front desk, discounts, and Friendly faces everyday.
Cons
Short breaks, fast paced environment, multitasking is a must.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hotel
Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILJune 5, 2017
The hardest portion of the job is one of the most rewarding, the customers. While sometimes you may have a high volume of requests and number of people to handle, the gratitude is rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Saddle Brook, NJJune 2, 2017
Main partner lacks experience in the NY/NJ market and full service hotels. Does not understand Food and Beverage. Concentration is only about payroll.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On a whole it ws great
Night Auditing/ Front Desk Supervisor Support (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTJune 2, 2017
I held several position and each one was very different

Management Great

The culture was in the eye of the beholder it was great from
point of view

working and driving in the winter snow
Pros
Very good place to work
Cons
slow in promotion because no one leaves so you can move up
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Concierge/Bellman/Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, FLJune 1, 2017
At the location in which I worked at we had a great team that always went above and beyond for each guest as well as looked out for each other in our staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAJune 1, 2017
Through this job I interacted with new people everyday and helped them feel comfortable in a new environment as people were always coming and going from different places. The environment was very friendly and welcoming to everyone. Overall I really liked this job.
Pros
Tips
Cons
Shift changes very frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with People giving my Customer Service
Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNMay 31, 2017
My work day is busy making sure all guests are giving the appropriate service making sure that my work is done in a timely manner for next business day.
Pros
The do provice the employees with free lunch and dinner
Cons
The health insurance is really exspensive
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There wasn't a sense of teamwork
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCMay 27, 2017
Many shifts did not properly prepped for next shift as required. Management had favorites. There wasn't a sense of team, kitchen staff was underpaid, The location was convenient.
Pros
The establishement was clean.
Cons
Management was hardly present.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a healthy work environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJMay 22, 2017
uncooperative staff, corrupt union members and staff not able to work as a team until it was to try to get rid of a person willing to work their job descriptions. Ownership interfered with normal operations of the hotel in a negative fashion. Moved around management too frequently and did not keep good staff. Afraid of corrupt union.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Horrible union, uncooperative staff
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHMay 22, 2017
Everyone there is really friendly and willing to help, the front desk manage is always looking to accommodate his employees in a way that benefits both the company and employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Crowne Plaza Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,649 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8