Find companies:
CRST
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
113 reviews

CRST Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Worth the salary
VRT- Breakdown Department (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IADecember 12, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: they try to work you like a dog...
They try to turn the crews to ALL employees.
Not worth the pressure.Not worth arguing with upper management.
HR department here decides to not pay you for 3 or 4 months...your problem.
I ran into MANY people in the head office with the same problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting, learned a lot
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 12, 2014
Pros: got to drive which i love doing....
Cons: hard to us restroom in bucket, no pay if wheels aren't turning...lots of waiting with no pay
I felt that the company did not care about the drivers. Example we had to wait all day at Amazon for load...We got there first thing in morning and was the last to leave....We didn't have any where to use the restroom...I complained and said that Amazon makes lots of money and if asked we could have a portable toilet for us ....I had to knock on an – more... office door to go and do my morning routine. They did not appreicate how many hours we stayed in truck...4 weeks to long not to have off time.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Driver (Former Employee), McCook, ILOctober 26, 2014
The company just recently got there contact remove left all the local driver without a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CRST is a no nonsense company that demand professionalims.
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAOctober 24, 2014
Pros: bonuses and driver appreciation events.
Cons: not enough home time.
CRST has afforded me with a career. It is fun, exciting and adventurous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CRST international Corp.
Trucking=Truck Driver (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAOctober 22, 2014
The company is in cedar rapids, IA. They are a trucking school and company. They drive from city to city and state to state. Driving to the company's with load and other company's to dropped loads and grab a empty trailers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The good part, was that I had the chance to cross the country.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fontana, CAOctober 9, 2014
Pros: travel that was nice.
Cons: not enough time to sleep.
This particular job was driving over the road, lengthily time on the wheel, my dispatcher have no interest on help me when I ask him to send me home, so he keep me over the road most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of work
Local Truck Driver (Current Employee), McCook, ILSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: friendly drivers, plenty of loads to run
Cons: missing bills (no paper work) customers dont know what your bringing
All in all an ok place to work. The other drivers on this account are easy to get along with and when needed will lend a hand to help you out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst trucking company ever!!!
OTR Driver (Current Employee), Tampa, FloridaSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: none!!
Cons: everything!!
Please reconsider if you're considering going to this company! I started trucking in 1998 for three years for several different companies. I decided to get back into trucking and CRST offered me to come on with a refresher course. They lied and told me they would cover my bus ticket, meals and lodging. The meals were a joke! The bus ticket and lodging – more... will be deducted from your pay, that is not them covering it that is them loaning me the money for them! They don't pay any money during training or orientation. Their rooms at the training center in Iowa have bed bugs! I went to kirkwood community college to take the two week refresher. Everyone their was great! I can't complain about them. Then 3 days for orientation and waited 3 days for a trainer. So three weeks of my life without any pay. They charge you $50 for your drug test and $50 for your physical. Other companies pay for these out of their own pockets. Other companies also actually pay for your transportation, hotel, and orientation. Not this company!! They are so cheap!! They don't pay anything! You have to run yourself completely ragged just to make anything and even then it's just ok money! With the reductions they take out of your pay I had one paycheck that was $19 and another one was $44! The average I made a week was about $300 - $400. Then they put you with a complete stranger and they hire anyone!! My trainer was ok. But my first co-driver was psycho and had a horrible temper!! When he threatened me that was enough for me. I am currently waiting to pick up a new co-driver we will see how that goes. My fleet manager is good! The night and weekend dispatch is completely useless!! You will sit on hold forever and they will never do anything! I had to sign an 8 month contract otherwise I have to pay them back $4000. I'm really considering leaving and just paying them back, that's how much I hate it here! I'm broke, tired and stressed all the time. You have to stay out 4 weeks and get 4 days off so if you're looking to get home more forget it! If you notice that most of the good reviews on here are from previous drivers. Obviously it's not that great if you decided to leave. Their turnover rate is huge!!! It is a revolving door at the Iowa training center. They screwed over five people that I befriended while I was there. They all ended up going to other companies. Anyway just please research it before you do it! If I would have known all of this before I went there I would t have! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a bad experience with them.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: got to see the country.
Cons: put you with anyone and that was sometimes tough. low very low pay.
Company had a 500 percent turnover rate I'll just leave it at that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Transporter (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: breakdown pay
Cons: proper rest time
working at CRST Expedited is a great experience that exposed me to so many factor of life. I travell around the united state delivering picking and delivering products. it gave me good relationships with customer and made me understand there is more to driving than i think.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great schooling at kirkwood
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: meet people from all over
Cons: cold weather
loved the security people at the school and some really good teachers. My trainer after I got finished with school was really hard on me so It made it hard to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
#1 worst place to work
Sales Executive (Former Employee), Marion, IAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
Great pay, but everything else is insufferable. Managers are very knowledgable, but temperamental, and favoritism is a serious issue. The Human Resources department is all but worthless. I worked for logistics, and the best thing I can say is, I can definitely see why their company has had legal problems. They say that it is a team, but what they really – more... mean is to cater to their top seller's every beckoned call. At the same time, you have to make sure to build your own book of business. The "F" bomb is being yelled across the building most of the time. Usually, while you're on the phone with your customers. The hours are horrific, they said the hours are 7-5, but there were many times where no one could leave until 9 or 10 at night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CRST
Class A Driver/Trainer (Former Employee), Morton, ILJuly 28, 2014
interesting company if you don't have the right dispatcher
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive truck driving continuation
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fontana, CAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: great beginning experience
Cons: very dirty working conditions.
Daily challenges are very simple. With prior knowledge of transportation skills everything was accessible to me making everyday count
Any chance I could get trailers rolling was the best time because I did often. It was no problem getting dispatch to send us loads fore I had relations with dispatch offices so it was fun to get them to get me rolling – more... as they had extensive plans to make my trips easier. The basics were all I had going for them so working really hard for them was acceptable to me.
I could say I learned everything from my co-workers which was leadership, and a thirst for trucking. Often taking the wrong freeway was hard to do because turning that big truck was new to me. Everday with a new challenge is always very fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Problems
Driver (Former Employee), Cedar Falls, IAJuly 14, 2014
Continuously complained to management that I believed co-driver was drinking. After he almost wrecked truck, I refused to drive with him and left/quit company. On my way home they told me they were letting me go for drinking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last Resort Company
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 13, 2014
Cons: low pay, no sleep
Not a good company to work for at all. I came out of the Riverside terminal. They give you the usual two week training crash course, which you really don't learn anything. They treat students like cattle. Then you go out with a so called trainer who really only cares about eating, instead of teaching you what you really need to know which is how to – more... back. The pay sucks. 26 cent per mile until you reach your 6 month period. Then they bump you up to 32 cent. They promise you boat loads of mile per week which you will only see once per month. Team driving sucks unless it's a close friend of yours, family member, girlfriend, or boyfriend. Teaming up with total strangers is the worst, because everyone has their own ways. You will get no real good sleep while the truck is moving, unless your on a small layover. If you decide to work here, tough it out, do your eight months, or year if you prefer, and get the heck out. Team driving is an experience a trucker will never forget, or would like to go through again unless your a gluten for punishment. Team driving for CRST makes the company more money NOT YOU!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR truck driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAJune 30, 2014
14 hour on duty 11 hours driving.
Paid per mile
management talked to on the phone
In the truck alone
Hardest part AM to PM swing.
I got a better job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice friendly work environment.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Carlisle, PAJune 23, 2014
i would work there again. Its definetly money to be made. what more can i say.??
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DON'T GO HERE
Driver (Former Employee), Cedar rapidsMay 24, 2014
The pay sucks, regardless of what they tell you. You will not get sufficient home time, that is a complete lie. It takes forever for the fleet managers to get back to you about any requests you put in. If you lose your co-driver they don't do much to find you another one and then they will let you sit for days at a time anywhere in the country and you – more... WON'T get paid. I sat around for 5 days waiting for a load and they compensated me $80 dollars. They will rock your pay, deduct anything they can. I haven't brought home more than $1000.00 a month. If I had to do it all over again I wouldn't give them a dime or a minute of my time. They promise you decent meals, if you call rice crispies every day a decent meal and if u don't eat by 4:00am you will go hungry. Do yourself a favor and find another place to go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They cheat you out of a fair wage because youre inexperienced
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAMay 18, 2014
Pros: help get your class a
Cons: dont pay
They might help you get your licence, but you will pay them back in full, all while making a substandard wage. The miles are great, but alot of driving for such a small check. Use them for your lic., get a year of driving under your belt, and go anywhere else and your pay will almost double

1 2 3 4 5

About CRST

CRST Logistics helps clients make a logical move. The company specializes in providing freight transportation management services. A – Read more