CTL ENGINEERING Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Brunswick, OHJanuary 7, 2018
Typical Work Day
Depends from job to job and experience
test concrete, asphalt and soil and special inspections.
Managements good when they are there.
there's stressful times and relaxing time for workplace
Hardest part of the job is making sure all tests pass inspection
most enjoyable part of the job is going to different job sites on a regular basis
Pros
flexible works
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Technician (Former Employee) –  OhioOctober 5, 2017
Horrible company for women, no job advancement, harassed by management regularly, added more and more specialized work to work load with no increase in compensation, had to work several weekends alone because manager or supervisor refused, insane deadlines, engineers constantly interrupting work to see if it was complete the day after it was assigned.

Start with a plan to get out. ESOP benefits are pointless if management is constantly harassing you to the point of quitting, wasn't paid enough to afford healthcare coverage.
Pros
It was a job
Cons
Micromanaging, no tier to move up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience
Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVSeptember 8, 2017
My time at CTL was very influential towards my career. I gained alot of knowledge and gained experience in multiple aspects of civil engineering. It was a good place to start out at. The management of jobs was poorly distributed amongst workers it was definitely more one sided only allowing 40 hr weeks if even that at times. There is no room for advancement. Good people to work with. This place is a good place to start off with due to lack of travel out of state, rarely is there a out of town job, most of the work is in town. Good starter equipment to learn basics to further advance later on.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Lack of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a work day
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 18, 2017
It's a job. I would just be careful as a woman working there. My advice, is to be a strong woman that can handle a few bad apples at the company. Go to work with a smile on your face.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 6, 2017
I learned a lot, mostly trial by fire. I have used the knowledge gained in many aspects of my later career, but it was a good place to get started...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Firm with Little Opportunity
Environmental Engineering Intern (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 10, 2017
Company has a marketing team but requires engineers and scientist to do marketing because they are more effective. Tech services needs to be outsourced for any results. Work is variable depending on the time of year often leaving employees without anything to do.
Pros
ESOP Company
Cons
Management/Organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Commercial Roof Inspector (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 4, 2017
Inspected multiple telephone building and antenna locations on the East Coast. A typical day included reviewing the existing commercial rook, inspecting the material and validating the materials specification are being met.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work for, good family style work place. Work is slow at times
survey dept 10 (Current Employee) –  morgantown wvAugust 14, 2015
good place to work, fun, everyone is friendly, just needs to work on some more jobs close to home and near home.

typical day at work is almost the same thing everyday. go to work and find and locate property. not all way the same, some days its rough and some days its a walk threw the park.
Pros
Good enviroment and nice place to work
Cons
slow work some times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Staff Geologist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 21, 2015
This was early in my career, and I was happy to apply what I learned while obtaining my Bachelor of Science degree in Geology.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and booming work place
AutoCAD Tech / Admin Assist- Roofing Engineering (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OhioMarch 28, 2015
Learn to manage a team
To come up with good ideas and express those to co-workers and
management for implementation
Room for advancement
Pros
Great employees, nice work environment, room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment that leaves you feeling accomplished
Engineering Tech (Current Employee) –  Wapakoneta, OHFebruary 2, 2015
Its great. CTL is a model company on how teamwork and mixed roles encourages the best out of its employees. I couldn't have picked a better place to start my career.
Pros
Individuality and encouraged iniatiative
Cons
Lack of management and general sense of direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for your own company
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Canton OhioDecember 31, 2014
I learned and improved my skilled, all co workers are supportive and helpfull
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geo Technical Engineer
Geotechnical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 31, 2014
I can start anytime
Great with other people
Ability of managing others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little chance for advancement
Technician II (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 9, 2014
A lot of travel to job sites, and all year around outdoor work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Survey Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVDecember 3, 2013
Typical day of work consisted of performing field surveys including property and boundary surveys, pipeline stake-outs, as-builts, etc. The company provided me with a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJune 19, 2012
CTL was an excellent place to work. My only issue was I had to drive 45 min one way to get to work. Otherwise I would proably still be employed there.
Pros
employee incentives
Cons
cant think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

See more CTL ENGINEERING reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CTL ENGINEERING. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.8
Culture
3.5