Cummins Employee Reviews in United States

Found 815 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Multiple Positions in Supply Chain (Former Employee) –  Fridley, MNMarch 11, 2016
- Good opportunities for career advancement
- Company promotes and develops new talent
- Mid level management is very good
- Flexibility to move across organizations and business units
- Good work life balance and accommodating supervisors
- Pay scale/pay grades at mid level need improvement
- Frequent organizational changes, lay offs resulting in high pressure, high stress work environment in recent times
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Co-Workers, bad Management
Diesel Technician Lead (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 9, 2016
Been working here for a few years now, I love the work that I do. But management is somewhat of a joke. The pay is way below average,and they don't like giving raises either. My co-workers were great to work with, but training is also something they lack in, as in they don't really train people. Benefits are horrible now, high deductible plans only. Not worth working there.
Pros
Great Co-Workers
Cons
Management, Pay, Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have lost their way.
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 15, 2016
Be careful. They fired 2,000 last year and I have three close friends that have left the company in the last 30 days to flee the new upper and middle management.Executives scared to negotiate for business. Huge loss in sales drive and motivation.
Pros
average salary, benefits
Cons
Turning into a company of meetings and indecisiveness.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad, but advancement can be difficult
Quality Auditor (Current Employee) –  Columbus, INOctober 15, 2015
Overall not a bad place to work, management is what often determines the quality of the day and that can vary significantly. There is a conflict of interest between exempt and union workers which is not good for the business, and typically shop floor workers are not viewed in as high of a regard as exempt. Lots of opportunity for improvement, both personally and for the company, although the ease with which one might pursue those opportunities relies too heavily on image and who you know.
Pros
Opportunities for advancement, insurance, company-matched 401k
Cons
Opportunities are not equal, rising insurance costs; pay, job security, and retirement not as good as it once was
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work/Life Balance, Terrible Motivation for Quality Work
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCFebruary 29, 2016
Too many frequent and radical changes in direction, in addition to nearly guaranteed cancellation of product programs leads to awful motivation to do good work as you are always fairly confident it will go completely to waste.
Pros
Pay, work/life balance, immediate management
Cons
Upper management emphasizes the stockholder over the employee
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Corporate Culture
Combustion/Performance/Emissions Engineer (Current Employee) –  Seymour, INDecember 13, 2015
Great benefits but work/home balance is not at all considered in some roles.
Leadership lack focus on career development.
Allowing adequate time to developed and train in role is not available.
Multiple rounds layoffs make job security tenuous.
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
Leadership has room for improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Elko, NVFebruary 23, 2016
Great benefits, coworkers and compensation. Management was pretty good in this branch. It was a fun atmosphere to work in.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  CMEPMarch 29, 2016
Best job I ever had. Great place to work. I learned a lot because the training is excellent. The work environment is great because every one gets along great. They are very welcoming of new people and cultures.
Pros
Excellent Pay, Benefits, and other benefits
Cons
sometimes work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 29, 2016
I have been there a year and love it. Just wish they would include raises with all of the reviews they do. They offer quarterly bonuses, food, and really good training. Hardest part of the job is doing some of the heavy lifting.
Pros
Quarterly bonuses, free food sometimes, and safety meetings.
Cons
Short breaks, expensive health insurance, and some of the employees aren't a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cummins Diesel Review
Diesel Engine Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXFebruary 17, 2016
In the time working with this once thought incredible company is not as great as everyone makes it out to be well at least i speak in my department at Cummins. Management is very carefree. Many of the coworkers come in not so pleasant moods. People with bad moods make the environment non-pleasurable and sometime hostel to work in. I choose to not acknowledge this I arrive to work in a timely manner get my job complete and head home. The hardest part i would have to say would be trying to be aware of which people to speak to which not. My job is not hard being that i am mechanically inclined the job is but a breeze. The most pleasurable part i would have to say would be getting to do what i enjoy most work on engines.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Support inventory management activity (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CANovember 28, 2015
Day to day operations:
1. Management is always safety conscious
2. Pick and ship engine parts to customers requesting shipment
3. Receive and place parts in appropriate shelf area
4. Invoice orders received by customers
5. Conduct a safety check in designated area for safety violations

Management:
1. Well organized
2. Open door policy is good
3. Lacks communication a career path to advancement

Teamwork:
1. Strong team environment
2. Safety conscious
3. Great attention to detail
Pros
Strong Teamwork
Cons
Management Communication Skills
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard warehouse
MERCHANDISE HANDLER (Former Employee) –  Walton, KYApril 6, 2016
-Was not for me.
-work was repetitive
-long hours
-training is rushed
-coworkers are quick to help each other.
-benefits package is adequate but health insurance could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cummins
Drafting Coach Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, INJanuary 6, 2016
Cummins is a great place to work. It is just hard to work through tough times when the company's business don't do well.
The company offers all kind of opportunities to advance in your career.
there is nothing wrong yet I can find with Cummins.
Pros
Working from home is my favorite. It helps me a lot to balance my family and work life.
Cons
The uncertainty during tough times.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company with constant management turnover
Technical Advisor (Current Employee) –  Shoreview, MNDecember 13, 2015
typical work day is pretty normal for an engineer.
I learned how to be a professional
management is not always very good - lots of turnover too.
lots of different people being a big organization.
hardest part of the job is understanding office politics
most enjoyable is working with a team to solve problems
Pros
job satisfaction
Cons
management/leadership hard to understand
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Say goodby to home life if you become a manager
Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NVOctober 16, 2015
The expectations of the service writers and managers is very high. Even when not on salary i was getting calls at home. Even when not being on call or even after I was let go, i receive calls at home due to lack of organization in upper management and HR.

The pay was great but the stress caused by upper management made it tough. The branch manager declined my yearly profit sharing that would have been given a few weeks after my termination. Even after working the full year prior. Could have easily filled for wrongful termination as well, but didn't feel the job was worth my time.
Pros
Pay benifits
Cons
Lack of experience and fairness in upper management and HR
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed bag
Assistant Chief Engineer (Current Employee) –  IndianaMarch 28, 2016
The workplace environment is pretty good, people are respectful. However it is often hard to get them to respond to requests. Parts of management really care about their people, some parts doesn't listen to or care about employees. Once Cummins decides it is going to do something the opinions of the employees are ignored. 'Efficiency improvements' are thinly veiled attempts to require more responsibility with the same pay.
Pros
Respectful working environment
Cons
Rigid and often unfair pay structure
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales/Service
Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  New Hudson, MIJanuary 28, 2016
Okay company to work for, but after a year or two need to move onto something else.
Using their accounting software
Management-no problems
Co-workers solid
Hardest part of job: punching in / punching out/ 30 min lunch times
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Punching In / Punching Out
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Support & Product Development Engineer
Production Support & Product Development Engineer (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYFebruary 9, 2016
Company stuck int he past with archaic change control processes. High level management fails to provide the resources necessary for engineers to succeed.
Physical work environment is depressing and dirty few considerations are made for employee comfort or well being (Jamestown engine plant).

Co-workers however are friendly and helpful. Day to day things are ok
Pros
Friendly Co-workers
Cons
Passive aggressive upper management, dirty Depressing and outdated work environment, frustratingly outdated and needlessly complicated business tools hinder progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment
Senior Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 31, 2016
Great working environment, opportunity for promotions. Co-workers are very helpful and supportive. Great benefits. Job Security. Cross-functional support from all departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cummins Emissions Solutions
Product Engineer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, IndianaSeptember 14, 2015
Working at Cummins was fun and exciting as there was a great company culture and work life balance. Working often involved meeting with multiple people within different aspects of the company solving problems and working with customers. Management was very supportive and the company put the education of employees on the forefront as there were many technical seminars to train employees on a variety of subjects.
Pros
friendly work place
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,366 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8