Find companies:
Customs and Border Protection
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Customs and Border Protection Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned to be an Immigration Officer.
Immigration Inspector-CBP Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: great people, great management.
Cons: no breaks, rapid work enviroment.
Helped those entering the US for the first time. Met many people of different cultures. Understood what it takes to be an enforcement officer of immigration laws.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work
Technical Writer (Former Employee), Kingstowne Va.August 17, 2014
I enjoyed it very much as the folks I worked with professional and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CBP is an excellent government agency
Branch Chief, Trade Operations Division (Former Employee), JFK Airport, Jamaica, NYJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: retirement system, advancement potential
Cons: not all managers and supervisors were equally competent
I worked for CBP for over 35 years and progressed from an entry-level position to branch chief. There was much room for advancement for a motivated and hard-working employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and agency mission
Contracting Officer (Former Employee), Washington D.C.December 30, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule and excellent management
Excellent immediate supervisor.
Very receptive mid/upper level management
Co-workers are fully committed to succeeding
The hardest part of the job is planning and the heavy workload at the end of the fiscal year (which is not unexpected)
Many aspects are enjoyable- many hard working and experienced personnel/people; esprit de corp; excellent management; – more... flexible work schedule; ample training opportunities – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Border Patrol Agent (Current Employee), Boulevard, CAOctober 9, 2013
Fun work, outdoors and fitness driven.
Cons:
Management and home life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law Enforcement
Officer (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 21, 2013
Pros: law enforcement
Cons: 16hrs day
Apprehended Felons and did investigations. Upheld Federal laws and made arrests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Learning Exprience
Certified U.S. Customs supervisor (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMay 29, 2013
Pros: pay, advancement opportunities
Cons: long work hours
U.S. Customs was a very great learning experience. Excellent training and advancement opportunities. Being in law enforcement no two days were the same. Co-workers were family as we depended on each other for our safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job
Border Patrol Agent (Former Employee), Wellton, AZMarch 26, 2013
I learned quite a lot regarding immigration laws during my time there. Each day was full of new and interesting information and experiences to assimilate and improve myself. The coworkers were great people and I still stay in contact with each of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training, benefits and pay.
Customs and Border Protection Officer (Current Employee), Presidio, TXJanuary 9, 2013
Within my division, I am appreciated for my work, I am given some decent level of work/life balance and I am able to put my ideas forward without fear of reprisal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Office Automation Assistant (OA)-0326 (Former Employee), Glynco, GAJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: free to set your own past.
Cons: my term position ended.
I would keep track of the Inventory Taker for the Logistic and Property, I learned a lot how to track the inventory, and how to put it into the system. I enjoyed my boss he was very understanding, my co-workers we worked very well together. the hardest part of the job was none, I really enjoyed working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company I am working is good
Sr. Software Engineer (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAOctober 7, 2012
Work and balance family is good. I love to work CBP projects. I can can proud my self because I am working for US people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
ENTRY SPECIALIST (Former Employee), United StatesAugust 5, 2012
excellent workplace fantastic co-workers never finish learning new jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with different ethnic groups
Secretary O.A. (Current Employee), Newark, NJJuly 29, 2012
Pros: awards and ceremonies.
Cons: fake goods and uninvited people coming into america.
Protecting the lives of people who work hard in this country and seizing food, drugs, countfeit money, bootleg materials coming into the United States etc.

About Customs and Border Protection

Customs and Border Protection is the unified border agency within the Department of Homeland Security charged with the management, – Read more