CVI Melles Griot Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot of science and physics
Coating Technician (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMSeptember 12, 2012
Typically, we baked Thin Films on to glass optics. Certain recipes took certain specifications. It was hard to remain productive because certain bakes could take up to 4-6 hours and you didnt have anything else to do. It was a good time to study up on the science and physics about the job. We learned wavelengths, chemistry of the products, and the physics of the vacuum bake. The hardest part about the job was to decifer the wavelength for each product. You had to choose certain filters on certain wavelengths and it was complicated. The best part about it is that you learned a lot.
Pros
created your own time to be more productive.
Cons
slightest wrong calculation could waste product and a good portion of time throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company with a lot of work to do
Laser Technician III/Lead (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAJuly 19, 2013
- Work directly with the engineers as part of the R&D/Prototyping department.
- Maintain complex data logs of all tests performed.
- Creating tooling for manufacturing.
- Writing detailed work instructions.
- Build Optical & Electro Mechanical assemblies.
- Set up complex alignment stations for laser assemblies.
- Able to identify and troubleshoot alignment and electronic issues.
- Work with delicate fiber optics and electronic equipment.
- One of 5 people offered a job at the Carlsbad facility.
- In January 2008 helped relocate the Colorado facility to Carlsbad.
- Responsible for training of five new hires in California, ten while in Colorado
Pros
every one knew each other even though it was a big place
Cons
no real room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's was a realy good place to work
Clean Room Cleaning Technician (Former Employee) –  Covina, CAJune 15, 2013
• Clean optics equipment, cleaning area, intrepid drawings, travelers, assisted coatings.
• Keep accurate logins of incoming and in-process optics.
• Identify flaws and defects; monitor ID water quality add and remove solvents from chemical room.
• Consistently meet production flow requirements and provide training to new employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Laser Tech 2 (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAMay 31, 2013
Management is too busy putting out daily fires. These daily issues are a result from years of lacking long term and well thought out planning, resource management and supply chain.

Engineers are too few to support multiple daily issues that result from the same symptoms above.

The company, under new management, is gradually, gradually, making strides.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a productive place of employment
Optics machine operator (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NM 87123October 12, 2013
A typacal day at work is productive, i have learned to run different types of machinery ,management is informative ,my co workers are good to work with there is really no hardest part of the job and the best part is continualy learner new things everyday.
Pros
i am working
Cons
i am not full time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great job
Opto Mechanical Assembler III (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAJanuary 14, 2013
i love my job and it was too bad they layoff me. i hope i do get another chance.
the co workers were really nice to work with.
i been there about 11 years and i just love working there.
Pros
i like the overtimes
Cons
healthcare and short lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAJanuary 31, 2013
Employee morale is low due to multiple lay-offs. New ownership brought in much needed management changes, but they have their hands full trying to change the old culture and processes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company ran like typical public company.
Laser Technician III (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAJune 1, 2014
This is a job, not a career. Lot of great people, but ran by bean counters with no real understanding of the technology and how it is made.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid if you can
technician (Former Employee) –  Whetstone LeicesterJune 17, 2012
Absolute sweat shop. Top heavy on management who have very little in the way of interpersonal skills.
Pros
life insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes29No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Planner /Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAMarch 23, 2012
Nice people. Very diverse. Good benefits
excellent pay. 11 paid holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo6

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture