Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible School District with Horrible Directors
Technology Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2018
If you intend on working at a school district in the greater Houston area, I believe wholeheartedly that you should run screaming from Cypress-Fairbanks. The superintendent, CTO, and everyone in the district technology department are grossly unqualified to hold the positions they have, and use the technicians as pawns to do their bidding while sitting back and collecting over-inflated paychecks while their employees struggle to make ends meet. Run. Run far far away.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Terrible healthcare, no upward mobility, micromanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Campbell middle schoolJanuary 5, 2018
Great team of science teachers
Great admins
Great students
Awesome job
Worked teaching science
The job was awesome and had very good teachers and students
Pros
Great job
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, and great schools
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXDecember 17, 2017
Great place to work. Excellent training, very friendly atmosphere.The staff is very professional. Third largest school district in the state of Texas.
Cons
No paid holiday, no vacation little to no work from june through august
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only there a year
Head Custodian (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 14, 2017
it was ok again I was only there a year coming from out of state everyone there was helpful I wish I could have stayed but my wife got transferred in her job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cutting the grounds
lead man over grounds (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 11, 2017
.cutting the grounds is a art to me cause it makes the whole schools look good from the street view my co-workers are great guys to work with as well we work as a team.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid CFISD if you are going into teaching
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 26, 2017
Or at least work at a higher income school. The district does not care about the issues its title I schools are facing. The district gives principalships to people who have taught for only a few years; My own principal never taught in a testing grade. CyFair talks a lot of talk about "the whole child" but their actions scream testing is all that matters. Do not expect them to advocate for their kids and teachers against standardized testing or support behavior interventions that almost EVERY OTHER school district provides. CyFair does not support the PASS program or assistance for autistic students. Katy ISD is right next door and provides these services AND fought the state against standardized testing. Look elsewhere for your Texas teaching career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Professional School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 20, 2017
Great organization, and a rewarding place of employment, driving children safely to school. I love my job and the freedom it has to offer, but I need to work at least a forty (40) hour work week.
Pros
We have fun times like bus radeo's, banquet's, and free luncheon's
Cons
We are off more days than we work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent School District - Some great schools
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 12, 2017
Cy-Fair is an excellent school district. I've had excellent experiences substitute teaching at many of the campuses. As a certified teacher, it's easy to transition between classrooms and campuses.
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
Unavailability of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great
Program Clerk (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 7, 2017
Job is not stressful and great people to work with besides seeing and getting to speak with parents and children on a daily basis. Pay is very good just need more hours a week.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work independently
Technology Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2017
Always checked who needed technology assistant and prioritized those according to need. Always learning as technology always changing. Management was awesome. She enjoyed that I was an independent working the most. Technology is always high demands. I enjoyed helping and teaching others.
Pros
Always learning new tasks
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXSeptember 3, 2017
Great place to work and people to work with. I enjoy working with the children, because you can see when you make a difference. The students are most important and difference made in their lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Katy, TXAugust 26, 2017
As a teacher, long hours, low pay, high job security. Ability to work at your own pace but when it comes to working toward benchmark goals, it is fast paced, often with over hyped methods.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
maintience worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 17, 2017
You have a radio to receive calls on, but most of the time is spent performing maintenance task. Great personal to work around and overall enjoyable atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place too work.
Back up Manager (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXJuly 29, 2017
I Love the hours, no nights, weekends and spend more time with my family. I'm off work by 3p.m. Monday-Friday. The supervisors that I have met are very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it for all the things you go through & have to do
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 16, 2017
I worked as a floater in the cafeterias. Job was so dreadful for the amount of work they wanted you to do. Every other day they send you to a different school & you encounter unfriendly people. They don't even compensate you for traveling to so many different schools! Getting "permanent" at a school is nearly impossible if some managers just don't like you for no reason! Overall low pay high turnover bad benefits not worth it
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No hours, No Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Paraprofessional Educator (Current Employee) –  Jersey Village, TXJuly 13, 2017
I am happy with my work with Cypress Fairbanks ISD. I however have relocated to the Channelview area and am no longer willing or able to make the daily commute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large school district with discipline problems.
Tech. Ed. Teacher (Former Employee) –  Cypress, TXJuly 10, 2017
I was a Tech Ed. teacher in Cy-Fair ISD the third largest school district in Texas. I found it difficult to get support when I needed it. They left me flying on my own.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Workplace
Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Cypress, TXJune 16, 2017
I really enjoyed the teamwork and collaboration with my team of teachers. The workplace was good, the other teachers in other subject areas where nice. I love working with the students which was the best part. A typical day began at 7:30 AM and done by 4 PM.
Pros
Free lunches for students, teacher appreciation
Cons
high healthcare cost
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good!
School Counselor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 10, 2017
Great place!

I learned many skills and aspects of being a school counselor

Strong work culture
Good people
Great place to work
Opportunities for advancement for all
enjoyed staff and students
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and respectable environment.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 5, 2017
Report any bus malfunctions or needed repairs.
Report delays, accidents, or other traffic and transportation situations, using telephones or mobile two-way radios.
Management is already available for me to talk to or to vent. The most important part of my job is getting them home safe.
Pros
getting everyone home safe
Cons
when the heat and A/C don't work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 47 reviews
520
415
36
24
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District Reviews by Location