Cypress Private Security Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and supervisors suck!
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Cupertino, CANovember 14, 2017
This company is unprofessional their supervisors have no kind of training to be supervisors. They are childish and also unorganized. If your trying to work for this company don't because all they care about is filling in spots. They lose all their workers because nobody wants to work for supervisors who aren't fair and also they don't give out breaks!
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Supervisors need training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work!
Licensed Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 22, 2017
The local managers are professional and organized, they are friendly and easy to work for. I've enjoyed my time there, just need more hours and a steady schedule.
Pros
Nice uniforms, easy pay
Cons
Schedules are not full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Manager Scott (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CASeptember 8, 2017
The work was great. pay was low. I liked working for Cypress good company to do security for. I think the people that work in security should get better benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not getting rich.
Client Manager (Current Employee) –  Greater Seattle areaJuly 26, 2017
Communicate with clients. Manage payroll, uniforms, officer and lead officer to stay on task. I have learned to manage people more effectively with positive reinforcement. The hardest part is having to fire an employee but then i realized that i did not fire them, they fired themselves, i only did the paperwork. If they had been doing their duties firing would be an option. I enjoy meeting new people as we gain more clients.
Pros
Company Car
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience working
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 3, 2017
Management was terrible, they played favorites to certain employees. No leadership qualities. Documented all actions to their HR and they did absolutely nothing only causing supervisors to threaten other security guards. Management released schedule the day after shifts began, causing employees to receive calls at midnight to cover shift. The hardest part of the job was the inconsistency of policy and procedures not followed by management.
Pros
Pay at Government contract site
Cons
Management, Scheduling and Culturally biased supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprofessional
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 25, 2017
Cypress San Francisco Offica has the most unprofessional workers ! It took them weeks to send out my last paycheck and the HR manager hung up the phone in my face !
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Laid-Back Atmosphere
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  East Palo Alto, CAMay 8, 2017
Schedule flexibility and workplace culture is immaculate. The overall climate of the workplace is very positive and laid back all the while productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management
Flex Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 15, 2017
Not bad at all very good salary and a nice working environment, good skills learning place over all. It is a multi task company which you can consider them as a new style.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay place
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 9, 2017
I really cant speak on certain events so I'm just going to leave it at that. just apply for the jobs and check them out for yourself. thanks for your time and have a nice day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and low pay
Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 2, 2017
foot patrol off all properties pass out notices scan bar codes.
payroll dispatch call signs alarm deactivation and activation.
i do not wish to commit on cypress management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great building but the security company is unorganized
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 16, 2017
Learned a lot a very great experience until they switch company. Employee are nice laid back but you will get a lot of unstable people.
Cons
Don't care about employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company.
Manager Scott (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJanuary 4, 2017
I enjoy having a job I take pride in my work, I never give up. I always wanna do my work right and never fail never late and working security is what I like doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seattle Area.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Seattle and TacomaJanuary 3, 2017
If you want someone intelligent and trustworthy, don't apply. Manager is overwhelmed and couldn't careless about you, as long as it makes him look fine. We wary, you're going to hate life working for this person and company. Do at your own peril.
Pros
None
Cons
Wow 2 many
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy simple
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 16, 2016
solid job
negotiable hours
prepare to be bored

management knows less about the sites than they portrait, if you want something to change at your site you have to be very assertive
Pros
trusting management
Cons
buy your own equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cypress Security
security officer (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAJanuary 3, 2016
I'm currently posted in a site for Villa Santa Fe apartments. The place is nice and since I've been there for over a year it's pretty easy for me to work since I've learned everyone. When there are those occasional incidents, they are handled swiftly and efficiently. dealing with so many people has been great because I have experience with working with a lot of people at once.
Pros
n/a
Cons
strict management, hectic schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substandard with lack of direction
Security officer (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 2, 2015
There is a problem with leadership. No serious direction nor responsibility. No clear means to actually do the job being tasked to you.
Pros
Some locations, maybe overtime
Cons
low pay, poor leadership, poor hours, unreachable people
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low paying security job with jacked up hours
Patrol Officer (Former Employee) –  Las VegasSeptember 26, 2015
I worked for this company. The location in Las Vegas on E. Tropicana needs new management. There seems to be a lack of training between both "females" in that small office. It has that "Friends who hire friends" vibe. The branch manager doesn't care enough about the new hires. You don't pay enough for people to risk their safety! Your nights and weekends are taken. No work or life balance!! No enjoyment.

Most enjoyable part of the job was that there was no one looking over your shoulder. No QCM there to babysit. Residents didn't really bother you. Out of loneliness or nosiness, some residents would strike up a conversation about anything. Most could care less that security was there.
Pros
None
Cons
Not accommodating, unprofessional, no managerial skills, poor training, no work ethics
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  san franciscoAugust 20, 2015
excellent company to work for great benefits takes the client safety very serious lives up to the code protect and serve
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and calm.
SECURITY OFFICER (Current Employee) –  11850 Florence Ave, Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670June 24, 2015
My typical day at work is riding around patrolling on a bike. Sometimes will take care of noise complaints while monitoring laundry and pool areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience working with high end companys
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 12, 2015
In my experience Cypress Security has a great employee centric culture and offers opportunities for advancement for anyone who is interested in a career in the security industry. I have been an employee at Cypress for several years and have taken full advantage of the training program and employee benefits offered to me.
Pros
great benefits and train within the company
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cypress Private Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.6
Culture
2.8