Daimler Trucks North America Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship Review
Mechatronics Reliability Engineer - Intern (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 27, 2016
I was employed as an Intern with Diamler for four months. During that time I was treated like a regular, full-time employee which was wonderful, because I was given the opportunity to learn from my colleagues that had much more experience in the industry than I did at the time of the internship. It was a very enriching experience, and I am very thankful for the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Design Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 24, 2016
Work life balance is great. The environment is very, VERY dull. The benefits are very poor. I had better pay and benefits as an intern for other companies than full on employees have at Daimler.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad place for Engineers
engineer (Former Employee) –  Swan Island, ORDecember 8, 2015
If you plan to come to Portland, OR for a job in DTNA (former Freightliner) don't move to this city. You are contractor and when you leave you cannot go back for 6 Months. And here in Portland is nothing you can work in this rainy town.
The coworkers are OK, the Managers are older men working partly with a MS-DOS program. My coworkers in full time positions are dreaming of the good old days. The hardest part of the work is, when you cannot bring your own ideas into the design team.
After you left DTNA you have to annoying the recruiters, after you find a job offer in indeed for an CAD or Engineer job. Here a so many Engineers out of work.

I learned a lot of truck design.
Pros
Income
Cons
No chance to stay as contractor after a contract position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New shift with all new employees
3rd Shift Production Supervisor Mt (Current Employee) –  NCNovember 16, 2015
All new experience level on the floor making up 65% of the shift. Makes for a challenge to get high quality products off the floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
assembler (Former Employee) –  Gaffney, SCOctober 14, 2015
Good work environment but the company shows little respect for their employees. Management communicates poorly and seemingly operates under the 'good ole' boy' system that shows favoritism to some while belittling others. Most co-workers are good people there. Work fluctuates with market demands that can in most instances lead to lay-offs every few years.
Pros
Good benefits and pay
Cons
Poor management, retalitory behavior from management, frequent lay-offs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has been a great place to work
IT Service Mangement (Current Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 9, 2015
Dedicated my complete working life (31 years) to DTNA at this point of my life. They have been and are a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCSeptember 22, 2015
The pay is decent and benefits are good, however it is difficult to advance without relocating multiple times. Management is flexible with time away from the office.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not horrible
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 5, 2015
Mercedes Benz lease program a definite perk. Some departments have a great work life balance; while others don't. The Portland Truck Plant offers no work life-balance.
Pros
Mercedes Benz program, tuition reimbursement
Cons
no work life balance at the Western Star Truck Plant
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not many oportunities for outsiders
Quality Engineer (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 23, 2015
Very hard company to get in.
Treat their contractors and professional services like work horses
Disadvantage of job opportunities to contractors and professional services

Great company to work for once you are in.
Pros
Great work/life balance
Cons
Almost impossible to get your foot in the door.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment but less office benefits
Logistics Analyst Intern (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJune 21, 2015
Awesome Work Culture. Everything is planned according to timeline, which is reviewed weekly and appropriate measures are implemented if their is lag.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3

Want to know more about Daimler Trucks North America?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company,great managment,great benefits and pay
Robot operator (Current Employee) –  Gastonia, NCJune 6, 2015
They took my skills and put me to work running ABB robots,making overheads for freightliner trucks. Great management,with good benefits,401k and hourly pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive atmosphere
Truck Assembler (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, NCJune 4, 2015
decent place to work, though management has no real idea of whats going on. will constantly tell you how to do your job, though they have never done it themselves...I asked
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vibrant workplace although some tasks are miniscule
Electrical Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 20, 2015
I really enjoyed my time at Daimler Trucks North America as an intern, I am kicking myself for starting my master's degree when I was offered a position working here directly.
Cons
Some of the work is mind numbing, you will rarely need to use a college degree to make calculated decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with room to transfer and advance within:
Sr. Warranty/Transporter Analyst Tech (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 17, 2015
The best company to work for period:
* Typical work day consists of claims processing for about 5-6 hours of the day and the rest are spent for breaks and meetings.
* I learned a lot. Seems each day I am learning something new.
* Management and upper management are great. They take really good care of their people.
* Get along well with all of my co workers.
* The hardest part about the job is working to find the right answer for a complicated Warranty/Campaign question and making sure assigned reports are out in time before deadlines.
* The most enjoyable part of the job is just that, its enjoyable.
Pros
Fee or discounted Blazers and Timbers tickets. Paid tuition for school. Awesome company parties.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company with a wide variety of positions and opportunities
Packaging Industrial Engineer (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 16, 2015
DTNA has an amazing ensemble of employees that work together (on most days) to achieve a greater goal that is ever evolving.
Pros
Continuously trying to improve
Cons
Inconsistent advancement structure
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Work/Life balance
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 5, 2015
Expected to work 10-12 hour days and handle the workload of four employees. Human resources is very ineffective in resolving management issues with employees.
Pros
401k package and healthcare
Cons
ineffective management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people to work with
Purchasing Intern (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 2, 2015
The colleagues of mine were nice people and very down-to-earth. Some people didn't care to talk to me since I was an intern. Also, some work was given to me without any directions of what to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work.
Business System Analyst (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 26, 2015
People are very proud of the product and the working conditions are great. I did not receive benefits as a contractor and this became the reason for my departure. Others received great benefits and were very happy with day to day activities.
Pros
lots of freedom to be creative.
Cons
felt like an outsider as a contract worker
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daimler
Key Account Manager/Global Compliance Officer (Current Employee) –  DetroitFebruary 22, 2015
Good strong global company... Strong product line for both cars and trucks. Innovative market leader. Where great people do great things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Truck Assembler (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, NCDecember 2, 2014
great place to work with good pay and benefits. though management can be a bit lax at times.
Pros
great pay
Cons
part shortages with no decrease in work load
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture