Find companies:
Dairy Farmers of America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
45 reviews

Dairy Farmers of America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, yet rewarding position
Regional Business Manager (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSAugust 13, 2014
I didn't have a typical day. Which is something I loved about this job. I worked out of my home and traveled a good portion of the time. I was responsible for selling DFA's consumer brands. My customer was AWG, which housed 7 divisions. I called on the corporate office as well as the independent retailers that pulled from this wholesaler. Building relationships – more... with my customers was far-and-away the most enjoyable part of my job. The hardest part was working to provide the customer with the best promotional fit, based on it's go to market. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DFA is a good place to work
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Portales, NMJuly 22, 2014
Pros: enjoyable place to work
Cons: being away from my kids and grandkids in roswell
I work 3 pm to 3 am. Nights do not bother me at all. I am in charge of the day to day operations of the plant from receiving milk to the finished packaging of the powder. I have learned a lot about SAP and other management styles. The co workers here are great. They are hard working. The hardest part about the job is being away from my family in the – more... evenings and being away from my grandkids and kids in Roswell. I enjoy working with the team we have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, good pay, plenty of job options.
Production Laborer (Former Employee), New Wilmington, PAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: met some good people, and good pay.
Cons: no set weekly schedule.
Get dressed into uniform, punch in, do mandatory stretches for about 10 minutes. Get all my necessities like my apron, gloves etc. Did my duties, while talking and some what joking around with fellow employees, would have lunch when someone available could take my place and come back and finish through til paper work needed finished and turned in. Then – more... punch out get dressed and go home. Made a good bit of friends there, some really good people, managers and supervisors included. I really liked my job there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced workplace.
Production associate (Former Employee), Ventura, CAJuly 1, 2014
The day normally started out with loading product and unloading materials however i was certified through the company to operate many of the machines in the warehouse so if any employee had called in sick I might be switched to operate whichever machine was needed for the day. I enjoyed learning all the controls for the many machines, they were tricky – more... at first but didn't take long to get down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, hard work, great team atmoshere.
Filler Operator (Former Employee), New Britain, CTJune 27, 2014
Pros: uniforms, overtime
Cons: low starting pay, stressful work enviroment
If you like working as part of a team and don't mind some overtime, it's not a bad job. Management focuses heavily on the numbers so mark down any "down time" or your efficiency numbers will be skewed. The pay isn't great, but, with the overtime, it's not so bad. Good benefits, uniforms, they buy you two pairs of boots every year (your choice) and all – more... the milk you can drink...I'm kidding. There are a lot of good people at Guida's Dairy in New Britain and I enjoyed my time working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Clerk (Former Employee), Plymouth, WIMay 7, 2014
Pros: cheese all the time
Cons: healthcare
Typical day was good. You did your job and things went well. I did like the fact that you had to be a self started (which I am) no supervisors available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lonely Job
State Certified Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Grapevine, TXMay 4, 2014
Pros: free chocolate milk
From what I remember of this job, I spent most of my time alone performing routine testing on hundreds of milk samples.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), New Britain, CTApril 26, 2014
Working in customer service is harder then the company thinks. They let people go and have no clue how much the reps do in that room. They should sit in that room on a friday the most hectic day and take phone calls and see what its like to actually do that job before laying people off and putting more pressure on other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Cheese Plant Laborer (Current Employee), New Wilmington, PAApril 2, 2014
Pros: christmas party and a profit share program
Cons: work all the time miss out on family activities
Hard place to work as you work 12 hour shifts 4-5 days a week which interferes with quality family time!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Winthrop, MNMarch 26, 2014
I enjoyed working at this fast paced company. Plated and tested incoming and outgoing products/chemicals. All tests performed were documented and entered into computer. Released "good" product from our computer. Some tests performed were, fats/solids, pH balance, weight, smell, taste, appearance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people were very good workers it was easy when everyone knows what there doing
machine operator/labor (Former Employee), PAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: we got bonus if we meeted the standard at the end of the year
Cons: we had three ten min breaks
Everyone was very nice and new what they had to do I learn alot in this company how to make sure there was no metal and every costumer got what they asked for ,the bosses New alot about the company he was really nice guy to work for and the co_workers were nice to everyone got along with each other helped out alot with each other the hardest part of – more... the job was pushing thousands of pounds in a week's time the most enjoyable time was knowing that I had a good paying job to support my family and love ones – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some days are better than others
Evaporator Operator (Former Employee), Zumbrota, MNMarch 18, 2014
Pros: some days are better
Cons: short breaks when you can get them
some days are better than others
there are days when you have all the time you need to accomplish your tasks then there are times that you don't have the time to take a break.
Hardest part of the job is dealing with cold weather issues when loading and unloading bulk trucks.
Job is highly technical
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and and great advancement
Master Lab Technician (Former Employee), Portales, NMFebruary 18, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of many tasks with the help of great co-workers and great management help. What I learned about my job was to work together as a team and set goals and share Ideas to help benefit the company. The most enjoyable part of my job was learning something new everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job a fun place to work
Operator/Laborer (Former Employee), Monett, MOFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: communication was great, job was easy and i loved my job.
Cons: not really any cons
Produtive, good place to work, coworkers were very nice to work with, Management was easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, great raises,advancements,
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Henderson, COJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: free milk, cheese, ice cream, anything that had milk in it
Cons: n/a
The milk trucks would bring in raw milk from the dairy farms, we would check them for different types of drugs that the State Health Dept. required before we would ship it out to make milk, ice cream,etc. Ran test for butterfat, added water, looked for bacteria.
From hard work I went from being a driver to a lab tech, to a manager.
My co-workers, I – more... can not say enough good things about them, there were only a few of us, but we worked togehter very well and always helped each other out when needed.
Telling a dairy farmer that his milk was not good and they had to dump it, that was very hard, the better the milk the more money they got, so a bad load of milk would not bring them a paycheck for that day.
Enjoyed the fact that I could move up in this company with hard work and a desire to do it.
I learned so much from my manager he showed me everything I needed to know, it took years of hard work and knowing that I could move up made it more enjoyable to work hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgable workplace
Commodity Purchasing Coordinator (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: healthcare, vacation, fitness facility
Cons: micro-managers, small work spaces
I have learned a world of knowledge about the dairy industry and purchasing as a whole in this position. I run and create inventory reports, create purchase orders for raw dairy products, coordinate with the transportation group to ship dairy products all over the United States, and manage plant inventories and projections.

Management is very knowledgable – more... of the industry but tends to micro-manage not only its employees, but also the dairy plants around the U.S. Co-workers are nice and always willing to lend a hand when needed. Hardest part of the job would be dealing with the micro-manager. The most enjoyable part of this job would be learning about the dairy industry and working with the plants on their inventories and reports.

Overall, this is a great company to work for. Great healthcare, co-workers, and knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day in the Lab
QA Lab Technician (Former Employee), New Wilmington, PAJanuary 15, 2014
A typical day includes calibrating equipment, being the liason between several different departments, and a lot of multi tasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable working environment
Accounts Payable (Former Employee), Springfield, MOJanuary 3, 2014
I absolutely loved my job at Dairy Farmers of America. I had the opportunity to grow and gain experience in accounts payable. My co-workers always went out of their way to be friendly and help if I ever needed it when I first started. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to go out to lunch with companies that we did business with and talking – more... about business. I really enjoyed learning different aspects of organizations. As far as the hardest part of the job, I honestly can't think of anything. I enjoyed everything about this job and all of the experiences I had. I am happy to say I left their with a knowledge that will help me in my future career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented company
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Sulphur Springs, TXDecember 31, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: no job stability
Great place to work, very enjoyable and flexible job. Enjoyed my years with the company. Great place to retire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, good communication and bebefits
Member Services Specialist (Former Employee), Kansas City, MODecember 17, 2013
Pros: communication betwenn staff and supervisors, bonus at christmas time, christmas party, fund raisers for local charities
Cons: a few people slacked off once in a while, but it was dealt with by supervisors
DFA was a fun place to work. We all worked as a team, we were able to talk with one another and help each other if we had questions. I had good communication with my supervisors and fellow team members. If another division was overloaded with work, we were encouraged to chip in and help. If we were not busy, we were allowed to quietly speak among ourselves. – more... We had weekly meetings as a team, or with other divisions. The CEO of the company encouraged us to get to know each other, and we would have "Recess" which was a picnic type lunch with good food, music and games, such as Bocci Ball and Lawn Darts. Or, if we liked, there were also board games set up. These were nice times to look forward too, after working hard to meet daily, bi-weekly, and monthly deadlines. I enjoyed talking daily with haulers, handlers, and dairy farmers. I learned how to manage my time, prioritse responsibilities, and work through conflicts when they arose. – less

1 2 3

About Dairy Farmers of America

The members of Dairy Farmers of America (DFA) are partners in cream. DFA is one of the world's largest dairy cooperatives, with┬ásome – Read more

Dairy Farmers of America Photos