Find companies:
Dakota Watch Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Dakota Watch Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 7, 2014
Pros: friendly employees
Cons: no benifits
The workday was always long and boring . I did'nt have enough hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for you and customers.
Watch Repair Technician (Former Employee), Columbus OhioAugust 21, 2014
Pros: fun environment
Cons: low pay
Dakota was a very fun place to work since you were able to play all day. The location I worked at had bins of practice watches to work on. Each day you could be working on an expensive watch all the way down to the most basic of watch but what made the job so fun was the customers. We were able to give away free repairs at times and rewarding nice customers – more... was my favorite. I learned how to handle multiple customers at once to succeed in giving great customer service along while having a very minimal store damage percentage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is terrible
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Midland, MIJuly 14, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: management, coworkers
Working for the branch in Midland drained every ounce of energy from me. This company isn't terrible but they need to look at who is running the stores. The management is hard to talk to and it is impossible to go to anyone with problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Watch Expert (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 11, 2014
My job duties included

• Clean, rinse and dry timepiece parts using solutions and ultrasonic or mechanical watch cleaning machines.
• Reassemble timepieces, replacing glass faces and batteries, before returning them to customers.
• Disassemble timepieces and inspect them for defective, worn, misaligned or rusty parts, using loupes.
• Estimate repair – more... costs and timepiece values
• Test and replace batteries and other electronic components.
• Test timepiece accuracy and performance using meters and other electronic instruments.
• Perform regular adjustment and maintenance on timepieces, watch cases, and watch bands.

I learned that there is more to a watch then a battery. Managment was great about meeting the employees needs. Overall is was a fairly easy job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment...For A While.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJune 20, 2014
Pros: good discount on watches, my original manager
Cons: no breaks, co-workers, regional manager
Great training, excellent service to customers and overall, a good work environment, if you're doing your job how the higher-ups think it should be done. This was a nice place to work at. I was respected and thought of as an equal, up until our District and Regional Managers fired my Store Manager for 'low sales'. Stay away from Dakota Watch Company – more... if you're in Michigan - they will fire you regardless of how good your job performance is. The DM & RM for my store have told me blatant lies about how our store (a kiosk) was doing, and when I found out, I was let go a month and a half later. Please do yourself a favor and work for another company before you work for any Dakota Watch Company in Michigan. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting working environment
Manager (Current Employee), Williamsville, NYMay 23, 2014
I enjoy my one on one interaction with customers.
Being the leader and increasing moral in my team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dakota Watch Company Review
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Richmond Hts, OHMay 23, 2014
While working for Dakota Watch Company, I have learned plenty of hands on skills that would not only help me with this job, but with everyday life. Its a very cool job requires you to use your interpersonal skills. A typical day at Dakota would be; a customer seeking a battery replacement, as well as a new band for a certain watch. I would then suggest – more... certain types of bands to the customer whether a leather band or metal stretch band. I then display the colors we have in stock to the customer. From here I begin to work on the customer's request. The hardest part of my job would be dealing with smaller watches that require steady hands and a very good eye for finding the hole to insert pins. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to deliver on the customers request and seeing them happy with the repairs and changes I've made. It Lets me know I have done an excellent job when a customers last words to me are "I appreciate and I'll be back soon with more watches" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Clarksville, INMay 14, 2014
Dakota Watch Company is a great place to work if you are a current student. The manager is more than willing to accommodate school scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place to work
Technical Support (Former Employee), Henrico, VAApril 30, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: healthcare
learned how to repair watches.all management were always on call and willing to pitch in whenever necessary.best part of the job was interacting with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with great ability to gain knowledge
Store Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 21, 2014
Pros: great leadership, great product
Cons: job security
Dakota Watch company is a small company that provides you with opportunity to run your business as an individual. The skills you posses is what drives your business. The management team was top notch in providing feedback and really caring about the individuals that were underneath them. It felt like a family. The most enjoyable part of my job was coming – more... in everyday and settting into action what my business was going to do. The hardest part of my job was being in an arena that did not provide me the nessecary avenues to successfully run the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place inside kiosk
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Media, PAJanuary 6, 2014
a typical day at work would be waiting for someone to be helped. i learned how to change the battery to a watch and how to fix or replace a band to the watch also. i would usually be alone during my shift there was rarley two people working at the same time unless there was a shift change the hardest part about the job would be working on someof the – more... batteries and trying to put the back on certain watches. the most enjoyable part about the job was watching the customer leave happy and telling me how fast i completed the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dead end job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Greensburg, PAJanuary 3, 2014
Maintained and managed the kiosk location
Utilized skills to promote sales though effective display maintenance.
Performed routine legwork to build solid relationships with other merchants and mall officials.
Enforced loss prevention practices that coordinated with company policies.
Conducted detailed associate training, utilizing the training manual – more... in conjunction with the company manual to ensure quality training.
Conducted associate recruiting, interviewing and hiring.
Maintained store appearance keeping the store clean and appealing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Columbus ohioDecember 2, 2013
Accurately processed transactions at a cash register.
Provided helpful service to customers, and assisted in their product selections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fixing watch batteries
Sales Associate (Former Employee), eastgate ohioNovember 26, 2013
kind of hard to work, mostly alone at the kiosk. Was good for me since i was in high school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORKPLACE IF YOU LOVE PEOPLE!
Customer Service Manager/Cashier (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MINovember 20, 2013
COME IN.. SET UP DISPLAYS.. WAIT FOR CUSTOMERS... LEARNED MANAGEMENT SKILLS, SHIPPING AND RECEIVING, AND DEPOSTING...MANAGEMENT WAS SPECTACULAR AS WELL AS MY CO WOKERS!!! HARDEST PART WAS GOING FROM SALS REP TO MANAGEMENT! BUT THE JOB WAS BEYOND ENJOYABLE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Company
Co-Manager (Former Employee), North Olmsted, OHNovember 18, 2013
With retail there is no typical day, some days are slow, some are very busy. Being a small store, there were only a few other workers, but they were nice to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYNovember 16, 2013
Pros: talking and interacting with customers
Cons: not enough training.
was not trained good enough and everyday at 9:30pm i would keep getting calls and hangups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job that can lose its appeal
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 12, 2013
Pros: fun
Cons: low pay, inflexible scheduling, expensive/low coverage health care
A typical day at work you're dealing with customers, whether in person or over the phone, repairing watches, doing battery changes in watches, and selling products. My co-workers once they were properly trained were a blast to work with. The hardest part of the job was working such random hours with no flexibility around what hours the manager wanted – more... to work; very limited opportunity for advancement and very limited opportunity for a pay raise. In 3 years and 9 months, my pay only increased $1/hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Boss Ever
Cashier/ Sales Representative (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 7, 2013
I don't know who works there now, or even if the place is still there, but when I worked there I had the most fun boss ever. This was one of the best retail jobs I have worked, it was always fun working with the watches and tinkering with them. I also enjoyed the customers, some the regulars were a riot!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Destiny USA, Syracuse, NYJuly 15, 2013
Pros: had a great trainer, watches were kept neatly, flexible schedule
Cons: short lunch breaks (10-20), people are always stealing from their drawer
I worked for this company recently went through the whole 20hrs of training and got set up to be fired. Had someone pretend to be a store manager call me twice to meet her outside to bring in shipments and she never showed up. Returned to my kiosk and a $50 bill was missing. When I first started working there someone got fired for stealing money out – more... of the drawer a few times. This seems to be a major issue with this store. The supervisor and store manager are very shady and unprofessional. Also there is no human resource department so if anything crooked happens there is no one to report to besides the regional manager. This store has a very high turn-over rate there is always a now hiring sign up so proceed with caution. – less