Find companies:
Danbury Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

Danbury Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An organization known as the "Workplace of Choice"
Secretary (Former Employee), Danbury, CTAugust 21, 2014
Pros: opportunities to learn and advance in the medical field
Cons: short lunch breaks, low pay raises
- A typical day at work was answering phones from patients and other healthcare professionals. Deliver all messages via electronic health record. Schedule appointments, check in, check out, verify insurance and obtain authorizations for diagnostic testing and procedures ordered by MD. Copying, faxing, completing medical records requests, and provide – more... coverage where needed.
- I had the opportunity to learn by my co-workers, workshops, and classes offered to advance skills.
- My direct manager was knowledgeable and helpful.
- My co-workers were helpful, caring, and efficient.
- The hardest part of the job was trying to accommodate patients with appointments within a reasonable time frame when the schedules were already overbooked.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was learning the job and being good at it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hospital
Traveling EEG Technician (Former Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 25, 2014
Danbury Hospital, was a very advanced and organized. Co-workers were very helpful. I had the opportunity to work with Robotics, and meet and do EEG studies, on people from different countries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a very organized nurse, which was noted when I left CT by one of my mentors from the beginning of my career.
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 16, 2014
Pros: the money i made up north in ct
Cons: the physical demands it took on the nurse, even young nurses
I had wonderful nurses teaching the floor duties when I began my career. I never minded authority, I had very good & fair head nurses. They came to know I was a hard worker, accepted admits without complaint, they could depend on me to help where needed. I made myself become familiar with Code 99's, so as to alleve fear when they actually occurred. – more... The hardest part of the job was the physical part of lifting morbily obese pts, taking care of ETOH detoxing pts. Really the most enjoyable part of my career were the pts themselves. If you were honest & kind & took care of them as best you could they were satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
MEDICAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 9, 2014
Nice environment to work in, opportunity for growth, good compensation and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work in Healthcare
Administrative Director (Current Employee), Danbury, CTMay 20, 2014
Great place to work. Healthnetwork is expanding and striving to provifde the best healthcare to the community. Excellent benefits. Very accommodating to personal issues that may arise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for younger people.
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Danbury, CTMay 5, 2014
Pros: weekend, night compensation
Cons: outsourced
Prep/clean food. Deliver meals to patients. I learned a lot about the healthcare workplace. Co-workers were tolerable. Hardest part of my job was having to go into rooms to deliver trays to people with MRSA, and or other illnesses where I would have to dress up in a gown and mask, gloves... etc to deliver meals. Most enjoyable part of my job was walking – more... around the hospital and seeing all different types of people and their job duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Level one trauma hospital, very efficient
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Danbury, CTFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: teaching atmosphere
Cons: in house call.
Place of my schooling, learned all my skills here and how to be a #1 Technologist. Being a trauma hospital kept very busy with an eighteen suite operating room. Management was tough but fair and always had your back. It was a teaching hospital so co-workers were very helpful in the learning process. Most enjoyable part was learning to perfect my skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Danbury, CTFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: danbury hospital was the closest to home i've ever worked
Cons: the parking in winter
I had great co-workers, great team playyers, managment was amazing. The hardest thing i ever had to face on my job was to watch someone die. I enjoyed putting a smile on people faces
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Danbury Hospital was a great experience
Medical Coding/Reimbursement Specialist II (Former Employee), Danbury, CTJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: learned alot
Cons: electronic medical billing and coding
My typical day was to get in an run ar reports then check upstairs with the doctors for any last minute reports. Start coding and billing claims with my coworkers, take calls from patients and doctors,report to superiors on progress of ar. The hardest part of the job was not being able to make the patients understand their insurance benefits what medicare – more... pays and what it doesn't.
The most enjoyable part is seeing patients after surgery and they are doing fantastic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work now fun later
Student on my intership (Former Employee), general department and vascularDecember 5, 2013
Pros: everyone would have a smile on their face
Cons: sometimes overloaded as far as residents, not everyone worked on the same team
A typical day at the nursing home was as followed. You are assigned 8 residents whom you had to wake up, feed, and get them ready for the day. whether that would include giving them a shower or a sponge bath. You have to hussle thought, in between getting a resident ready another residents call bell could go off and need assistance using the bathroom, – more... or maybe even just need a glass of water. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First place of business
Medical Technologist (Former Employee), Danbury, CTNovember 17, 2013
A mid-sized hospital system with an active student internship. Fairly progressive and in good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great care
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Danbury HospitalNovember 6, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Great Hospital to work for they treat their employees great and their patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New Fairfield, CTSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: did not like to work every sat.
Cons: off on weds
Great hospital to work for all around! I worked there for 5 years, we went through various changes with a new EMR system , computer system, employees retiring, new ones hired. The employees were not only great to work with but we were a "family" which is hard to come by in a working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot to learn
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Danbury, CTAugust 20, 2013
Good place to work, with lots of potential experience and opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has encouraged growth and advancement.
RN, OCN (Current Employee), Chemo infusion suiteAugust 13, 2013
I have enjoyed working for Danbury Hospital. Most employees are very friendly and professional. I have interacted with many departments within the hospital and have always been treated with respect and a positive attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Case Management Department Secretary (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 29, 2013
Great to be able to help people everyday.

Fast paced environment, changes everyday!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff very supportive of one another, typical work enviornment
Graduate nurse orientating on Telemetry unit (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 24, 2013
Telemetry floor is always busy, but easy to learn and develop understanding of how to care for severely ill cardiac patients. Management has recently changed related to budget cuts. Co-workers are very friendly and helpful, don't be afraid to ask questions. The hardest part of the job is trying to do everything within the 8 hour shift... sometimes it – more... is just too much. It is so rewarding to discharge patients back to their homes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weak management
Staff/Charge Nurse - Combined CTICU and ICU (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 16, 2013
Incredible night shift crew in the ICU.
Management is out of touch with bedside care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved danbury hospital.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 15, 2013
Great staff, good benifits.
managers are very attentive and good listeneres
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
M.D. Internal Medicine (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJune 20, 2013
Pros: beautiful location, more study/training less scut work, more autonomy and excellent attendings
Cons: less research supervision
I learnt a lot and enjoyed my training in Danbury Hospital. A typical day is from 7 to 5 , with morning case presentation report at 7:45 , morning patient rounds at 9 , noon conference at 12 pm and attending rounds from 4 -5 with various study forums at 6 which is optional. but a great opportunity to learn.There is plenty of autonomy for patient care – more... and good supervision from sub- specialty attendings. – less