Find companies:
Danbury Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Danbury Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work in Healthcare
Administrative Director (Current Employee), Danbury, CTMay 20, 2014
Great place to work. Healthnetwork is expanding and striving to provifde the best healthcare to the community. Excellent benefits. Very accommodating to personal issues that may arise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for younger people.
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Danbury, CTMay 5, 2014
Pros: weekend, night compensation
Cons: outsourced
Prep/clean food. Deliver meals to patients. I learned a lot about the healthcare workplace. Co-workers were tolerable. Hardest part of my job was having to go into rooms to deliver trays to people with MRSA, and or other illnesses where I would have to dress up in a gown and mask, gloves... etc to deliver meals. Most enjoyable part of my job was walking – more... around the hospital and seeing all different types of people and their job duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Level one trauma hospital, very efficient
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Danbury, CTFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: teaching atmosphere
Cons: in house call.
Place of my schooling, learned all my skills here and how to be a #1 Technologist. Being a trauma hospital kept very busy with an eighteen suite operating room. Management was tough but fair and always had your back. It was a teaching hospital so co-workers were very helpful in the learning process. Most enjoyable part was learning to perfect my skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Danbury, CTFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: danbury hospital was the closest to home i've ever worked
Cons: the parking in winter
I had great co-workers, great team playyers, managment was amazing. The hardest thing i ever had to face on my job was to watch someone die. I enjoyed putting a smile on people faces
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Danbury Hospital was a great experience
Medical Coding/Reimbursement Specialist II (Former Employee), Danbury, CTJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: learned alot
Cons: electronic medical billing and coding
My typical day was to get in an run ar reports then check upstairs with the doctors for any last minute reports. Start coding and billing claims with my coworkers, take calls from patients and doctors,report to superiors on progress of ar. The hardest part of the job was not being able to make the patients understand their insurance benefits what medicare – more... pays and what it doesn't.
The most enjoyable part is seeing patients after surgery and they are doing fantastic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work now fun later
Student on my intership (Former Employee), general department and vascularDecember 5, 2013
Pros: everyone would have a smile on their face
Cons: sometimes overloaded as far as residents, not everyone worked on the same team
A typical day at the nursing home was as followed. You are assigned 8 residents whom you had to wake up, feed, and get them ready for the day. whether that would include giving them a shower or a sponge bath. You have to hussle thought, in between getting a resident ready another residents call bell could go off and need assistance using the bathroom, – more... or maybe even just need a glass of water. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First place of business
Medical Technologist (Former Employee), Danbury, CTNovember 17, 2013
A mid-sized hospital system with an active student internship. Fairly progressive and in good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great care
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Danbury HospitalNovember 6, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Great Hospital to work for they treat their employees great and their patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New Fairfield, CTSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: did not like to work every sat.
Cons: off on weds
Great hospital to work for all around! I worked there for 5 years, we went through various changes with a new EMR system , computer system, employees retiring, new ones hired. The employees were not only great to work with but we were a "family" which is hard to come by in a working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot to learn
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Danbury, CTAugust 20, 2013
Good place to work, with lots of potential experience and opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has encouraged growth and advancement.
RN, OCN (Current Employee), Chemo infusion suiteAugust 13, 2013
I have enjoyed working for Danbury Hospital. Most employees are very friendly and professional. I have interacted with many departments within the hospital and have always been treated with respect and a positive attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Case Management Department Secretary (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 29, 2013
Great to be able to help people everyday.

Fast paced environment, changes everyday!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff very supportive of one another, typical work enviornment
Graduate nurse orientating on Telemetry unit (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 24, 2013
Telemetry floor is always busy, but easy to learn and develop understanding of how to care for severely ill cardiac patients. Management has recently changed related to budget cuts. Co-workers are very friendly and helpful, don't be afraid to ask questions. The hardest part of the job is trying to do everything within the 8 hour shift... sometimes it – more... is just too much. It is so rewarding to discharge patients back to their homes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weak management
Staff/Charge Nurse - Combined CTICU and ICU (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 16, 2013
Incredible night shift crew in the ICU.
Management is out of touch with bedside care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved danbury hospital.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJuly 15, 2013
Great staff, good benifits.
managers are very attentive and good listeneres
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
M.D. Internal Medicine (Current Employee), Danbury, CTJune 20, 2013
Pros: beautiful location, more study/training less scut work, more autonomy and excellent attendings
Cons: less research supervision
I learnt a lot and enjoyed my training in Danbury Hospital. A typical day is from 7 to 5 , with morning case presentation report at 7:45 , morning patient rounds at 9 , noon conference at 12 pm and attending rounds from 4 -5 with various study forums at 6 which is optional. but a great opportunity to learn.There is plenty of autonomy for patient care – more... and good supervision from sub- specialty attendings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good example of a company that grew to big to fast
Lab (Former Employee), Danbury,CTMay 4, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management, schedules, lack of orginazation
Management is completely unorganized. They will look for any and all reasons to not give you a raise. They see how much work they can put on you when paying you as little as possible. Schedules would come out on Friday night for the following week, always being understaff because everyone in the department would quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital Operations Experience
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Danbury, CTMay 1, 2013
Pros: benefits, compensation, hours
Cons: did not enttertain new thoughts and ideas
My main responsibilities consisted of overseeing the entire Phlebotomy Department and making sure all rules and policies and procedures were followed, as well as handling dispatching for all of the couriers, who had designated routes to pick up specimens from local doctors offices.
Western Connecticut Health Network offered me a Phlebotomy Operation – more... Specialist position. This was an amazing opportunity that I was offered upon completion of my phlebotomy course in January of 2012. I was highly regarding as a fair manger by my employees which consisted of 20 direct reports. I always had an open door policy with my staff. I learned how to manage and operate a larger staff of employees. In my short time with the organization I learned an extraordinary amount of information on how to be fair and equitable supervisor, as well as how to draw the line between being friendly and maintaining my staff's respect as their manager. I was very disappointed when I was informed that the organization was laying me off; due to pending state budget cut backs to hospitals. I have nothing negative to say about my previous employer as I was always treated fairly. I was always involved with multiple projects, This included but was not limited to rounding with all nurse managers, I sat on the safety board, infectious control board, and the laboratory technology board. I also spoke quarterly at the Pathology conference to update the doctors on improvements, and areas that needed improving within the laboratory. This was the most difficult aspect of my job, as was responsible for providing factual data to back my quarterly recommendations. I was also responsible for interviewing job candidates, and conducting yearly reviews. The most enjoyable part of my job was training new hires and setting an example of what I expect from my staff on daily basis, although I did more administrated work than clinical. I really enjoyed working with the Trauma team in the Emergency Department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work with many updated facilities
Front Office Specialist (Former Employee), Danbury, CTApril 8, 2013
When I worked for Danbury Hospital, it was being accredited and growing in leaps and bounds. I really enjoyed working in the Emergency room as an EMT and meeting the staff there. We all became a team in which we dedicated our lives to helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work at, fast-paced
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Danbury, CTApril 3, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule, additional hours always available, some very grateful patients
Cons: first class service expected with not enough staffing, no incentives from management
Fast-paced, nursing assistant does most of the work directly with patients and the hardest parts. Unsafe staffing at times, barely enough time to fulfill all the requirements like vital signs, computer charting, ECGs, Glucose scans, patient cleaning, toileting, running to bed and chair alarms set off by patients. Rewarding job though with enough staffing – more... and help from the nurses (who do not often help with direct patient care.) – less