Find companies:
Darien Lake Theme Park
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Darien Lake Theme Park Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great atmosphere in which to grow and hone your skills in a fun, seasonal setting!
Park Services Supervisor (Current Employee), Darien, NYMarch 29, 2014
Pros: free park admission, discounts in the park, free tickets for other people, discounts to other parks that are owned by the same company
Cons: most jobs here are only seasonal!
My typical day of work consists of going over the payroll for the previous day keeping an eye out for any inconsistancies and remedying them, meeting with staff and giving them their duties for the day, ensuring that ALL employees have the proper equipment to do their job effectively and efficiently, provide guests with the most positive experience – more... possible no matter what. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enjoyable job
Accomodations Supervisor (Former Employee), Darien, NYDecember 26, 2013
Was a dirty job. Went in stocked the carts for the day and went off with cleaning schedule for the day. Cleaned swept and mopped all units on list. Coworkers were very fun to be around. Management was great! Even received free tickets to a concert from my manager my last year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Fun - Destination Fun
Cash Control Clerk and Customer Service (Former Employee), Darien, NYNovember 12, 2013
Pros: the whole season was a pro for me. i enjoyed everything i did at darien lake
Cons: the weather at times was an issue since i was outside all day.
This was a part time position at our local theme park. I started out in cash control counting the daily receipts at the end of the night. I was in that position for 2 years. This past year I switched to being outside and in the park are a parking attendant for concerts and special events team member doing catering. When those two positions eneded for – more... the season I volunteered to be a ride attendant. I enjoy spending the day with people who were at the park enjoying their day with family and friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Ride Attendant (Former Employee), Darien, NYNovember 4, 2013
it was a part time job some days I would have to do 12 hour shifts, but I wouldn't make 30 hours or more like I wanted to. the benefits of working there were great I would get the park for free on a day that I would work an I got to park for free as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work if you are in the right mind set
Ride Operator (Former Employee), Darien Center, NYOctober 9, 2013
Pros: easy to get alot of hours, complementary employee tickets.
Cons: no heathcare, min wage.
Nice people and guests are nice the majority of the time. A good summer job for kids still in school and unemployed adults.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job with changing duties.
Amusement Park Ride Operations Associate (Former Employee), Darien, NYSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: fun, outside job.
Cons: rude or stubborn customers.
At Darien Lake i worked on the roller coasters. I made sure people were tall enough to ride and that they were secured into their seats properly. I learned how to work with customers, even some who weren't happy. My management was good and i had many supervisors. My co-workers were all around my age and we all got along. The hardest part of my job was – more... dealing with customers who didn't want to follow the rules, or didn't agree with the rules. The best part of the job was being out in the sun, over the summer, doing a very fun job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place i have ever worked at
Landscaper/Laborer (Former Employee), Corfu, NYAugust 20, 2013
Pros: working outside
Cons: some of the work i did
It was the best place i have ever worked because you got to meet alot of different people and the job was awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexibility
Reservation Agent (Former Employee), Darien Center, NYAugust 12, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: long days if the phones were dead
I didn't deal much with the management team here.
I worked on a computer most of the time occasionally out in the both letting people in the facility.
I got along with most of my coworkers.
When the lines were dead and not much going on.
Sitting down and just doing my job and going home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Host/Cook/Cashier/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Darien, NYJuly 18, 2013
Pros: decent employees and management
Cons: long hrs in the sun on hot days
Decent job to start off at, seasonal job. decent for second job or jumping off point for new workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
ride operatior (Former Employee), buffalo nyMarch 24, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: no really benfit
Just a great company to work for nice but .u have to be up for the .task
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food service worker
Food Service Helper (Former Employee), Darien, NYJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: moved to work in different area stands
Cons: long hours on my feet
I liked working here. But I need a more steady job. I liked working in the drink areas as well as the food stands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Security Guard (Former Employee), Corfu, NYNovember 18, 2012
Pros: doing actual security work
Cons: don't follow the clicks, it's not me
I did like most of the people, but clicks got in the way. I did enjoy conversing with the public. Working at the hotel, major area of guest security, parking lot attendant there were some very nice people. I do enjoy the security employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Service (Former Employee), Batavia, NYAugust 7, 2012
Pros: free pass
Cons: short breaks
Dealing with customers and preparing food and beverages while serving customers. i have learn that working with people that speak differently languages was a great learning experience. My co-workers was nice. when they have concert and the customers are fighting for service. The most enjoyable part of my job was deleting with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seaconal
Accomodations / Merchandise Assistant (Current Employee), Corfu, NYJuly 17, 2012
To many managers in charge, there is no straight forward rules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
JANITORAL (Former Employee), Darien Center, NYApril 27, 2012
i enjoyed working there and enteracting with the public. It is a great place to get experience working in many departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Interesting place to work
Ride Maintenance (Former Employee), Darien Center NYNovember 29, 2011
Pros: working out side
Cons: low pay no benifites
they hire 2000 people every year for 6 months all ages.
Working with people in many felds the day starts at 6 am and ends 8 hours later. A fun and interesting place to work. Ill do it again .