Datron World Communications Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Senior Cost Accountant (Current Employee) –  Vista, CAJune 20, 2015
Management is very supportive. Objectives are clearly defined and employees are rewarded for achieving those goals.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An HF/VHF radio engineering house with a small staff
RF Engineering Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAMarch 11, 2015
My typical day revolved around prototype construction and evaluation.

I learned about lower frequency radio testing challenges involving IP3.

My immediate management was stellar. I have no comment on upper management.

My co-workers were very easy to work with and very supportive.

I had no particular difficulties while working there.

I really enjoyed my engineering peers.
Pros
Free coffee, working atmosphere
Cons
Contract position
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't fall for the hype
Administration (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAJanuary 28, 2014
Literally land mines every where you go. The worse the business is doing, the worse the back-biting and finger-pointing become.
Very little recognition or chance for promotion unless you completely buy into the Servant Leadership program- and the current "Servant Leaders". A very toxic environment that rarely resembles what corporate promotes. Sacred cows all over, and lord help you if you don't know who they are.

Advice to Senior Management – Walk the walk, seriously, and stop the talk.

I'm not optimistic about the outlook for this company
Pros
pays well, good benefits, some good managers (middle management)
Cons
almost to the point of cult
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a open freindly work enviroment
RF Technician (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAOctober 22, 2013
Datron is a family oriented company. They follow the servant leadership model of management. As a government contractor they are good at what they do and expanding into new areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
mechanic assembler sub & final assemblies (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAOctober 14, 2013
he SUPERVISOR lied to me
i was to be training on solder cleanliness for soldering
the Datron World Communications
never want to train me on the solder cleanliness
that is why i was lad off
Cons
being lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Datron World Comm
Sustaining Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Vista, CaliforniaJune 1, 2013
Amazing people to work for, will do any and everything to help you to grow as a person and as a laborer in your specific technical field.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had no idea I was going to lose my job in 2011
assembly 2 (Former Employee) –  vista caMay 21, 2013
i work for 3 year for Datron World Communications
I had no idea I was going to lose my job in 2011
I enjoyed my employment there
the SUPERVISOR lied to me
i was to be training on solder cleanliness for soldering
the Datron World Communications
never want to train me on the solder cleanliness
that is why i was lad off
Pros
i enjoyed my employment there
Cons
never want to train me on the job
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bit stressfull
SUSTAINING ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Vista, CaMarch 6, 2013
Daily meeting on wok status, test replacement/alternate componenets forobsolecence, some designalterations for newer components.

Chance to refresh some RF skills.

Mgt protect Mgt, less so with workers. Often prevent design alterations to older designs, allowing product to be delivered with issues, deficeincies, or fail to meet spec's. Mgt has been improving in this aspect.

Many knowledgeble, many long term employees are less knowledgeable, most re friendly and helpfull.

Convincing mgt for need to update designs.

Completing a task successfully and interaction with coworkers.
Pros
friendly coworkers, annual bonuses, health care cost mostly covered by company.
Cons
constant pressure to fix problems found in production, due to design deficiencies, to avoid late deliveries.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Senior Software Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Vista, CAJanuary 24, 2013
Datron is a great company that truly values and respects employees. People are happy to come to work here. Co-workers are supportive of each other. The recent financial climate has required layoffs though.
Pros
yearly bonuses
Cons
engineering needs better processes
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
CNC Machinist lV/ Assistant Programmer (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAJanuary 17, 2013
Good work environment. Co workers are grea to work with. Owners are great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.2
Management
2.6
Culture
3.5

Datron World Communications Reviews by Location