Dave & Buster's Employee Reviews

Found 1,046 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a good place to work at if you don’t have bills to pay
Hostess (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 23, 2017
It’s a nice job with nice managers the hours are just terrible but it was easy Money I recommend people apply to them I just need to work somewhere that will give me Atleast 40 Hrs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 21, 2017
Worked here for close to 7 years i love this job. had to leave for personal reasons. same staff working there since they opened. great culture and work atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fast-Paced Environment
Sales/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 21, 2017
The environment is a very fun place to be, with the music and games. Customers can be stressful at the bar or in the dining area, but any server anywhere should be used to that. Sometimes not enough people were scheduled on weekends but management was usually there to help. Be ready to stay on your toes working weekends.
Pros
free meals on your training days. free game card for nonticket games (reloaded every month)
Cons
no benefits unless you're high up in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dave and Busyer's
Midway Tech (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 21, 2017
Was a great first job but upper management never helped out on a busy night. They were always in the kitchen talking to one another and if you needed them to show up due to a guest issue they would take 20 minutes to show up.
Pros
None
Cons
Management, no benefit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCSeptember 21, 2017
Not too terrible, pretty standard restaurant work. It can be fast paced one minute and incredibly show the next. Overall it's a fairly satisfying job.
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
Late weekend hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont remember much
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYSeptember 20, 2017
a lot of opportunities to learn things
so many departments between game room/dining staff
catering experience
special events
hours weren't horrible workload wasn't too much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to start, not a good place to stay.
Server (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 19, 2017
D&B is an okay place to work at. Most of the employees are ok, but the clientele is usually awful (especially in the last year or so), which means less tips for you to take home and live off of. Management is not very good either. They only care about themselves and whenever anything goes wrong, they blame you for it, even when it's not your fault.

Out of all the jobs in the food industry I've had so far, this is the best one I've worked at. So I'll try not to complain too much.

The best advice I can say for anyone looking to work here is that it's an alright place to start in your work history, but do not try to stay here, unless you want to become a manager, which is only granted to their favorites (and it's really difficult to become one of their favorites AND you have to cut a lot of throats to become a favorite).
Pros
Good employees to work with and cheer you on
Cons
Poor management and (usually) terrible clientele
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Floor Lead Service -Trainer (Former Employee) –  Orange, CASeptember 19, 2017
Great place to work while you are in school, you will work late hours and will have to deal with Crazy people. Management was great. a all in all cool place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and aggravating
Server and Caterer (Former Employee) –  Plymouth Meeting, PASeptember 19, 2017
A typical work day would be busy and stressful. The management was very poor and contributed to majority of the drama, they needed a more mature staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sell your soul if you want to
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GASeptember 15, 2017
Most managers are incompetent & insensitive to those who have jobs, school, or anything going on outside of D&B. If you stress to them that you're only available part-time....be ready to get bamboozled into working full time. Only thing worst than the managers are the cheap hill billy guests.

Yes, you can make decent money. Maybe about 22k a year...okay enough to be a student or single person. Don't expect to have a family working here. Managers don't value you. There ought to be a service bartender, but D&B is too cheap to spring for that. The bartender culture is warped there. The company overall is okay. I say if you're applying, try to be upper management.....any one can do it, even if you aren't qualified. That way you'll get paid to be spineless, and a suck up when it comes to guest's complaints and be lazy when it comes to everything else. The service and bartending staff is a revolving door for a reason.
RUN!
Pros
cameras don't work and you can sell game cards for extra money
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work if you are in school
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCSeptember 14, 2017
If you are not still in school dont work here. They under pay you and when you wanna work they dont wanna give you hours. If you working for your family this is not the job you need
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Customer Service
Special Events Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 14, 2017
I absolutely loved my job at Dave and Buster's! However, the service that was given to our Guest was extremely POOR and as the Sales Person I could not get everyone abroad to work as a team. Even after numerous complaints from Guest to improve our service. I have letters written on my behalf from Major Corporations complaining about the Service and how they were treated after I persuaded them to come there.

Letters are available upon request.

Customer Service is my driven desire and I have to work in an environment that agrees with that 100%
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Poor Customer Service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational
Midway technician (Former Employee) –  Addison, ILSeptember 14, 2017
I enjoyed working with the staff and guests, Lots of opportunities to grow.
Educational in technical field.
Advancement and growth.
Good working culture.
Pros
Flexible hours, Discounted food and free games.
Cons
Bar hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't
BARTENDER (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VASeptember 12, 2017
The best way to sum this place up, is the managers just don't care. If anything goes wrong you have to fend for yourself. The restaurant lacks any type of structure and organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
FOH/Bar Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 12, 2017
Very high paced job! Management needs improvement more than I can provide. Hours are long and tiring but the bonus structure is a plus. Its just time for a new scene.
Pros
Bonus and Retirement Plan
Cons
Management is lacking good business skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall cleaning and getting ready for open
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CASeptember 11, 2017
every day is the same routine, it gets hard when you need to cover someone, good thing alwAys finish on time, we get pay sick days and vacation, flexible hours.
Pros
paid vacations
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not a bad place to work at all
Server (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZSeptember 11, 2017
Working at Dave and busters can be fun, but working there isn't for everyone. If you don't like noisy environments, packed walkways, lots of kids running around, or organized chaos, then its not for you. But if you can handle all that, its a great place to work.
Pros
Daily cash, meet tons of people
Cons
Work hours/work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Corporate Trainer (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 9, 2017
Working at dave and buster's is like being in high school. There will be cliques. There will be petty nonsense. Everyone's sleeping together including managers. Can be fun though
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick paced work environment
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZSeptember 8, 2017
essentially very good at the beginning but turned into one of the worst teams i have worked for. The management team wasn't all it was made out to be and they were not willing to work with employees wanting to move up in the ranks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
Server and Party Expert (Former Employee) –  Homestead, PASeptember 8, 2017
The reputation for this place speaks for itself. It will always be the premiere location for family and adult fun. With great service, amazing employees and awesome games this place is thee best for any occasion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dave & Buster's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,073 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

80%
410 ratings
Add your rating