Davey Tree Employee Reviews

Found 101 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Is terrible .
Tree Climber (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAJanuary 16, 2017
The pay is to low ., management is very poor . It's no a team work . It's a waste time working for this company . They claim to be profesional by using the name of the care of trees . It's just another business making a ton of money and paying there employees cents .!
Pros
None .
Cons
The opposition of pros .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Forman (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 14, 2017
If you have a good GF like I did and a good group of guys it's a real good job good benefits good pay a very dangerous job it was union
Pros
Working with good people
Cons
Not enough storm damage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harrassment is not Confronted
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Macedonia, OHDecember 26, 2016
No investigation into claims of harassment, and no managers are held accountable for their behavior. I filed multiple claims about the same two individuals and nothing was ever done. I was ignored.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job Not high pay
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Wooster, OHDecember 20, 2016
Comfortable place to work. Not a lot of pressure. Just follow a few safety rules. Insist on DOT and State compliance. Outside work.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Mud
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  VermontNovember 30, 2016
Davey tree was best tree company I have worked for. Great benefits. Management took care of employees everything you needed was provided. Education was promoted. Just an all together good work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigorous and unrewarding
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Foster, RINovember 16, 2016
There is no future in this company by any means. Your ceiling is 20/hr and that includes them owning your life during storms. The boss's don't care about you by any means.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Tree Trimmer (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVNovember 14, 2016
Davey Tree is very productive in getting the job done on time. You don't have to travel to far to work unless it is for storm work in that case you might have to travel out of state. Most of the guys that work there are easy to get along with.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Time it takes to get job advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company, but not very willing to train.
Regulatory Compliance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kent, OHOctober 30, 2016
This employer is in transition and employees have been in their position for many years. Training is not offered nor a priority until it is an immediate requirement. Management is not very transparent.
Pros
good location, nice benefit package, pay competitive.
Cons
No training, lacking leadership, slow review process.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting work invirment
Formen (Former Employee) –  Johnstown, PAOctober 27, 2016
Started from knowing little to being a formen. I learned a lot about trimming, doing proper tree falling removals, you learn a lot about the invirment/economy system. I learned how to make last minute decisions doing first response on storms and clean up..
Pros
Many skills if you pay attention
Cons
Lots of hrs and driving
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Sales Manager is a racist and a misogynist
Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAOctober 18, 2016
Overall it was a good experience until the District Sales Manager threatened me because I'm a woman and a Latina. He is widely despised but HR must consider him valuable because he's still there. If you have any self respect look elsewhere for employment.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of hours
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MISeptember 13, 2016
the one i worked at was 60 or more hours =a week it is hard to get time off for anything managment does not care about employees employees are expected to make the company profit regardless of who is selling the work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional company
Journeyman Line Clearance Tree Trimmer (Current Employee) –  Hale, MIAugust 28, 2016
The Davey Tree Expert Company is a very safety oriented, professional company. They take care of you as an employee and are willing to work with you to help you grow as an employee and a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moved around on many crews to learn different aspects of job
Ground Man (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNAugust 19, 2016
Learned to cut down trees. Learned to operate bucket truck as well as be inside of it. Learned CPR and first aid procedures. Drove commercial vehicles with air brakes.
Pros
Lenient management
Cons
Expensive benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful and Poor Leadership
Utility System Tech (Former Employee) –  ArkansasAugust 11, 2016
Most interactions with leadership involved getting belittled or laughed at, not really constructive criticism that's needed to grow in the job. They said they would "train" but leadership is not patient with you at all. I cannot stress how unprofessional and toxic leadership was. Not a good place to work.
Pros
Company Vehicle, Cellphone Stipend
Cons
Poor leadership, long hours, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Crew member / Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 10, 2016
Was able to intern with them over summer vacation. Worked hard and slept well! I would have had a much more difficult time entering the workforce if it hadn't of been for this internship. I am extremely grateful. Plus, they ended up giving me a scholarship.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place ever
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAJune 21, 2016
he hardest part of this job is doing hard labor out in the sun very stressful for some but when you get out their and start your working you forget about how hot it really is but. what am im saying is its your job do what you have to do for that company and build your carrier
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Wye Mills, MDJune 12, 2016
we are like family at our office. its not a easy job that we have but the people we work with make it a lot easier. everyone is very aware of safety , which is of the utmost importance in our every day job. the benefits are excellent , 401k and stock options . we are employee owned .health care is not all that great , but i think its changing soon
Pros
work outside
Cons
work outside
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No good
Forman (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 28, 2016
Bad management, bad crews, very disrespectful to others and customers. Groundman out of line don't know their place. Management like to give blank give job reviews that look good and fill in the blanks after u sign.
Pros
The hope of a Job loss/layoff
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job wasnt impressed by the company.
Groundman (Former Employee) –  Kent, OHMay 6, 2016
learned a few things about climbing and operating a bucket truck. The employees where very helpfull. dangerous job and they don't want to pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good compan
Lead Foreman/1st Class Climber (Former Employee) –  Kent, OHApril 25, 2016
this company is a good company to work for except some of the foremans are very pregists against other foremans and workers, but all in all i would and i am trying to go back to work there
Pros
esop
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Davey Tree. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 112 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3