Find companies:
David Weekley Homes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

David Weekley Homes Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Construction Manager (Former Employee), USAMay 26, 2014
Excellent company to move up in and top notch management. They have a great checks and balance system in place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can buy in to their corporate culture then you'll be a good fit...
Residential Construction Superintendent (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 13, 2014
Pros: no cubicle and every day is a little different
Cons: working with sub-contractors who don't know the meaning of "quality", sub-contractors who expect to get paid whether they complete a job to agreed upon standards or not.
I didn't fit in with their corporate culture and we, therefore, reached an agreement that they didn't want me and I didn't want them, but I left voluntarily and on good terms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Homes Sales builder
New Homes Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Houston,TxDecember 28, 2013
meet with customer, secure site to build home, obtain financing/mortgage for prospects, meet with construction on weekly basis regarding status of buyers homes. work with mortgage company to ensure buyers obtain full approval, work with title company to ensure all necessary documentation is presented. complete inspections of progress on buyers homes – more... update buyers of status, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ra Ra Sis Boom....sizzle
Builder (Current Employee), TampaSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: home office is great
Cons: management on a local level is clueless
Starts out as a great company with a welcoming attitude. You are told you will drink the "blue cool aid" and from the surface seems like a very good company to work for. The home office is great and welcoming but the longer you are there the more you realize how disorganized and inept the people they have in place are. Failure to see the increasing – more... demand for trades they are ill equipped to keep up with production, poor designs for the price they want to pay trades in Florida, take off errors, they do not like anyone to take initiative and stand out as a leader. Upper management on the division level are clueless on actually knowing how to manage and seem unaware of the realities of the market. They do not market their properties and therefore don't know how to drive sales. Purchasing is way understaffed and overworked. They have no real land department so they never properly do a lot take down - lots are too high, too low, obstructions, cracked curbs, buried whips etc. As a builder you are supposed to just adapt to their incompetence and deal with it while keeping production going. Overall disorganized and not able to adapt to a growing market - too busy covering things up from the Houston Office and scared to death of Mike Humphrey who is a reasonable, fair and intelligent man - probably because they know they are inadequate for the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good and strong company values.
Plan Administrator (Former Employee), Houston, TexasAugust 7, 2013
Pros: fun work environment
Cons: compensation
Fun place to work. Provided extensive training to it's employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In The early 2000's great company to be a part of, when the economy tanked so did the culture
Purchasing (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 21, 2013
Pros: benefits, 401k match
Cons: motto is "do the right thing" rank and file try, management does whatever suits them
Great place to work the first six years, lots of team building,nice hard working, honest people who worked together as a team and all worked on "Doing the right thing". 7th year management hired people out to secure their positions who definately did not follow the David Weekley motto of "Doing the right thing".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Integrity and Doing the Right Thing - that is the way we do business at David Weekley Homes.
Marketing Coordinator (Current Employee), Ponte Vedra, FLJuly 19, 2013
Pros: benefits, team members, culture of the company, 401k, profit sharing
Cons: it's a challenging job, but i have been here 8 years and i would not leave this company if i weren"t relocating to valdosta, ga with my husband.
David Weekley Homes strives to bring out the best in their people and provide a challenging work environment. Their Team Members are encouraged to utilize their potential to positively affect other people's lives, increase their own self-fulfillment, and enhance their own lives. More than just building homes, they exist as a company to serve our purpose – more... of Building Dreams, Enhancing Lives: They strive to create a challenging and rewarding work culture, delighting their Customers with an unequaled home owning experience and positively impacting our community by what they do and how they act. It is a fast paced environment with multiple interruptions and shifting priorities each day. The hardest part of the job to me was effectively keeping our team members motivated during the economic downturn in the economy, which is a situation out of my control. The best part of the job is that it was never boring! Actually, the best part is that I felt my opinion mattered. I was included in the executive staff meetings, and I was encouraged to grow and learn by my manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Home builder assistant- summer intern (Former Employee), Magnolia, TXApril 30, 2013
Pros: huge project meetings
Cons: working in hot attics in the middle of summer
What I learned while working with David Weekley Homes was they have amazing values and it rubs off on you as an employee. I was just a summer intern for them, but I would recommend this company to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it if you have a family life
sales (Current Employee), TampaApril 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits, great training, nice homes
Cons: highest turnover rate ive ever seen, company not keeping up with competitors
Some employees are worked relentlessly and not able to take even regular company days off or vacation days without extreme scrutiny from management. Others with seniority are given carte blanche at premium communities and take days off and leave early routinely. The people who have been at the company for years run it not the management. They run off – more... employees they dont want or are threatened by. Endless pointless and unproductive meetings with fake culture they dont practice. Everyone calls it drinking the kool aid time. Builders and sales sometimes forced to work through major holidays, some on Christmas day all the while they are trying to promote a brand of family values. Builders and sales are used up and seen as replaceable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly unprofessional
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), TampaMarch 3, 2013
Pros: great owner, great 401k match
Cons: very unprofessional, cussing screaming degrading bullying allowed, if you succeed or rub one of the people in the clique wrong you are targeted, people feel their job is hanging by a thread with intense pressure- creates a cut throat environment, you're either on the team or you're not, translation in clique or not, very high sales turnover
Sales consultant-I was naive and regret working at this company. Loved the customers and the actual work, very high achiever in sales/customer satisfaction...not what it is about at D.W. though. If you are seeking to build a sales career through performance and professionalism look elsewhere.

A clique runs the show
Assigned mentor is a competing coworker- – more... they may not teach you important aspects of the position, which might be ok unless you are brand new to the industry.
Team resents when mngmt hires people outside of who they know-most have friends/ past coworkers they are trying to get hired,
Very sad that a company has such excellent written values and they are not practiced
If you're not in the clique you are labeled not a team player
If you are candid about a serious problem you are the problem
if you are the type of person who puts in 150% you will be worked to the point of burn out while others who have been there a long time leave early constantly.
actually got in trouble for not attending a socializing event that I was not even invited to because I was working with a customer on a home sale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy workplace
Project/Division Coordinator (Current Employee), Ponte Vedra Florida 32081February 18, 2013
Pros: days that pass quickly, working 7 to 4.
Cons: long drive. much time away from my daughters and lots of gas money.
A typical workday varies. Many unexpected interruptions can occur. It is very fast paced and busy. The days go by very quickly. I love my co-workers. I work with some amazing people. The hardest part of the job is the amount of work that has befallen us lately. Due to a recent spike in the homebuilding industry the work load can be overwhelming at times. – more... I love that I am busy and that my days pass so quickly but the hardest part is feeling like we need more people to handle the increase. I also drive over an hour to work and that has become difficult some days. I do, however, love the challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good jobs are in the office
Sales (Former Employee), RaleighFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: great benefits, generous owner of the company
Cons: in-house software is horrible, some very nasty people from houston often check the field guys
One thing you might notice--the good reviews mostly come from the desk jobs. Weekley means well and his programs and plans start on a good foot. In the field, the builders have to get the job done in spite of what happens in the office. The poor software and inaccurate take-offs, incorrect permits, and an easily exploited bonus system make it easy for – more... the less honest people to get ahead here. The lack of regular audits by the central management create some makeshift workarounds in the office, with some folks often hard to find. Beware of any division where the managers did not serve as a builder or salesperson in that division. If there is a policy of bringing in experts from elsewhere, you will never see a real promotion. And be wary of the coaches, they pretend to be your co-workers, yet they make reports on you that go to upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Graphic Designer (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: fun environment
Cons: lower pay
Casual work environment with occasional tight deadlines. Variety of projects to work on from direct mail postcards to billboards and web pages. Management was good, coworkers were mostly good, some were less productive leaving work load to be picked up by others. The flexible work day schedule was very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap business model
Managment (Former Employee), DFWOctober 8, 2012
Pros: cheerleader camp environment (fake)
Cons: superficial company/ low pay
Talent has to leave due to lack of opportunity & stressful 60 hour weeks.
Constant treadmill push. Little reward financially.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of integrity in upper management
Builder in Dallas, Texas (Former Employee), Charleston, SCSeptember 17, 2012
Pros: give you the tools to succeed
Cons: clickish, your in or you are out.
Great people in the trenches, upper management full of themselves. The rank and file is considered replaceable and often is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
David Weekley Homes
Custom Perception home sales (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 23, 2012
Pros: in certain communities you can make 6 figures
Cons: upper management is highly unprofessional
UGH......only one word can describe this company! HORRIBLE

Turnover is through the roof. Very few sales or construction employees there after 5 years. I had been with my prior company for 14 years so this was not what I was used to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Division Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 8, 2012
Pros: compensation
Cons: housing industry in the toilet
Great place to work, Because of the collapse of the housing industry they had to cut back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people, wonderful job, Great place to work!
Warranty Coordinator (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAApril 22, 2012
Pros: free lunches
David Weekley Homes - Atlanta was a great place to work and it had so many wonderful people who worked there. Although the new homes construction stopped and many jobs faded away the company itself was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and keeps improving, great trip incentives
Records Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 23, 2012
Pros: training available, friendly atmosphere, feels like a family, benefits were great
Cons: assist after layoff, better opportunities for advancement in company
I loved working there and if there is any position that comes up I would love to go back if I am qualified for it.

About David Weekley Homes

Weekley Homes builds daily. Doing business as David Weekley Homes, the company is one of the largest privately-held home builders – Read more