Davidson College Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sports Training Medical Room Assistant (Current Employee) –  Davidson, NCJuly 15, 2015
I gained exposure to sports medicine and physical therapy for high-level Division I athletes. I also performed necessary tasks for the upkeep of the PT facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigorous School
Trip Leader (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCJune 3, 2015
Davidson College is a rigorous, high quality educational institution. Students are afforded amazing opportunities, but definitely have to work hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's alright
Dining Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCAugust 29, 2014
Nothing to write home about. It is a job and not much more. I learned that the higher up you are the more you will throw the hard workers under the bus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Davidson College
Assistant Director of Marketing and Promotions (Former Employee) –  Davidso, NCApril 24, 2014
Davidson College will work you to death and pay you peanuts.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to teach!
Visiting Professor (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCApril 16, 2014
Davidson is a small liberal arts school about 20 miles north of Charlotte, NC. The students are quite bright, and very engaged. I enjoyed my time teaching here.
Pros
bright students
Cons
not very diverse faculty or student body
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Davidson Trust
Human Resources Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCAugust 24, 2013
As a student covered by financial aid, having a work study job was 100% secured.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Non-profit, philanthropy, and athletic leadership experiences
Service Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCJuly 7, 2013
At Davidson College, I was able to involve myself in my social organizations' philanthropic and service work. This past year, I designed, organized, and ran service events on our college campus to raise funds and awareness for HIV and AIDS. Together with a group of ten classmates, I coordinated funding and campus participation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Counselor/Campus Assistant (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCJune 24, 2013
One of the best family environments. Nothing goes unnoticed. Very workable scheduling.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT WAS FUN
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCMay 14, 2013
IT WAS FUN AND SOME OF THE WORKING WAS JUST LIKE FAMILY AND EVERYONE WORKED AS A TEAM.
Pros
free food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Superintendent of Building Services (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCApril 21, 2013
It was a place I enjoyed very much. Great people! I had a chance to use my industry knowledge to help make some changes.
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job with little opportunity for advancement
Web Accreditation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCOctober 12, 2012
The work was excellent, with varied activities each day, but little job security and very little chance for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Davidson College
NA (Current Employee) –  Davidson, NCJuly 19, 2012
We usually work a 12 to 14 hour day. Thje management is empathic to individual needs.
Pros
job security
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse and open minded environment
Information Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Davidson, NCJuly 8, 2012
I was hired for a job that I was unqualified for and had no training once I started. My manager was new also and wasn't any help. I was expected to "wing it" and figure it out myself. For someone who doesn't need guidance or support, the environment is perfect.

The culture is highly diverse and my tattoos and the fact that I am gay was very accepted. The people are kind everywhere that you go and everyone seems to have so much pride in what they do.

For someone who is open to growing and learning and pushing their own personal limits, this is the place for you. Self-discipline and motivation are a necessity.
Pros
flexible hours during summer months
Cons
not very structured in terms of a working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed doing different jobs
Electrician / Maintenance Tech (Former Employee) –  Davidson NCFebruary 29, 2012
Meeting new people, working in a fun atmosphere, and working close to home
Pros
close to home
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture