Find companies:
Davis Vision
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Davis Vision Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review for DV
CSR at a Call Center (Current Employee), Latham, NYMay 28, 2014
Pros: incentive
Cons: only get 2 breaks
Its hard to advance, change positions or hours. I am seeking something a little bit more versatile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Lab Technician - Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Newtown Square, PAMarch 20, 2014
Responsibilities include; setting up machines every morning, personally repairing machines that were not functioning in order to prevent a slow down in production. Personally responsible for approximately 700 to 1000 jobs daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and challenging work
Director, Administration (Former Employee), Latham, NYFebruary 17, 2014
Changing times for many insurance carriers as we work through the Affordable Care Act
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and Quality
Technica Laboratory III (Former Employee), Plainview, NYJanuary 4, 2014
Organize work daily to provide the priority work "rush", inspecting the quality of the products that are in good condition for the patient taking the prescription medication indicated. Continuous communication with coworkers better time coordinating the work is to fairly and efficiently, as well as fluid communication with supervisors adjusting to the – more... requirements of ISO. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service rep
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Latham, NYOctober 14, 2013
It was a very busy call center.I was there four years and I learned alot of things. Management was very good.Co-workers were great people to work with I enjoyed going to work.I relly loved it when I made people happy when I went above and beyond to help them with there problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Davis Vision was a great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Latham, NYAugust 13, 2013
Pros: bonus at the end of each month, based soley on my job performance.
Cons: every three months there were shift changes based on senority
The most enjoyable part of my job was helping patients. Many of them were elderly, I very much enjoyed taking time to explain their benefits to them. I learned many things about the insurance industry, I wish to continue in this industry. I also learned things about myself. I learned that I have a great deal of patience and truly enjoy the indusrty
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible all around
Surfacing Level 2 (Former Employee), Plainview, NYJune 3, 2013
10 hour days are ok but do not force me to work overtime when im already putting over 40 hours a week. Employers suck and everyone there has a negative attitude. Racists people if you ask me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice team to work with, we were great..
Provider Relations Representative (Former Employee), Plainview, NYApril 10, 2013
Pros: great lunch time, and lots of wonderful memories. the experience i recieved here was better then any college course.
Cons: i had to leave to do my intership for my early childhood education course.
We had a very fast paced environment. There was always so much to learn in eye care, and all types of insurances. Training was constant. When i first started I was in the call center taking orders from doctors. We had very high volume of calls and had to tracking orders in the labs as well. Soon I was promoted to provider relations, this postion was – more... working more with the providers regarding insuraces and with patients to explain benifits. It required constant training and patients. But the best part of this job was making great connections with the providers and the wonderful team we had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profesonal enviroment, Very productive
Laboratory Information Technology Director (Current Employee), Plainview, NYApril 7, 2013
Pros: great work environment
Cons: n/a
DV is a great place to work, I have been working here for 19 years, and I get along well with all my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the co-workers at Davis Vision were fun to work with
Call Center Support (Former Employee), Latham, NYMarch 7, 2013
Pros: the chance to communicate with different people
Cons: sometimes customers can get some-what out of hand... ( it was my pleasure) ha ha to those that know
It's a fast paced type of environment phone's are constantly ringing, although my stay was short, however: overall I take great pride in the fact that I had an great opportunity, to to show case my talent at Davis Vision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good survival job.
Finishing Tech I (Current Employee), Newtown Square, PAFebruary 17, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: very far away from home
This is a good Company to work for, but it is very far away from my home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive with no advancement
Service Representative (Current Employee), Latham, NYFebruary 5, 2013
Cons: all listed above
Too many problems occur without resolutions.

More and more is expected of the individual instead of management listening to the workers to try and make it a better workplace and more enjoyable to communicate with customers.
Poor insurance coverage and benefits.
No career advancement or encouragement to advance.
It use to be a great place to work when – more... I first started cause I was unemployed and needed work but the company has changed so much so quickly for all the wrong reasons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive with no advancement
Service Representative (Current Employee), Latham, NYFebruary 5, 2013
Cons: all listed above
Too many problems occur without resolutions.

More and more is expected of the individual instead of management listening to the workers to try and make it a better workplace and more enjoyable to communicate with customers.
Poor insurance coverage and benefits.
No career advancement or encouragement to advance.
It use to be a great place to work when – more... I first started cause I was unemployed and needed work but the company has changed so much so quickly for all the wrong reasons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A truly terrible place to work
Quality Assurance Compliance Reviewer (Former Employee), Latham, NYDecember 12, 2012
Pros: coworkers
Cons: no support from managemant
I enjoyed assisting the members resolving the challenges experienced when attempting to obtain services. My coworkers were supportive and made life bearable. When I was transfered into the department I was informed by the supervisior that I was her guineapig as no training program existed, three years later a new hire is still a guineapig. Also when – more... I thought help from her she yelled at me she did not have time for me and to get my answers from my coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth
Sr. Accountant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 19, 2012
Pros: growth
Cons: hours
Wonderful learning experience with great opportunity for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personnal are friendly
Claims Examiner (Former Employee), Latham, NYSeptember 2, 2012
Pros: job location
Cons: short breaks, problems if you need to go to the restroom, poor management
Logging into your PC, processing claims, Learning anything new that is required, management is ok but needs to be more understanding, co-workers were great to work with very friendly and if you had senior co-workers they would help you out with any problems you had. Hardest part was and overload of claims that would come in then they would make you – more... do manditory overtime. Enjoyable part was my work ours.7am to 330pm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drs.Contact lens assistant / optical assistant
Contact Lens Technician/Receptionist (Former Employee), Plainview, NYJune 13, 2012
Pros: excellent health, vision and dental benefits, room to grow and become successful, if fulltime you get two 15 min breaks and an hour lunch
Cons: tend to change management frequently, 0 everyone thinks different so everything tends to change every so often
A typical day at work was checking in patients for their eye exams or for eye glass purchase. Processing orders, educating patients on proper use of contacts and doctors recommendations. Answering the telephone, booking appointments, issuing credits when required, preparing schedule and charts. Dispensing materials, organizing store, filing, faxing. – more... Learned medical terminology and the importantace of eye care, system software, light medical coding. Management is friendly and plesant to work with, Davis Vision is a copororation but manages to maintain a small local store feeling. Co-workers are friendly and helpful and quick to jump in when required. Hardest part of the job would be nothing in my opinion, everything is very easy to handle and does not require much. The most enjoyable part is no two days are the same, each patient requires different care which makes it enjoyable and your able to interact with many people on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair labor practices place
ARC Lab Technician (Current Employee), Newtown Square, paJune 4, 2012
This was a great job until they increased the labor and lower the earnings!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Big Company that Used to Be a Small Company
Quality Assurance Representative (Former Employee), Latham, NYJune 1, 2012
When I first started working for Davis in 1998, they were a growing, successful small company with a family feel. They were exceptional to work for and they paid great. As they grew, however, they became more and more corporate to the point that (in the last three years I worked there) the stress was very high, work/life balance was none of their concern, – more... advancement was nearly impossible and pay raises became almost non-existence.

I can't really say they're a bad place to work. They're just not the wonderful place they used to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high customer service oriented office
Optical Assistant (Former Employee), NYMay 24, 2012
great team oriented place to work, management personnell are lacking in people skills resulting in low morale.

About Davis Vision

Davis Vision makes vision care coverage its daily chore. The firm is a vision insurance provider that serves about 16 million – Read more