Find companies:
Dayton Freight Lines, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

Dayton Freight Lines, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company ~
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Valley View, OHSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: love my job.
Cons: distance to job.
Love working at Dayton Freight Lines. I get to work along with customers and be attentive to follow-up and detail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
dock worker (Former Employee), DesplainsSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: winter season
This was the best job I ever had. Had great coworkers never had a bad time while working here. It's a part time job so u don't get any benefits, but pay is great. The only bad thing about this job is winter season. Winter season is the worst. Your toes start to get cold n start to get numb. If u put in at least 25 hr a week you be taking like a 300 – more... check home. It's not bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Regional LTL company in the Industry
Account Manager/Sales Executive (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOAugust 31, 2014
Pros: superior service product
After working for a couple of different LTL carriers that were publicly traded, I opted to make a transition to a privately held company i.e. Dayton Freight. With so many variables within the mfg. industry and the economy, representing Dayton Freight was by far the best experience as an Account Manager that I have encountered. They have evolved as a – more... leader and continue to solidify their presence in the industry by providing a superior service product to their customers. With so many companies either transitioning to JIT, shorter lead times and very limited inventory, having a company like Dayton Freight as a carrier continues to prove why they are an industry leader. The management and everyone internally communicates effectively and in a timely manner so that the customers don't have to try to figure out where their shipments are. When you need help internally to get results for a customer, the response is never "we can't" but "let's find a solution" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting position, great place to work
Billing Associate (Former Employee), Dayton, OHAugust 26, 2014
•Perform data entry of bills into the As400 system. Learn & retain industry terms as it pertains to billing. Become familiar with NMFC freight classification. Communicate any billing issues to the Service Centers. Performing all necessary audits as assigned. Proper hazardous materials bill entry (as assigned). Assist Service Centers with any questions – more... relevant to billing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfriendly place to work
dockworker (Former Employee), MSPJuly 23, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: lack of hours lots of favoritism no breaks
part time work from 3 am to 9 a.m. sent home early sometimes when it was still was busy showed nothing but favoritism had me call in every nite at 2 am to see if I can work or not while other part time workers that just started worked 9 hours plus. Only 20 mins break
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place with good off days.
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Saint Peters, MOJune 26, 2014
Pros: good money, free prizes and off days.
Cons: no benefits because of part time work.
A typical day at work is moving freight form one truck to another in a timely fashion. I learned that you have to be careful and follow safety procedures when handling shipments. The management is decent, they take time out to help and encourage their employees to improve on their skills. I have some good coworkers who don't mind being a team player – more... and getting involved. The hardest part about my job are the weather conditions, when temperatures are extreme in cold are heat and can become uncomfortable at times. The most enjoyable thing about my job is the freedom to work with others or independently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment
Fork Lift Operator (Current Employee), Huber Heights, OHJune 4, 2014
I learn something new everyday. The company is well organized and the co- workers are great to work with. The company is big on safety and making sure the customers are happy which is a great aspect of the company. The enjoyable part of the job is the challenging task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Dock Worker (Former Employee), Dayton, OHApril 17, 2014
Fast paced team environment. Everyone helps each other. Very difficult to advance from part time status. From a business standpoint, it's understandable, yet frustrating for a hopeful employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place I ever worked
customer service (Former Employee), warren, miFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: parttime
Cons: management didnt care
Worked with younger adults who didnt know how to talk to people, long haul drivers were rude .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PRODUCTIVE PLACE GREAT PEOPLE
P & D Driver (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: kept busy most of the time.
Cons: finding time to take my 30 break
ENJOYED GOING TO WORK NEVER TOOK A SICK DAY TYPICAL DAY AVG, ABOUT 10HOURS OR MORE I RAN THREE DAYS TO COUNCIL BULFFS AND AREAS IN BETWEEN AND TWO DAYS MORE LOCAL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A simple, but high paying job with a relaxed environment.
Dock Worker (Current Employee), Lakeville, MNJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: no dress code
Cons: short hours, no benefits
The typical day at Dayton involves the loading and unloading of freight from trucks. The environment is relaxed if a bit hectic at times. Sense I have been employed there I would say the hardest part of the job is the environment as it neither cooled or heated during the year. The most enjoyable part is the simplicity of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place to work at
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 17, 2013
This is a good company to work for. I wish that I did not quit. I did not have any problems with management or the employees. I just wanted to move on to something different. I remember there was a guy who put his two week notice in and Dayton told him to not to come back. We I did it they kept me for the full two weeks. And two day later my name came – more... up in a random. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to have
Forklift Driver (Current Employee), Greenwood, INDecember 15, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: cold
I have nothing but good things really to say. Ive worked there for a few months now and i like it a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 4, 2013
Pros: paid break and flexible hours and wonderful pay.
Cons: none.
It is strictly work at Dayton Freight Lines, all supervisors are the best I have ever worked with and it is very organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal day on the job
Inbound Freight Dock Worker (Former Employee), Dayton, OHOctober 29, 2013
Pros: occasional barbques / or breakfast
Cons: part time employee with no bennifits
My work day begins at 4 am we start out breaking trap trailers which consist of freight that didnt go out the morning before. After we get all the frieght there sorted our road drivers bring in new freight that falls in 2 catagories either 1 day freight or 2 day freight. We break that all off the trucks then we have to look at our manifest in our electronic – more... scan guns to see how to load the route and make it most effecient for the driver.

I have learned how to properly unload and load a truck , I have learned about hazmat safety and I am certified in hazmat control. I have also learned how to operate a forklift.

Management has treated me fairly, but has been unable to offer me a fulltime position.

I work on the Dock with a total of 6 other dock hands and 1 supervisior. In the 2 years i been there guys come an go regularly.

The hardest part of the job I would say is loading the trucks to every drivers standard since we run 26 drivers everyday. You almost always are loading a new drivers truck daily they all have different ways they like it loaded.

I enjoy operating the forklift! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
Dock Worker (Current Employee), Des Plaines, ILOctober 24, 2013
Everyone there is great and very helpful and easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back and surrounded by good people
Dockworker/Clerical (Current Employee), Louisville, KYOctober 7, 2013
I unload trailers on a forklift and help out with routing our pedals that we send out to deliver freight. I also can help with dispatching trailers in the city and deal with appointed freight. Meaning that we call businesses or whomever ships through us to set up an appointed time for them to receive their shipment.
The people there are very pleasant – more... to work with and the atmosphere could not be better. There really isn't anything I can say that is hard about the job. Some heavy lifting is required so I would say that is the only difficult part of the job. The most enjoyable part is working with a great group of people. Everyone is very personable and easy to get along with. Good company as a whole!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Dock worker (Current Employee), des plaines ilOctober 6, 2013
Pros: pay is good
Cons: part time
I love the hours, juest need something full time. I like to keep busy and get things done. Company is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Part time
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Rockford, ILSeptember 30, 2013
This is a great employer if you are looking for part time work, although it is very difficult to move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Dockworker (Current Employee), Des Plaines, ILSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: working
Cons: healthcare
Nice and friendly people to work with and for. Learning more about freight being moved and how it should be placed into trucks with forklifts.

1 2 3

About Dayton Freight Lines, Inc.

Carrying freight in Big Ten country, Dayton Freight Lines is a less-than-truckload (LTL) carrier operating in 11 states in the – Read more