DC Central Kitchen Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful!
Healthy Corners Program/Truck Farm Intern (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 12, 2016
DC Central kitchen has an amazing mission. Every day the kitchen team meets and states the mission. What is so empowering is much of the kitchen team went through DCCK's own culinary job training program and are living proof the DCCK's mission in action.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Cook assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 8, 2015
Prepared all food materials for the head chef, washed dishes for the employees to serve the meals. I also provided wonderful customer service to those who attended the restaurant. I learned a lot of ways to provide assistance for my employees to build a strong team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome atmosphere, family dynamic, and results oriented.
Student Cook (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 17, 2013
DCCK, is a community program for under-employed individuals who seek a new lease on life. they work with any and all types of people and help out the less fortunate to the fortunate who just want another title under their belt.

My time at DCCK, was and still is well spent. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else. the staff and team are top notch. Always willing to help o
you when you need it and when you don't think you need it.
I would recommend this place to any and everyone who wants to learn something that will grow with them.
Pros
free lunch, financial compensation, familial bonding, safe enviorment.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Food Server (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 2, 2013
Overseeing Customers
Responsibility
Great Management
Friendly
Long hours on your Making customers feel welcome
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping the needy
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 25, 2015
everyday here was a story to tell, working here I feed the homeless it felt so good to be able to experience something like this. management was so understanding and always there to talk. I enjoyed everything about this job.me and the other volunteers got along and made it our business to serve delicious healthy meals for the less fortunate.
Pros
free lunch and long breakks
Cons
cleaniness
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
help serve the homless and others.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 4, 2015
• Cleaned work areas, equipment, utensils, dishes, and silverware.
• Prepared a variety of foods according to customers' orders or supervisors' instructions, following approved procedures.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
Short breaks, being bored
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work four
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 10, 2015
you can learn a lot at dc central kitchen if you just put your mind an focus on your work and you are not their to make friend.
Pros
Good company to work four
Cons
Don't get involve in the gossips
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Program & Organization
Student Cook (Former Employee) –  DCJune 8, 2015
DCCK is a well thought out organization that stresses the importance of work & life balance with their various programs & resources.
I graduated from the Culinary Job Training program where I did learn a variety of cooking styles & techniques.
Also, the class & staff are usually close and tight knit.
The hardest part was managing multiple tasks with little to no assistance on one major contract that I was contracted to coordinate.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passonite about life, training, and cooking.
CULINARY ARTS INSTRUCTOR AND SERVSAFE PROCTOR (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 18, 2014
I love teaching Culinary Arts, and ServSafe. Creating Menus, supplying deliciously safe and sanitary food. My co-workers adore me, because I am a hard working, and I'm always willing to go the extra mile for my team. The most enjoyable part of my day is the students I teach. Their willingness to want change, and the passion to make it happen.
Pros
lunch, benifits, love of the job
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to volunteer
Volunteer cook assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington DCJuly 29, 2015
Get the menu for the day and work within the team in a task assigned by the chef on duty.Complete assigned task and clean up.
Enjoy a lunch in DC.
Pros
excellent to get back to our community
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver Supervisor
driver (Former Employee) –  washington, dcMarch 21, 2013
The Supervisor was nasty, treated workers different, you needed to be in the click to get his approval. He spoke nasty to you and let his buddies get away with not holding their weight he covered for them. Allowed some workers and his self to ride other people in the vechicles that were not employees. He needs to be watched and the employees.
Pros
not hard work
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job ever
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 22, 2013
typical day...fun and games while getting lots of work done
I learned to cook for large numbers of people
management was okay cool at times
co-workers were the best
nothing about this job was hard i loved it
most enjoyable part was working with volenters
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place.
Senior Support Engineer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 15, 2014
DC Central Kitchen is America's leader in reducing hunger with recycled food, training unemployed adults for culinary careers, serving healthy school meals, and rebuilding urban food systems through social enterprise.
Pros
Its a great place for a second change.
Cons
No room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The CEO was always hands in the day to day operations.
Clinical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 26, 2015
Having the Culinary Job Training Program, was a great idea for the organization. It was a way for people, who had been incarcerated, to get back into the main stream.
Pros
Able to work in the field on a daily basis.
Cons
Wish the Board would be take a more active role in the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient Organization
First Helping Outreach Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 28, 2013
DC Central Kitchen has grown into a large non-profit. Its goals of feeding the hungry and employing the unemployed are notable but the support for staff is often lacking
Pros
free lunch
Cons
difficult to have new ideas heard
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deal with various personality types
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 9, 2014
It's a very good environment to work in. Very high paced and service oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  se,dcAugust 21, 2012
voulenteering at the dc central kitchen was a wonderful experience. helping people that had little to nothing and seeing them smile mad me happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasnt much
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 24, 2012
i can say that working at dc central kitchen you have to always be on your p's and q's because if your going to always miss something that you didn't double check.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
4.0

DC Central Kitchen Reviews by Location