Find companies:
DC Water
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

DC Water Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at DC Water was an very informative experience
Intern (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 27, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunches, friendly environment
Cons: working with sewage can get messy, sometimes i have to find things to do when not taking sewage samples
When I got hired at DC Water I was suppose to take wastewater samples and test certain parameters. A chemical was pumped into the sewers and I monitored the sewage composition as time progressed. I learned about the sewers of DC, Maryland, and Virginia. I also learned that DC Water treats sewage from Maryland and Virginia as well as DC. My co-workers – more... were friendly and helpful and the managers were always there for guidance. The hardest part of the job was managing the wastewater samples. The most enjoyable part of the job was the time I spent with my co-workers, working on an assignment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Billing Analyst/Commercial Care Associate (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 4, 2014
Pros: christmas parties
This was a wonderful company to be employed with. Understanding and let your skills lead you to increase and advancements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Sewer Investigator (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Handled customer sewer complaints. Dealt with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Project Controls Engineer (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: friendly place
Cons: too many boss's
It has a good staff and will work again there

They need a smart managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work customer friendly high quality
water service worker (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 23, 2013
busy daily constant calls to respond to complaints. great place to work coworkers very knowledgeable and helpful. the hardest part of job is not being able to solve all problems of customers to save them money on costly repairs. most enjoyable is we I can solve customer issues and hey in turn call my job to say job well done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Emergency Response Dispatcher (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 30, 2013
Cons: needs to allocate more education funding
A typical day for me is very fast paced with a daily opportunity for learning new things and more importantly I learned the value of PATIENCE :-)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with the company
Utility System Operator (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 24, 2013
I learning a lot about plant and gardening. Management is great, my co-workers and I give a team effort. The hardest part of the day is being in the sun. The enjoyable part of the day is knowing you have satisfied customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn new technology.
Electrical Equipment Repairman (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 1, 2013
Pros: great chance for career
Cons: until stable in perminant position, subject to removal
DC Water was a great place to advance and learn new technology in an industrial environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always expanding and developing tech.
Electrical Equipment Repairman (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 28, 2013
Consistant upgrades to be competitive with change in industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits. Lack of advancement.
Lead Dispatcher/ Map Captain (Current Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 25, 2013
This position has overall responsibilities for ensuring technicians are deployed according to the Dispatch Resource Center recommended schedule to meet business and operational needs. Provide complete support to field operations in all matters pertaining to scheduling, manpower, deployment, communications, commitments, and district departmental objectives. – more... Effective management of installations and maintenance work request and managing day to day operational issues and ensuring that resolution of issued are done in a timely manner. Utilize strong collaboration and interpersonal skills. Manage multiple tasks simultaneously. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative workplace, race and union battles
Ex-consultant (Former Employee), WashingtonJanuary 11, 2013
Cons: safety director is consider by the staff and others as a toxic leader
Terrible management.
It would be a terrible waste of your valuable time to apply for this position. Speaking as a prior consultant, DC Water safety culture and leadership are horrific.

Warn against applying. Position is geared for in-house employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dc wasa
Customer Service Notifier (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 14, 2012
easy to work with im a team leadervery good job learned a lot and im easty to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prductive and fun place to work.
Warehouse Foreman (Current Employee), Washington DCDecember 10, 2012
Pros: co-workers and working close to home
Cons: adjusting to the pace of government.
Determine part availability, reorder quantities, and estimated delivery dates. Always maintain communications with primary and secondary vendors.
Management always provides support in all areas to ensure the job gets done and our customers are supported. Staff are briefed weekly on goals, expectations and success in order to create a team atmosphere. – more... The hardest part of the job is rising to the occasion of the next challenge. Satified customers, goals met and exceeded are the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporart Work, with great Potential
Administrative Assistant III (40hr) (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 31, 2012
Pros: schedual, location, pay, co-workers
Cons: length of contract
Great experience, Management was great, facilities were above par.
Learned a lot about Gov't Contracting. Didn't have much experience processing contracts but I did assist in majority of the contracts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management team
Operations Analyst/Intern (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 23, 2012
Nice place to work with team and morale building environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment fast pace so you are never bored
Teller Lead (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 27, 2012
Pros: great staff
Cons: n/a
Working for DC Water and Sewer Authority was nice it was accessible to the train system and easy to get too. My schedule was convenient as well.

About DC Water

DC Water distributes drinking water and collects and treats wastewater for more than 600,000 residential, commercial and governmental – Read more

DC Water Photos