DCH HEALTH SYSTEM Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, not so great pay or leadership
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMarch 20, 2017
slow to change but trying to get there. family atmosphere because of employees, not because of leadership in most areas/units. most leaders truly do care about patients; other care more about their bonus. think hard before taking a job here. if you want a family to work with, this is your place. if you want good management or decent pay, keep looking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
PCA/Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMarch 9, 2017
They will back stab you in a heart beat no matter how much you do for them they just care about them selves heave my warning and stay far far away from chaos
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
EVS Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALFebruary 22, 2017
It's a good place to work at especially, if you are going into the medical field. You can always start from the bottom and work your way up the ladder because there are great fields and training that you can learn on the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Assistant Teacher (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 3, 2017
Productive place teamwork is very important on a day to day basis, Great managers and good co workers. Mangament is great and good people to work for long term
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OKay health system
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALDecember 21, 2016
Not a typical health system that one would like to start a career job. Nice pay and nice benefits to make up for conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, well-organized facility.
PCA Personal Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northport, ALNovember 9, 2016
As a patient care assistant my typical duties include taking hospital patients' temperature, blood pressure, pulse, and respiration; assisting patients with basic tasks, such as bathing, dressing, and eating; collecting specimens for lab tests; monitoring patients; and recording the patients' progress. This job has been incredibly rewarding and educational and I have loved the time I have worked for this facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
activities for patients and singings for the patient as well
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fayette, ALOctober 3, 2016
In all the facility is a great place to be and to work as long as your priorities are where they should be. The work is hard,but is worth it in the end if you care about the people you take care of and if you enjoy what you do. I believe it is a place to grow and advance yourself and it is a great facility as far as the patients and what your job requires of you. The big down fall is that the co_workers and other staff are lazy and do not do thier jobs and do not want to help others. It seemed as if they wanted tou to do their work for them but didnt want to hold out a helping hand untill state came about, and also put more effort into making other co-workers lives miserable and make it hard for others, i believe that if it wasnt for the co-workers that made everyone else miserable that dch would have been the best place to work.
Pros
dont have to stay over if you don't want to
Cons
not enough employees to help with work load
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
referred all the time to dch and surgeons
formerC.R.N.A. (Former Employee) –  Tuscalooosa DCHSeptember 1, 2016
chief anesthetists should be in a room giving anesthesia paper work could be handled by secretary's i was an anesthetist there formany years tried to go back as a R.N. and was not hired due to weight lift requirements this is discrimination
Pros
free lunches occ
Cons
short breaks unappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Fayette, ALAugust 29, 2016
I go in & set up Scope cases that i'm assigned to for the shift. I go to sterile supply run the autoclave. I do the washer test. Then go back & wait for the Surgeon to start my 1st case. After the case I clean my scope at bedside before putting in the evotech.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the medical field
Clerical Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJuly 18, 2016
This job was right up my alley. I love the medical field, so this job fit me to a tee. You never knew what you were in for when you got to work. It could be slow or you could have it all go crazy in a matter of seconds.
Pros
fast paced and medicine
Cons
DCH made a lot of changes and tired of working 11-7
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Unit Secretary/Patient Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJuly 1, 2016
An employer who allows you ample advancement opportunities. Pay is good with prior experience. A long term employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivers Needed Care to West Alabama
Staff Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 25, 2016
Comprehensive, Quality Medical Care to population of West Alabama Region regardless of ability to pay.

Was able to do a lot of different things in my job that I may have been able to do elsewhere.

On pharmacy council, performed pharmacokinetic consults, medication reconciliation consults, interacted closely with medical staff.
Pros
Job Enrichment
Was this review helpful?Yes16No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here!!! This place is a horrible place to work
Floor Technician (Current Employee) –  Fayette, ALDecember 17, 2015
management in ALL areas are horrible and have UN experienced workers. they show favertisim to people and are completely unfair to workers. do not check new employees work history for truthfulness and just a overall horrible place to work
Pros
non
Cons
poor managment and directors, not a fair workplace, not enough pay for work expected, show favertisim, and do not check and review new employees work history
Was this review helpful?Yes34No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Nurse Manager (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALNovember 26, 2015
Enjoy spending time with patients and families. My job consist of daily rounding of employees and patients to ensure patients are receiving efficient care in a safe and productive manner
Was this review helpful?Yes6No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Department Secretary (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 15, 2015
* A typical day at work consisted of answering multiple phone lines, taking linen orders from different departments and facilities, filing, faxing, emailing customers, and downloading handheld equipment with daily linen orders
* I learned a lot about the medical field and departments
* Management was helpful and kind but lacked in the training area
* Co-workers were friendly
* The hardest part of the job was the lack of communication among co-workers
* The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the different departments and staff while learning about the medical field
Pros
Benefits package
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes41No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my co-workers its a great environment to be around.
PCA (Patient Care Assistant) (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 19, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Its not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. I enjoy my staff they are always supportive in everything I do.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Assist guest (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALOctober 3, 2014
Every day is different than the other. You meet different people from all walks of life, young and old. A day never goes by when someone comes to you and says, I love coming to this hospital. That lets me know that myself is doing right everyday when working. The most filling part of my day is when I get a compliment on my customer service. That what makes me get through my day.
Pros
THE WORK ENVIROMENT.
Cons
GOOD FOOD IN THE CAFETERIA AND THE SPECIAL SALES
Was this review helpful?Yes79No24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJuly 17, 2013
On this particular day I had a lot of discharges which customers was leaving going home and rooms was coming back to back to be clean and I couldn't have no one to help me because management do not believe in team work, which their are co workers who wants to help but can't because they are scared they will get discipline because they didn't get permission to help me with my discharges, theres nothing hard about the job, and the enjoyment part about my job is that I did my job and complete my assignments but at the same time it was neat and clean.
Was this review helpful?Yes86No22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned a lot from my current job.
Support Tech II, Information Services (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 26, 2013
Really enjoyed my coworkers and bosses. I have learned the ins and out about the Healthcare industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes35No29Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unit Secretary/ Aneasthesia Asst
Unit Secretary/PCT/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 19, 2013
Great company to work for job has great stability and abililties of advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No25Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DCH HEALTH SYSTEM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7

DCH HEALTH SYSTEM Reviews by Location