DCH Regional Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Janitorial work. Nothing too special.
Environmental Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 23, 2014
Got me through college and met alot of good people while working there. Things kind of fell apart under new management towards to the end of my time there. Most of my co-workers resigned and found new jobs.
Pros
Evening shift. Autonomy.
Cons
No room for advancement. Bad management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Phlebotomist/Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 12, 2014
I learned and became a certified phlebotomist through DCH and thoroughly enjoyed working with each individual patient
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my co-workers
distribution tech (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 12, 2014
Deliver supplies to all areas of the hospital, build orders for the next shift to deliver and for the day shift to delve. Also made sure the perfusion cart was stocked for the O.R. the hardest part was dealing with the nurses who couldn't understand that it was just me down in the warehouse trying to do what 6 people on dayshift did. The most enjoyable part was knowing that i was helping the patients that i took the items too.
Pros
long breaks, good pay
Cons
long hours and worked late on weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place to work.
Information Service Analyst (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALDecember 7, 2013
A typical day at work was trying to help the DCH Health System with computer application issues from a support role. In addition, I helped build EMRs.

As a Computer Analyst, I learned many computer applications. In addition, they taught me how to deal with different personalities in a profession manner.

The management is supportive and encourages advancement within DCH Health System.

The hardest part was when I wasn't able to help a customer immediately. I had to learn that if I didn't know the answer then I needed to find a way to help them.

The most enjoyable part of my job was helping people and learning something new everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work because we are careing for others
Patient Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALNovember 12, 2013
Working at DCH is like working from home and it's just a bunch of people there helping you to care for people that in some ways become like your family. The only difference is that they leav.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fast paced level 2 Trauma Center
ED Staff RN (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 19, 2013
Staff, occasionally Charge RN for 3-11 shift, providing emergency care and treatment of patients of all ages. TNCC, ACLS, PALS certified at this time
Pros
Enjoyed the variety of patients served
Cons
Long hours of providing critical services
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place were people care about you and go out of there way to help you
CNA (Former Employee) –  6 SOUTH WESTSeptember 18, 2013
There are good days and bad days.I have learned alot from working in a hospital,it is very emotional sometimesbut i stay strong because it is important to be focused on what you are doing.I love working with patients that need care,i will go out of my way for them.
Pros
Meeting different people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Staff Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 4, 2013
This organization helped me helped me grow as a pharmacist.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evs attendant
EVS Attendant (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALSeptember 3, 2013
This is a great place to work. They train you for areas of improvement and advancement. Loved my job did not like my supervisors. The pay was way too low
Pros
Great Company to work for
Cons
Supervisors made it harder for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement
EVS Attendant (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, AlabamaAugust 1, 2013
Supervisors made it difficult to apply for other positions within the facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for!!!
Supervisor, Phlebotomy Department (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 25, 2013
Patient focused, company oriented, and love the work and the people. I received quality training to be successful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 2, 2013
DCH is very caring medical center. I thoroughly enjoyed the 4 years I worked there. I went from Critical Care to Post Surgical Floor to Recovery Room. I had great managers at each and great nursing staff to work with. I learned too many things to mention but the RN's were very interested in teaching LPN's to do many different procedures and better charting techniques, and excellent patient care. The staff helped each other for a real team effect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly changing from day to day
Staff RN (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALDecember 28, 2012
We had a group who were very team oriented. When time permitted, we all knew that help was there.

It was fast paced and ever changing, which I tend to excel during these times.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
very little time for breaks or lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at DCH
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALDecember 15, 2012
This was a great company to work for. Great supervisors and just an overall wonderful place to work.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Jr. Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, AlNovember 27, 2012
This hospital is one of the best in Alabama next to UAB Medical Center. They provide the best care to you when you come and they make sure that you are well before you are released.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supply Logistics Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALOctober 11, 2012
fun enviroment
work at your on pace
great management
the hardest part was stocking top shelves
Pros
the work hours
Cons
stocking fliud racks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
LPN, Garden House Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Northport, ALAugust 3, 2012
Overall a great place to work for graduating nurses. Not very pleased with the salary of an LPN. Pleased with the management staff & worked well with fellow employess.
Pros
lunch can be charged to badge, flexible schedule, extra shifts available
Cons
pay too low for position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place that is full of resources .
ED Registrar (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALApril 22, 2012
I enjoyed working there. It allowed me to explore a new area that I was not as familiar with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed worker with old people
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALApril 11, 2012
A typical day at work
> assising patient with daily care, such as bath hygiene, clean patient bedding ect.

While working at the hosptial I got to met all kinds of people
The hardest part of my job watching someone my age die
Pros
great over time
Cons
lack of team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive, Very fun workplace
Lab Assistant- Duties (Current Employee) –  Tuscaloosa,ALApril 10, 2012
A typical day is seeing more than 200 plus patients in an 8hr period. DCH Outpatient Lab is a fun place to work. We care very much about our patients and each other. We feel very strongly about Customer Service and treating our patients the way we want to be treated. We strive for 5 everyday. Management is great; Co-workers are great! We can't ask for a better group of people to work with and for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DCH Regional Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7

DCH Regional Medical Center Reviews by Location