Dean Foods Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Route Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Bangor, MEOctober 24, 2017
Bad management.Compensation is good,benefits are good.The vehicles provided to complete your job are very unsatisfactory,Managers not willing to help you when there is a problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Picker (Former Employee) –  City Industry, CAOctober 18, 2017
Time is running fast..
follow GMP`S rules.
teamworkers.
the hardest part of the job is complete orders on time.
concentrate on the job ,
clean working area at day finish.
Pros
break times
Cons
good health care plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management creates a very low morale in employees.
Quality Assurance Technician (Current Employee) –  Homewood, ALOctober 18, 2017
Management forsake quality for production numbers. Standard procedures are not followed. The rules change depending on egos and attitudes.I could go on......
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Hostile work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced environment with many moving parts
Regional Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 13, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is that I work in a fast paced environment. I learn something new every day. The hardest part of the job is getting everyone aligned to complete a task.
Pros
fast paced environment
Cons
lack of ledership
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Great Management
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Union, NJOctober 10, 2017
Still the highest rated place to work for me as far as skilled co workers and top notch management. if the pay was better I might have never left. Would consider returning there.
Pros
Great Co workers, The company had it together
Cons
Not great pay, not enough overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No family time
Local Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 2, 2017
I was a truck driver for dean foods and the pay is really not that great. I really didn't have any time for family because I was always at work. They will work you hard and take up all of your family time if you let them.
Pros
i don"t know
Cons
No family time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dean Foods
Lead Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 2, 2017
Dean Foods is a dairy conglomerate. The focus is on reducing costs. The department I belonged to had no area of growth or advancement. Workplace culture was strong and was involved in the community.
Pros
Workplace culture.
Cons
Poor pay compared with industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with top notch accommodations
Logistics Assistant/Route Settlement (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 28, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Dean Foods working as a Contractor under the Randstad agency. I would have loved to be a full time employee with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
IT Asset & Budget Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 25, 2017
Dean Foods is an interesting place to work. There is a lot of dysfunction between the IT department and the rest of the company. I am wanting something closer to home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers where helpful
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Decatur, INSeptember 23, 2017
The job didn't pay very well for the distance I had to drive Monday through Friday and I felt like it was a was of time. The people I worked with though were all nice and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay just bad management they look more to fire instead of helping others out
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 20, 2017
Cooler manager wants worker to have little to no time outside of the cooler when it's a lot of down time so there's time where work is not being down but they recommend you stay inside a 33 degree temperature
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Key Account Manager (Current Employee) –  IowaSeptember 19, 2017
Would not recommend, top management know nothing about the dairy business.
Hired people from outside that ruined company.
Enjoyed spending time with the customers I called on.
The accounts I called on were up over double digits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for Dean Foods!!!!!!
Accounts Receivable Deduction Clerk (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, TNSeptember 19, 2017
This is the best place that I have ever worked!!! The people are great and the working conditions are as well!! I would highly recommend a job at this business!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical manufacturing environment
Mechanic and Production Foreman (Former Employee) –  Hortonville, WISeptember 18, 2017
It was work. Lots of autonomy, lots of hours, lots of variation. Everyone did their job and the focus for 6 months is production. In the off season its a skeleton crew and you fix/change what you can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summary is below
Route Driver - Independently (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 18, 2017
I enjoyed working for Bordens. . I retired in 2014. A typical day started at 3:30 am to 12:00. My truck was loaded with product the night before by me and I delivered milk on my route which was all of the Norman, Oklahoma schools. I learned to work under stress and being my own boss. Management was very fair to each employee when you did your job. Culture was good. I get along with everyone. The repetitious lifting 33 lbs per crate of milk. I loved my hours and had a lot of freedom.
Pros
cooked out......lunch on Fridays, and had contests
Cons
safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for!
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  City Industry, CASeptember 16, 2017
I've been working at Dean foods since February 2015. Pay, benefits and the job itself are very good. Only reason I would change snider leaving is to relocate to a less expensive place to live.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Split days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant Closure?
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Homewood, ALSeptember 12, 2017
Plant manager threatens supervisors on a daily basis with local plant closer if KPI's are not met. Over the top micro-management, for example during all shifts the supervisor must text all those on the management team hourly updates via text and text when a machine goes down and when it comes up. I feel the supervisors are "data" collectors and not allowed to lead his/her team.
Pros
honestly none.
Cons
Will pay a lot for your health care if you have family members, Mico-Management at its finest, no vertical/horizantal communication..it's strickly top - down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, poor salary
Packer/Sorter (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHSeptember 11, 2017
Did not receive promised compensation or bonuses. Stressful work environment, little to no teamwork. Poorly maintained machines expected to run at maximum speeds making jobs more stressful and less productive creating a hostile work environment.
Pros
paid lunches and breaks
Cons
paid into union but was told that they would not work for me if needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sorry place
Supervisor/ Driver (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 5, 2017
stay away. hours are long, they don't appreciate hard work but expect it. a typical work day last abt 15 hours. you are not trusted, they will always believe the customer over u. no job morale, no structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked it but left for what i though was a better job
Maintenance Engineer Tec (Former Employee) –  Belvidere, ILSeptember 2, 2017
didnt like 2nd shift i am a early riser great place to work mannag was fair the only thing is that parts were slow in comeing that is all i have to say
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dean Foods Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 305 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0