Find companies:
Dean Foods Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
78 reviews

Dean Foods Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and clean workplace
shipping and receiving, misc. (Former Employee), Evart, MIDecember 30, 2013
Family atmosphere among the workers, entertaining at times. Productive workplace with each knowing and doing their jobs, easing the workload for others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable industry and great place to work.
Merchandiser Sales Representative (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 9, 2013
Great customers and excellent product. Have learned a lot about sales and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Supply Chain Manager (Current Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 28, 2013
Cons: few opportunities for career advancement
Work environment allows you to balance work/home life. Management is very flexible and keeps an open line of communication. The people in the work place are fantastic and genuinely care about what they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merchandiser job. Part time job. Nothing special.
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Athens, TNOctober 26, 2013
Pros: nice schedule if you need weekdays off.
Cons: no benefits, pay increase, etc.
Worked for Dean Foods as a Merchandiser. During the year and a half I was there, ten to twelve other people came through this position. This is a part time job. No benefits, no pay increases, no security. They treat this job as just that. A job that is unimportant and the people easily replaceable. Management lets all responsibilities roll down the – more... hill, and this job is at the bottom. The only plus with this job is the hours. You only work about 24 hours a week, on weekends. EVERY Saturday AND Sunday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work and workforce was fun
Credit &Collections Support (Former Employee), Franklin Park, ILOctober 22, 2013
Pros: free ice cream
Cons: it was only temp job
Customer Service, administrative due in and out going call general clerical work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Territory Sales Representative (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 7, 2013
Pros: company car, bonuses if you hit plan.
Cons: to many hours expected, to many accounts.
To many share holders. They run the company. no job security. Someone has to retire in order to move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Shreveport, LASeptember 2, 2013
Great Company to work for.. hardest part of my job was seeing the plant Close..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team of people
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Homewood, ALAugust 12, 2013
able to work with freedom, good team of people, able to teach the workers I supervise, ability to move up in position, hours are not the best
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average work enviroment
Cost Accountant (Current Employee), Sharpsville, PAAugust 12, 2013
average work environment
the most enjoyable part of the job was working with the production facilities and knowing that I was helping them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
HRIS Analyst (Former Employee), Irving, TXJuly 29, 2013
Inserted data within the peopl-soft system.
Research errors in changed in peoplesoft system.
Ran SQL report for customers.
The hardest part of the job was ensure employee's data was researched input in system correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but Depot in Temple Tx highly unorganized
Route driver (Current Employee), Temple TxJuly 16, 2013
Pros: free milk good pay good benefits
Cons: poor managment
Great co workers great pay Managment team pretty much stunk. Had to go over their head to get stuff done. And even the higher ups were about as useless as well. Not organized what so ever
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work/Life balance
Senior Distribution Engineer (Current Employee), Franklin Park, ILJuly 16, 2013
Typical day is from a desk

I learned much about distribution and transportation

Managers were fair

My co-workers were pleasant to be around

Hardest part of the job is the travel

Most enjoyable part of the job are the relationships you build with the field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment, employee creativity encouraged
Administrative Assistant to VP of IT (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 1, 2013
I had an amazing experience at Dean Foods. It was a real relaxed enviroment where each employee is encouraged to speak up and let their opinions be heard. The management was probably one of the best I have ever worked with and the co- workers were great. Everyone always greeted each other with a smile. Most enjoyable part of this experieience was the – more... fact that I could make my suggestinos and they were actually heard and implemented. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Occupational Injury Benefits Coordinator (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJune 14, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: layoffs
Great place to work with good benefits. with good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Relations Representative (Former Employee), Lynn, MAJune 12, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job was the people that I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMay 31, 2013
We are always busy which makes the shift go by fast. The people are fun and friendly which makes going to work fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job Stability
Class A Truck Driver (Former Employee), Hayward, Ca.May 20, 2013
Pros: pay/union job
Cons: very unstable/bad upper management
I worked 5 years for Berkeley Farms in Hayward California as a Class A Truck Driver. Berkeley Farms was the top milk company in Northern California for a long time. After Dean Foods bought the company in 1998 it started slowly declining. Now the company struggles to compete with every other milk company. Dean Foods/Berkeley Farms can not get their price – more... down to win bids on new accounts or keep their existing accounts. Since i was there only 5 years i witnessed them lose their 2 biggest accounts (7/11 and Walmart) which caused a massive lay off, amongst other smaller accounts have left, and they're struggling to keep their other large accounts. And yes efficient employees do NOT get rewarded by the company, the worst employees who should be fired for safety violations etc but make themselves useful to management by snitching on everyone are the only people who get rewarded. This company lays off a lot and is struggling to compete with cheaper milk companies. You've been advised – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere, good support
Area Account Representative (Former Employee), Houston TexasMay 9, 2013
Ability to work independently to grow business, control pricing and secure business with independent restaurants, local chain restaurants, national chain operators.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employee workforce and excellent place to work
Director (Current Employee), Dallas / ChicagoMay 8, 2013
Pros: best group of people i've ever worked with
Cons: difficult operating environment subject to frequent restructuring
Great employee workforce. The biggest challenge is simply due to the space that Deans operates in. Dairy consumption is generally flat to declining and, as a result, the company is frequently subject to significant cost cutting and restructuring initiatives. Job security is frequently uncertain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and friendly environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Rochester, INMay 1, 2013
Pros: benefits, management, comraderie
Cons: hours, extensive overtime
I enjoyed very much the people I worked with. Each day began and ended in the same manner of cooperation from both management and other coworkers. My sadness in leaving was the lack of advancement opportunities. With raising a young family, the hours needed to make both a career and family run smoothly were not available. Had I been able to move to – more... day shift I would have loved to continue on. – less