Find companies:
Deb Shops
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
113 reviews

Deb Shops Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Goodlettesville, TNOctober 27, 2014
I earned my management experience here. Great women & men to work with..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Dayton, OhioOctober 17, 2014
Pros: workers, pay, discount
Cons: one person coverage, markdowns without scan guns
I didn't mind working there but sometimes it got out of hand. They wanted single coverage in mornings in my high volume store which was also a target store in the top 10 store with highest shrink in the company. Um no. Upper management always left, the time I worked there we went through 3 different presidents of the company and I had no idea who was – more... working at corporate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Store Manager (Former Employee), dallas txOctober 6, 2014
work life balance does not exist, staffing is unacceptable overall conditions of stores are disgusting, no sensors in some stores, ridiculous, worst place I have ever worked and took it off my resume
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place and you have oppurtunities to go higher up in the company.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bay City, MIOctober 6, 2014
Pros: being able to advance in the company.
Cons: only having one manager work on sundays, i was unable to take a break outside the store.
Our management team was great and worked well together. The schedule was flexible and the pay was good too. I learned how to work together as a team, how to manage team members on a daily basis and what it takes to operate a store efficiently. The most enjoyable part was having great co workers to work with daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to advance
Store Manager (Current Employee), PAOctober 2, 2014
Deb is a great place to start if you are new to management. They also love to promote internally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Dalton, GASeptember 17, 2014
Working at Deb is a good start for someone. They will learn the importance of money handling and sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and fast paced.
Cashier (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WISeptember 17, 2014
A typical day at work would be arriving early to counting store tills going to the bank and exchanging currency (if necessary). Opening the store assisting customers with finding items from jeans to prom dresses and shoes. I learned how to multitask and stay on focus to keep the store running smoothly and efficiently. Management was awesome with the – more... guidance and support, my co-workers were great and pleasant giving ideas on fashion and display models. The hardest part was overall just being located in the mall and solely being a female sales store. The most enjoyable thing about my job was the ability to advance in the work ladder. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run baby Run
District Manager (Former Employee), Denver, CoAugust 19, 2014
Since I have left the company it has only gotten worse! There is no vision for the company, they have no idea what they are doing, their best bet is that they try to mimic all other junior apparel retailers. Their processes are laborious and outdated. They have no idea what teens want. I would avoid this company like the plague.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place, warm cultural
Store Manager (Current Employee), Sandusky, OHAugust 13, 2014
Pros: bonus, store competitions and company incentives
Banking Procedures
Customer Service
Conference calls
Freight
Shrink
Inventory Control
Run Register
Fitting Room Servicing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun workplace with great coworkers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Auburn, WAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, amazing coworkers
Cons: short breaks, not enough time to eat during a 4 or 5 hour shift
A typical day at work would be to come in about 10 minutes before your shift starts and put your stuff away in your locker in the backroom. At the time the shift starts I would clock in and talk to whoever was the DOD (Deb On Duty). They would direct me to whether I would be on register or not and if I would be working on shipment. Greeting every customer – more... who walks through the door and making sure that they find what they need and close out the sale with an accurate transaction. When its time for me to clock out I would alert a manager and let them know and would release my till if I was put on and make sure go backs are done and everything is organized. I would grab my stuff from my locker, clock out, and a manager would check my bag and then I would go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job I would have again
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Saugus, MAJuly 9, 2014
Typical day would include cleaning, restocking and remarking products
I did not learn anything new from this job
Management was controlling, pushy, and dysfunctional
I enjoyed some of the co-workers I had. Usually did not interact due to over tasking
The hardest part was dealing with over stock and cleaning the store making sure everything was in it – more... correct place
The most enjoyable part about this job was when new scenes would arrive – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company Management and High Turn Over Rate in all positions!
Store Manager (Former Employee), IllinoisJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good discount 40% off
Cons: workload is strenuous and unrealistic. company does not train its employees properly.
This company has gone down completely within my years 6 of working there. They are scraping to maintain and investing in quality employees is NOT a priority for them. If you don't mind working 50-60 hours for 40 hours pay have at it!! Good Luck to you!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with an awesome team
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Cleveland, TNJuly 2, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, know they leave with a smile
Cons: that 1customer you just can, t satisfy
i go to work leading an awesome team of ladies that really dedicate themselves to the customers. we meet new people daily , it really brings a smile to my face when they walk in not really knowing what they want but we get them to step outside their comfort zone and put that outfit together that they just love..to see them leave with a smile to hear – more... them say i made their day because they had an awesome shopping experience.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deb Shops
Cashier/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kokomo, INJuly 1, 2014
Deb Shops was the most enjoyable retail jobs I had ever had. I learned to handle difficult situations with customers. My management team was amazing and were always willing to talk when you needed them. The hardest part of the job was trying to become acquainted with the terminology. I enjoyed my coworkers and the fun we had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a great company to work for.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Blaine, MNJune 8, 2014
This is a great company to work for. The training is one of the best ive had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Key Holder/Sales Leader (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 5, 2014
Deb Shops was my very first job and I loved every minute of it. I've gained so much experience and learned so much from my team. They promoted me within a year and I took my experience and found a better opportunity a year later. Deb is a great company to work for, and a perfect first job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horible Place to work!
Sales (Former Employee), New HampshireMay 25, 2014
Pros: nothing!
Cons: everything!
I worked only 5 hr. shifts.Standing in front of the store spraying stinky perfume to angry customers. I had to clock out to use the restroom. I was never given a break. The manager was an unbearable angry troll, who treated her employees with disrespect.
The pay was garbage below minimum wage. They wanted you to wear the clothes in order to fit in. – more... The clothes were trashy! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the fashion life, appearance is key
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Comstock Park, MIMay 21, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: no benefits
I love working with fashion, when people first see me they think I'm materialistic but i just like to look good, because when you look good you feel good right? I've learned there's many different type of trends and I like to work with people to see what their idea of fashion is. Some people like to look casual, sexy, or comfortable.Working at Debs – more... was a fun experience. It was like my second home, I was usually there if I wasn't working. I started off as a Sales Associate and then a year later became an Assistant Manager. I was there for about three good years. Working with all girls can be a struggle at times, but I made some really good friends working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly workplace, with some small problems
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Auburn, WAMay 15, 2014
Pros: great team members, great environment, friendly management
Cons: unstable hours, no growth opportunities
On a daily basis it was so fun coming into work. All of the other associates were so amazing, and friendly. Some of the managers needed a little growth, and then they would have gotten 5 stars in my review. If I wasn't seasonal I'm sure they would have liked to keep me on the team, and I would have gladly stayed. The hardest part for me was to figure – more... out a way to deal with unreasonable customers. It got easier over time, and with more experience. My best memory with this company, was our yearly inventory night. That night we all really got close, and got to know each other and it did not seem like a 16 hour shift at the end of the night. It was such a great, welcoming, friendly environment, one that I want to look for again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
asst manager
Asst Store Manager (Former Employee), Lansing, MIMay 6, 2014
very good job helping customers is what I like to do. asst in stock running register and ordering product. had a lot of turn overs but other then that is was a nice place to work manager was okay we changed managers a lot so not really able to set up a like or dislike about none.

1 2 3 4 5