Find companies:
Deb Shops
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
105 reviews

Deb Shops Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place, warm cultural
Store Manager (Current Employee), Sandusky, OHAugust 13, 2014
Pros: bonus, store competitions and company incentives
Banking Procedures
Customer Service
Conference calls
Freight
Shrink
Inventory Control
Run Register
Fitting Room Servicing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun workplace with great coworkers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Auburn, WAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, amazing coworkers
Cons: short breaks, not enough time to eat during a 4 or 5 hour shift
A typical day at work would be to come in about 10 minutes before your shift starts and put your stuff away in your locker in the backroom. At the time the shift starts I would clock in and talk to whoever was the DOD (Deb On Duty). They would direct me to whether I would be on register or not and if I would be working on shipment. Greeting every customer – more... who walks through the door and making sure that they find what they need and close out the sale with an accurate transaction. When its time for me to clock out I would alert a manager and let them know and would release my till if I was put on and make sure go backs are done and everything is organized. I would grab my stuff from my locker, clock out, and a manager would check my bag and then I would go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job I would have again
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Saugus, MAJuly 9, 2014
Typical day would include cleaning, restocking and remarking products
I did not learn anything new from this job
Management was controlling, pushy, and dysfunctional
I enjoyed some of the co-workers I had. Usually did not interact due to over tasking
The hardest part was dealing with over stock and cleaning the store making sure everything was in it – more... correct place
The most enjoyable part about this job was when new scenes would arrive – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company Management and High Turn Over Rate in all positions!
Store Manager (Former Employee), IllinoisJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good discount 40% off
Cons: workload is strenuous and unrealistic. company does not train its employees properly.
This company has gone down completely within my years 6 of working there. They are scraping to maintain and investing in quality employees is NOT a priority for them. If you don't mind working 50-60 hours for 40 hours pay have at it!! Good Luck to you!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with an awesome team
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Cleveland, TNJuly 2, 2014
Pros: meeting new people, know they leave with a smile
Cons: that 1customer you just can, t satisfy
i go to work leading an awesome team of ladies that really dedicate themselves to the customers. we meet new people daily , it really brings a smile to my face when they walk in not really knowing what they want but we get them to step outside their comfort zone and put that outfit together that they just love..to see them leave with a smile to hear – more... them say i made their day because they had an awesome shopping experience.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deb Shops
Cashier/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kokomo, INJuly 1, 2014
Deb Shops was the most enjoyable retail jobs I had ever had. I learned to handle difficult situations with customers. My management team was amazing and were always willing to talk when you needed them. The hardest part of the job was trying to become acquainted with the terminology. I enjoyed my coworkers and the fun we had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a great company to work for.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Blaine, MNJune 8, 2014
This is a great company to work for. The training is one of the best ive had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Key Holder/Sales Leader (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 5, 2014
Deb Shops was my very first job and I loved every minute of it. I've gained so much experience and learned so much from my team. They promoted me within a year and I took my experience and found a better opportunity a year later. Deb is a great company to work for, and a perfect first job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horible Place to work!
Sales (Former Employee), New HampshireMay 25, 2014
Pros: nothing!
Cons: everything!
I worked only 5 hr. shifts.Standing in front of the store spraying stinky perfume to angry customers. I had to clock out to use the restroom. I was never given a break. The manager was an unbearable angry troll, who treated her employees with disrespect.
The pay was garbage below minimum wage. They wanted you to wear the clothes in order to fit in. – more... The clothes were trashy! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the fashion life, appearance is key
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Comstock Park, MIMay 21, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: no benefits
I love working with fashion, when people first see me they think I'm materialistic but i just like to look good, because when you look good you feel good right? I've learned there's many different type of trends and I like to work with people to see what their idea of fashion is. Some people like to look casual, sexy, or comfortable.Working at Debs – more... was a fun experience. It was like my second home, I was usually there if I wasn't working. I started off as a Sales Associate and then a year later became an Assistant Manager. I was there for about three good years. Working with all girls can be a struggle at times, but I made some really good friends working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly workplace, with some small problems
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Auburn, WAMay 15, 2014
Pros: great team members, great environment, friendly management
Cons: unstable hours, no growth opportunities
On a daily basis it was so fun coming into work. All of the other associates were so amazing, and friendly. Some of the managers needed a little growth, and then they would have gotten 5 stars in my review. If I wasn't seasonal I'm sure they would have liked to keep me on the team, and I would have gladly stayed. The hardest part for me was to figure – more... out a way to deal with unreasonable customers. It got easier over time, and with more experience. My best memory with this company, was our yearly inventory night. That night we all really got close, and got to know each other and it did not seem like a 16 hour shift at the end of the night. It was such a great, welcoming, friendly environment, one that I want to look for again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
asst manager
Asst Store Manager (Former Employee), Lansing, MIMay 6, 2014
very good job helping customers is what I like to do. asst in stock running register and ordering product. had a lot of turn overs but other then that is was a nice place to work manager was okay we changed managers a lot so not really able to set up a like or dislike about none.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEApril 29, 2014
good no issues it was a job............................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Fashion forward
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Mansfield, OHApril 23, 2014
Pros: fast paced enviroment
Cons: management, policy breaking, company bullying
I loved working with associates and being busy constantly. The downfall was the constant policy breaking and bullying I witnessed going on. I watched more than one associate being bullied by another manager and this was also reported to the district manager and nothing came of it. More than one associate quite because of the same manager. Policy breaking – more... was an everyday occurrence. I wanted no part of this and thats why I left voluntarily due to this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kind of boring
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Roseville, MIApril 16, 2014
Pros: convenient
Cons: boring
This deb is at a strip center so it was never really too busy. I enjoyed that it was close to home and i had a great balance of work, school and social life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 14, 2014
Pros: you get to be creative by putting together display outfits
Cons: they don't allow any breaks without clocking out
When I found a new job, I put in my two-weeks notice, and wanted to finish them so that I could still have an income while I was waiting to start my new job. My manager told me it wasn't necessary and that she found someone to cover my shifts. I asked her if she would still record that I finished, since I really wanted to, and she said she would, so – more... that I would also have a good job reference. A couple years later, I applied to get a part-time job there again, but they refused to hire me, saying that I never put in or finished my two weeks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, there is always something to do
assistant manager (Current Employee), Roseville, MIApril 7, 2014
Pros: very flexible, friendly staff
Cons: too much tasking and less customer focused.
The company as a whole has been great to me, but i feel as it is time for me to move on. The company has been making too many changes and is unsure of what customer to sell too. I learned everything through this company and really enjoyed being here for as long as i was and still currently am. This is a very high volume store, but we daily get loads – more... of shipment and constant promotion changes/markdowns with a very limited payroll. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat and fun work place
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Ogden, UTMarch 25, 2014
At debs we focus on customer service. Help customers find items, get them fitting rooms, letting them know about our sales going on, ordering items for them and lots more. At this job I learned patience & leadership skills. The hardest part of this job was the communication between all management. The best part was making new friends and accomplishing – more... daily goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great people
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Westland, MIMarch 22, 2014
Typical day at work will consist of customer service and checking emails. Ensuring that the sales floor is neat, presentable and the current promotion is signed correctly. Training and coaching associates to strengthen them is the most enjoyable part of the job, after assisting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable work enviroment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bangor, MEMarch 5, 2014
The manager was very friendly towards any person who entered the store. I enjoyed the whole store.

1 2 3 4 5