Find companies:
Decatur Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Decatur Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with students
Migrant Aide (Former Employee), Decatur, ARJuly 22, 2014
Pros: working with students and seeing thier progress
Reviewed applicants to assure they qualified for the migrant program. Maintained a caseload of 70 students. Tutored students in areas that needed improvement. Worked with the teachers to assist students with their homework. Worked with students from pre-K to 12th grade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Teacher's Assistant / APR (Current Employee), Decatur, ILJune 18, 2014
Working at a High School is never a dull moment. I have truly enjoyed embracing my co-workers in our common goal to make the environment safe, and conducive for learning to be accomplished. Dealing with the teenagers in this generation can be hard most days, but when you think about the potential that can be reached by them it causes us as educators – more... to stay motivated and passionate fulfilling the daily drive to give our all. The biggest reward is to see the impact that you made in a students life when they are walking successfully in their God given purpose. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive place to work.
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee), Hope AcademyJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: no full-time avaialble
I worked part-time and I enjoyed the students and the staff. Very supportive and easy to communicate with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Giving
Parent Educator (Current Employee), Decatur, ILNovember 16, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: short lunches, and being on call 24/7
Job Description:
Atypical day at work is going on visits with clients and their children that range from 0-5 years of age. Assisting a child and assessing their progress and sharing the information with their family. I have learned as a case manager you can have the highest expectation's for a family, but if they don't want it's not a goal or reachable.
As – more... a parent educator this position conducts investigations of child care in there homes subject to regulation in accordance with the Human Resource Code. Minimum Standards, and agency policies and procedures to determine whether abuse/neglect and/or noncompliance has occurred. The position interacts routinely with Illinois Department of Family and Protective Services staff, representatives from various organizations, and the general
public. Investigates complaints of abuse/neglect in licensed/registered and unregulated facilities. Investigates complaints alleging illegal child care. •Documents findings of investigations and notifies child care providers of findings and any corrective or adverse actions being taken. •Responds to emergency complaints of abuse/neglect in licensed/registered and illegal child care operations. •Performs other duties as assigned and required to maintain unit operations. •Promotes and demonstrates appropriate respect for cultural diversity among coworkers and all work-related contacts. •Attends work regularly in accordance with agency leave policy.

Skill in effective organizational skills. Skill in assertiveness. •Ability to identify violations of law and policies. My co workers and I have case discussions to handle and analyze a clients solution and need of resources. The hardest part of my job is when the resources are out of funds. The best part of my job is assisting families as needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educationally Progressive
Dropout Prevention Coordinator (Current Employee), Decatur, ILAugust 1, 2013
My daily operation include monitoring and evaluation attendance and credits of students in the school buildlings. As a truancy preventionist my duties include home visits, daily phone calls, intervention plans, student and family consultations, development of remediation plans, collaboration with community collaboration partners, collaboration with – more... educational administration to ensure the needs of the students are being met to decrease truancy. Also, it is my responsibilty to create programs that address the social emotional needs of the students. I have created two programs for the Decatur Public School "New Direction" and "Eagle Wings Educational Success Program". These programs addressed the social needs such as conflict resolution, self-awareness, and awareness of environment. I also serve a committee member of 3 teams responsible for the creation of programs conducive to student achievement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a Fun Work Place.
Sub Secretary (Current Employee), Decatur, ILMay 4, 2013
Pros: working with primary to high schools
Cons: not enough hours
I am a Sub Secretary for DPS61. Answering Phones, Helping Students, and assiting with variety of office duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Physical Education Teacher (Former Employee), Decatur, ILDecember 12, 2012
Great district to work for. Had in school administrative support and guidance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed teaching music, history, math, science,and french.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Decatur, ILSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: being able to help educate others
Cons: being in a rigid classroom type education system
I answered the call for work and excepted the assignment, reported to the administration office to sign in and receive orders, greeted the children and began the routine for the day. I ate lunch in the teachers lounge or the cafeteria. The hardest part was knowing I was only there for a short time and getting to know everyone by name. It was very enjoyable – more... being around an environment of learning. – less