Find companies:
Defense Finance and Accounting Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Defense Finance and Accounting Service Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job not much advancement
Military Pay Technician (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 17, 2014
Good place to work, compensation is good based on what you have to do. Opportunity for advancement is very political.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisory
Supervisor (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: maintain positive attitude and effective communication
Cons: lack of training or knowledge
*Challenging and rewarding days at work typically
*Learn to always stay positive
*Most knowledgable and experienced management team
*Best intuitive personnel as co-workers
*Not having the answere for customers in the hardest part of job
*Having the answer for customers in the most enjoyable part of job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complacency reigns supreme
Disbursing-Accounts Maintenance Clerk (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHJanuary 24, 2014
A typical day is long, where are work is frowned upon and innovation is squashed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Financial Accounts Technician (Former Employee), columbus ohioJanuary 9, 2014
It has a wonderful atmosphere and very job friendly. You can work in teams or alone. Everyone has own cubical and phone line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Program Analyst (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Large DoD Finance/Accounting Operation; 11,000+ employees throughout the US. Typical day is spent putting out fires. Learned many many lessons in numerous positions held at the Agency. Looking to broaden my horizons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and demanding with an expectation that an employee can meet production and quality requirements
Supervisor of Military Active and Retired Pay (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 4, 2013
While working for the government there is an expectation of meeting a production and quality requirement for evaluations. These standards extremely attainable. While working for Military and Retired pay I learned how to compute accounts to ensure that the members were receiving the correct pay. Management was interested in teaching the newer employees – more... so that they succeed in expanding their goals. Co-worker were also willing to assist the newer employees so they can succeed at their goals. The hardest and most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with difficult members. The challenge was to solve difficult issues and explaining the solutions to the satisfaction of the member. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Accounting Technician (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOMay 24, 2013
It was a very pleasent place to work. I was employed there for 19+ years. I would still be there about to retire if they had not relocated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security and retirement benefits.
Financial Management Analyst (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHMarch 28, 2013
Learned the government regulations, laws, and procedures involved for auditing and tax season.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and productive place of business.
Contact Representative (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: helpful co-workers.
Cons: short lunch breaks and not being able to become a permanent employee.
I had to answer on average 60 calls a day but exceeded that. I learned that helping others also benefits you. I had very helpful and considerate managers and co-workers. The entire staff would work together as a team to get things done. The hardest part of the job was giving customers bad news and not being able to resolve their issues. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was helping people and making a difference in their life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Call Center Contact Representative (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 15, 2012
Pros: longer lunch hours
Cons: upset customers
We had 1 hour lunches.
Two weeks paid vacation after 6 months
Paid personal days
Paid disability after 1 year
We spoke with people about telephone (landline0 services. We placed orders and discussed bills. The hardest part of the job was trying to upsell while calling to disconnect service due to over due bills. The co-workers were always willing to – more... help the new people. We had each others back.
As a manager I learned what you cannot do for all you do not do for anyone. There is no special treatment or favoritisim. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Military Pay Technician (Former Employee), Fort Dix, NJDecember 9, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours when necessary
Processing soldiers pay - start and stop soldiers pay that are going on or off active duty.
I learned how to work with units with a vast number of soldiers. Great people skills was a primal requirement.
Great coworkers ready to step into eachothers work resposibilities to get the job done when necessary. Great comradery.
Most enjoyable of this job was – more... taking care of the soldiers.
Hardest part was the long hours when vast numbers of units were to be processed.
Management needed a little help with the distribution of responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Financial Management Analyst (Former Employee), Denver, COSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: boring
This was a good first professional job. I was put into a type of management trainee program and was exposed to different areas of the agency. There wasn't a lot of work assigned to me in my roles, therefore, I didn't learn a ton. Hardest part of the job was dealing with day in and day out with nothing to do. Most enjoyable part of the job was the friendships – more... made with co-workers in the same program I was in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Financial Systems Specialist (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 8, 2012
Enjoyed every day working downtown company for over 35 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An OK company to work for
Military Pay Technician (Former Employee), Fort McPherson, GAJuly 31, 2012
The problem with DFAS is that they hire people but do not hold them to standards. I worked with people who obviously did not care about really helping the military with their pay issues and were just sitting around waiting to retire. There were only a few of us who really cared and took the time needed to get problems fixed. Everyone else was just there – more... to collect a check and expected others to do their work. – less

TammyF – December 17, 2012

Pushing people to MYPAY Everyone does not have a computer Everyone is not computer Literate Eldery (some) want nothing to do with a computer High stress enviroment Lunch 1/2 hour not long enough No time to provide good customer service Private sector better vacation, paid disability, personal days and credit issues not held over your head. Pay is sub par and no cola's hard to keep head above water with hospital bills.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there and liked co-workers and manager.
Temporary Voucher Examiner (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 23, 2012
Pros: free parking - flexible hours - conveniently located
Cons: job was temporary
. It was a very pleasant workplace.
. I learned how to organize, balance and file Marine Corp. vouchers.
. My Manager was great and very understanding.
. My co-workers were very helpful and easy to get along with.
. There was nothing hard about the job that I did.
. I really enjoyed everything about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work day
AR and AP Technician: (Current Employee), Columbus, OHApril 19, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: consistency in management
Research and correct all items that did not process through the automated SAP program:

-Run the ZK listing and research and correct postings.

-Research ZJs and correct as needed.

-Research and correct variances.

-Research and respond to customer requests.

I have only worked in the AP area since October with this SAP program and I learn something – more... new frequently. My day moves very quickly as I have plenty to keep me busy.

We work together as a team to support our customers.

The hardest thing I have had to encounter was working for a smaller customer and not having enough work to keep me busy each day. Even after notifing management, I spent months with little to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job with good benefits and coworkers
IT Specialist (Former Employee), Denver, COMarch 30, 2012
Pros: good benefits, stability, collegial work environment
Cons: dealing with managers, large slow-moving bureaucratic structure
Typical day involved helping coworkers understand large payroll system and work on requirements analysis for system changes. Management was generally supportive but not always on top of what was going on. Coworkers generally friendly but not always very competent technically. Hardest part of job was dealing with bureaucratic inertia.

TammyF – December 17, 2012

Talking with the customers are great. The co-workers are great to work with. Most of the mangement team act like human beings. This is better as a part time job - benefits are not that great - pay is sub par - private sector is better. Thank God for a job but making 15,500 less per year is tough - with congress holding back the cola makes it worse - threat of losing job due to credit is really hard. The 1/2 hour lunch does not give you time to take your brain out of the stress. Could be much better - culture shock from private to federal.