Find companies:
DeKalb County Government
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

DeKalb County Government Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work with good benefits.
License Inspector (Current Employee), Decatur, GAJune 5, 2014
Pros: work monday-friday from 8:30am-5pm, one hour lunch, off and paid major holidays, walking distance to marta station, covered employee parking
Cons: places to eat in the area are a little pricey.
A typical day at work includes telephone and in-person customer service; analyzing and reviewing reports for field inspection and enforcement. Immediate management is not good-not people oriented. My co-workers make the day. The hardest part of the job is working under someone who incompetent and refuses to listen to and use the expertise of its staff. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to meet and inteact with people from all socioeconomic and cultural backgrounds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Human Resource Manager (Current Employee), Decatur, GAMay 27, 2014
Cons: compensation, management, training opportunites, work-life balance
DeKalb County is a fast-paced environment that is ever-changing. The ability to adapt fast is key depending upon the department. There are some chance for promotion, however politics are always involved in the decision making process. There is little work-life balance and majority of the employees are paid well under the market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Current Employee), Decatur, GAMay 20, 2014
Very helpful for to all customer satisfaction in getting invoices paid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment to work in
Camp counselor (Former Employee), Decatur, GAFebruary 18, 2014
Being around the kids and seeing the impact we made on them. Creating task and fun activities for them to do daily was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Human Resources Generalist, IV (Current Employee), Decatur, GADecember 23, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
DeKalb County is a very diverse place to work. The most rewarding aspect of my current position is working with and for the citizens of DeKalb County.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company for long term/ retirement opportunities
Tax Technician (Former Employee), decatur, georgiaDecember 5, 2013
working at a high volume office made it more stressful but manageable..i learned a ton about taxes and vehicles..my co workers were amazing.. management was fine, just slightly unorganized unfortunately.. but overall pleasant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupted and depressing
DeKalb County Employee (Current Employee), Decatur, GeorgiaSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: they say "its" a job
Cons: working there
If you want to work in a place that have a management team that has no morals or no idea how to manage, then you will be in the right place. Top down management, my way or the highway mentality, employees have to be "babby sit"? Please look else where for employment. Lets back up some facts. The employees were given furloughs while upper management – more... gave themselves salary wages. Most recent raise for lower employees took over a half a decade and that was for the lowest paid employees. Top and middle managers were give raises while telling lower employees the county can not afford raises. There is a interim CEO, CFO, COO ect... Concern Citizens are trying to form there own cities because there is no confidence in the managment today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
County has its benefits
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Decatur, GASeptember 12, 2013
Working for the county is a great way to being a career. You learn a lot about how the county operates and you learn new things about the job and there is a sense of security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Workers are a pleasure!
IS Support Analyst (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 14, 2013
Co-Workers are great and it is enjoyable working with other employees within the County.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support of Dekalb County Transportation Department
Sr. Traffic Signal Technician (Former Employee), Atlanta, GaJuly 8, 2013
Pros: challenging technical issues daily
Cons: growth opportunities
Maintain field and bench equipment, first response for traffic related problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work but no advancement opportunities
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), Decatur, GAMay 30, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: no cons
Was a great place to work since it was the first non-emergency clal center in Metro Atlanta.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Records Clerk (Current Employee), Tucker, GAApril 26, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: training
Great place to gain knowledge to help further your career. Not enough training to do shortage in manpower.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I generally love what I do
Legislative Coordinator/Special Projects Manager (Current Employee), Decatur, GAApril 16, 2013
Pros: i get involved in so many interesting topics that it baffles the mind.
Cons: the organization is in transition.
I enjoy the diversity of people, ideas and work. I like to think of myself as a problem solver that works with citizens, elected officials and the business community to come up with and implement practical decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee), Decatur, GAFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: work schedule. 7am to 3:30pm
Cons: healthcare cost
A typical day is very busy filing, working with employees with benefit issues, typing letters and making spreadsheets. Maintaining files and databases. Following up on evaluations to ensure they are done on time and backing up payroll.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Decatur, GADecember 29, 2012
Pros: the schedule (9am-5pm).
Cons: scheduled lunches
My typical day at Dekalb County was to answer calls regarding services provided by the county such as water/sewer calls, recycling services and non-emergency calls. While being employed there I learned about different things that the county offered that I did not know. The management team there was okay. There was instances when we needed management – more... on different issues they weren't there or was not responding to calls from the people in the county that paid taxes and could not get proper help. The co workers there was great there were great relationships established while working there. I have best friends now because of the relationship that was made through Dekalb County. The hardest part about the job was as I mentioned before the supervisors were not very responsive to the needs of the employees or the citizens of Dekalb County. The most enjoyable part of the job was also as I mentioned before the relationships that was established. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Decatur, GADecember 6, 2012
Pros: great location
Cons: no comment
DeKalb County is a good place to call home. The eateries around StoneCrest Mall are good. The nature trails are picturesque. The environment is smoke-free. Much to see and do!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced , Challenging
Public Relations/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Stone Mountain, GAJune 30, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: furlough days
Everyday brings about new challenges. There is never a dull moment. My co-workers are very creative and can be quite comical and enjoyable at times. The hardest part of my job is sometimes keeping a straight face. The most enjoyable part of my day is satisfying our customers/citizens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Workers' Compensation Adjuster (Current Employee), Decatur, GAMay 9, 2012
Decent environment. Co-workers great, not micro-managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Wasted
Team Lead (Former Employee), Decatur, GAApril 14, 2012
Pros: it is across from marta so you can avoid traffic
Cons: pay, benefits, management, culture
A lot of money is wasted by Dekalb County Government and working there I saw it from the inside out. More accountability in departments that handle cash is definitely needed. The benefits are really costly. To add my child to my insurance was $300 a month. You would think they would have better options and rates but they don't. The culture is full of – more... people who "know the system." I did not witness any Employee Development programs such as Tuition Reimbursement. The department I worked had one employee who did not work on Friday for 3 months before someone caught onto it. She said she had an appointment and no one ever followed up with it. Job security is mostly based on who you know, so if you work there, networking is important. I hope all of the departments were not like the one I worked in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Organization
Clerk of Court (Current Employee), Decatur, GAMarch 26, 2012
Pros: good benefits, earned leave plan, retirement plans
Cons: strict atmosphere
Working to improve the community and lives of others in the mission.