Find companies:
Delaware State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Delaware State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment is face paced but stress free.
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT/tBudget Analyst (Current Employee), Dover, DEAugust 3, 2014
Pros: benefits, flexible hours
Cons: university procedures tend to change drastically without warning
Delaware State University is a great place work in a full-time capacity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Dover,DEJuly 12, 2014
I had to plan for incoming business meetings.
Taught me to manage my time
It taught me how to finish and compete a task
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable working with students
Technical Secretary (Current Employee), Dover, DEJune 25, 2014
Pros: working for a state college
Open up classrooms and close classrooms at the end of the day. The most enjoyable part about the job is working with the students. It's getting to know them and finding out what their directions, goals and dreams are. What I am learning from management is the different aspects of the job/position. There are so many varables with my position, from understanding – more... how the college apply for grants and the different departments in the area that I am in. I work alone, but I assist the Chair person and the Department Assistant. There is nothing hard about my position at all. It allows me to be in a different field of administration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delaware State University is the name of my college
Office of Administrations Clerk (Former Employee), Dover, DEJune 23, 2014
It was an enjoyable learning experience during my time at school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work place
Hornet Ambassador (Former Employee), Dover, DEJune 8, 2014
easy job
mangers understand you are a student first
sit at a desk and answer phones while assisting students as they come in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Del State
Aviation & Airways Science Secretary (Former Employee), Dover, DEJune 4, 2014
• Received and screened all incoming phone calls and connected them to appropriate personnel
• Give a warm greeting to all people entering the office premises
• Helped out each person who approaches the front desk with a query
• Sorted out and handed over important packages, deliveries, or messages to appropriate departments within the company
• Provided – more... clerical and administrative support to the management
• Kept a close watch over the staff workings and movements
• Acted as a communicator between the employees and other divisions of the organization
• Well versed with various official documentations to prepare letters, memorandums, etc.
• Ensured cleanliness and orderliness in the reception area while abiding by the policies and regulations of the organization
• Updated appointment diaries and logbooks for scheduling appointments for the right dates
• Input patients information into Practice Manager program and Chart Maker – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
Teacher's Assistant (Intern) (Former Employee), Dover, DeMay 20, 2014
Worked with students
Collaborated ideas daily
Worked alongside the teacher
Lead the class in discussions and daily assignments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work as an adjunct professor
Adjunct Professor of Business (Former Employee), Delaware State University Wilmington CampusApril 28, 2014
Pros: hours were perfect
Enjoyed working with adults who were eager to complete undergraduate requirement in computer technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work experience working with IT Helpdesk
IT Trainer/IT Helpdesk Support Specialist (Current Employee), Dover, DEFebruary 13, 2014
I learned massive IT training and skills. Loved working along side my colleagues and supervisor. Co-workers were understanding and they exemplified teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great football
Graduate Assistant Wide Receiver Coach (Former Employee), Dover DelawareFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: weight room
Cons: state support
Great tradition, Motivate AD, best facilities east coast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Assistant Athletic Director (Former Employee), Dover, DEJanuary 28, 2014
A multitude of duties in all areas of NCAA compliance at Delaware State University that included specializations in such areas as admissions, eligibility, roster management, recruiting, and financial aid. As a assistant Director of Compliance at DSU, I was responsible for the daily operations of financial aid, scholarships and provided compliance rules – more... education and interpretations to student athletes, coaches, staff and administrators. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing to say
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Dover, DEJanuary 28, 2014
i cannot comment on this position.
i became a research assistant through spending office hours assisting my professor.
Learning about global issues and literature writing processes was eye opening
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good experience learning as a research assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Dover, DEJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: no taxes
Cons: weather impacts the job
I learned a lot at this job as a research assistant with the supervision of a mentor. The pay was good and I have nothing to complain about besides the dead location of dover delaware. In addition there were no sakes taxes in the state
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work in
Explorer's Club Senior Coach (Former Employee), Dover, DEJanuary 13, 2014
Typical work day was very fast pace. One working in this area would have to keep up with what was going on. Sometimes there was a lot of work being done between four people to get a curriculum done and then to explain it to the other students working also. The most enjoyable part is teaching others about the things you know. The hardest part was when – more... they did not understand you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strategic building work area
groundskeeper (Current Employee), Dover, DEJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: safety procedures, helping each other, good team work.
Cons: poor planning, to much back lashing, no raises.
work days is good.
learned how to create and design a football, soccer lacrosse field.
management is like pulling teeth
objects might be a little heavy or awkward
Team work when we plan how to attack obstacles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and Challenging Work - Never a Dull Moment
Financial Administrator II (Current Employee), Dover, DEJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: team-oriented and family environment, challenging
Cons: low pay, no merit based increases unless you are promoted or change position, lacks efficiency, resistance to change
I never know how my day will look and this is very exciting to me. My department is fantastic and my supervisor really encourages me to be my very best. The hardest part of my job was information overflow - when I first started there was an immense amount information to learn in a short period of time and it was a bit overwhelming at first. No job is – more... perfect, but, I love helping to make a difference and that's what I feel like I'm doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Intern
Research Intern (Former Employee), Dover, DENovember 27, 2013
Assisted with variety of research activities related to Reducing the Disproportionate Minority Contact of the Youth in Delaware. A state grant from the Delaware Criminal Justice Council funded to Delaware State University to research activities included review of DMC literature, review of DMC efforts by other states, review police department theory – more... and practice when dealing with youth of Delaware. Analyze and review community resources and review census data to present to government agencies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive work play
Facility Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Dover, DENovember 7, 2013
• Open and close building
• Manage building
• Rack weights and clean facility
• Coordinate identification swipe process
• Enforce facility rules
• Perform task accurately with a good customer service attitude
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never knew what to expect
Engineer (Maintenance) (Current Employee), Dover, DENovember 5, 2013
Pros: work experience
Cons: no healthcare. i am a private contractor therefore, i recieve no benefits
A typical day at work was pretty slow. We were given our next jobs through work orders. We recieved orders about 2x a week. I learned a great deal from my partner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing & frustrating at best.
Department of Business and Finance (Former Employee), Dover, DEAugust 3, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: everything else (literally)
At Delaware State University, I had a position that dealt with every facet of the University. I interacted with every department and every everybody (from the janitors to the president). After several years with the University, I have found out that an overwhelming consensus of 98% of the University staff, faculty, and vendors are frustrated with the – more... University. The only people that are not frustrated/disappointed are solely there for the benefits and to get their pension. If your goal is to do a good job, help better the University and it students, or progress either the institution or yourself, then DSU is NOT the place to work.

As is all business, the attitude, drive, inspiration and motivation start at the top and work their way down through the ranks. Upper management at DSU is solely looking out for themselves...entitled to be in the positions that they backstabbed, lied, and cheated to get. Sadly, the betterment of the University, its faculty & staff, and worst of all its students are not a priority.

This University is in a golden position to become a gem within the community, state, and amongst their HBCU peers. And it pains me to see what they truly are, who is taking them there, and the obvious path of self destruction that they being led/forced down.

I thought that I could provide the University with the much needed help that they so desperately require and deserve, but I was met with nothing but opposition and ego fueled power-trips (a far too common outcome for an institution of "higher learning").

It truly hurts me to say...PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME APPLYING TO THIS SCHOOL. – less

About Delaware State University

One of the top historically black colleges and universities in the US, Delaware State University (DSU) offers more than 50 bachelor's – Read more

Delaware State University Photos