Deloitte Employee Reviews

Found 1,252 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn a lot; long hours
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 13, 2016
It's public accounting, so long hours are expected, but Deloitte micromanages your hours. If you take a sick day, you're sure to get an email from some resource manager asking why your charge hours for that week weren't higher. They pile on the internal meetings on top of all the client work, so you never have time to get things done. If you enjoy things like sleep or seeing your family, this isn't the place for you.

If you're an eager beaver with nothing better to do than work, this might be your place. There are some opportunities for advancement early in your career, but they are working hard to grow the manager parking lot, and partners don't retire until forced to do so, so there is less movement at the top.
Pros
Benefits; smart people
Cons
Very long hours, micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good brand name with not so good things under
Sr. Engineer - Technical Lead (Current Employee) –  Glen Mills, PADecember 11, 2015
DTTL CTO is a difficult organization to work in if you are not accustomed to its culture. Politics, favoritism and complete lack of diversity caused the CTO to be replaced. There is a high rate of attrition and work life balance is non existent. The managers are typically those who lack work experience in other companies and only exhibit insecurities by implementing demoralizing policies. Re-organisations occur nearly twice a year and it's really not a place to gain stability. If you are just starting out in your career, it's better to look at other member firms.
Pros
Generous PTO
Cons
Work/life balance is terrible. Management is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Start !
Lead Consultant for Hyperion Suite of Products (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 1, 2016
Great project experience. Ability to manage your own career. Broad opportunities. Great exposure to executives.If you enjoy consulting and travel and want to become a partner, this is a good place for you.
Pros
Great Work Life /Balance, Work Culture, Good on Compensation & Benefit.
Cons
Unpredictable work projects, 120% Travel
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career starting point
Technology Consultant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 31, 2016
I started with Deloitte Consulting out of undergrad. It is a very collegial environment and analysts are given the opportunity to succeed out of the gate. The culture requires an outgoing personality and the willingness to "schmooze and suck up" and networking events with the right people. All in all, I have loved my time at Deloitte.
Pros
Compensation, Exposure to leadership, Meaningful
Cons
Wasted vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Chance for Advancement
Office Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 14, 2015
Deloitte is a top-tier firm that I have great respect for. Poor mismanagement of the internal operations and support services facilitated a work environment where under achievement was rewarded while those who dedicated hard work and focus to the mission were not recognized. Deloitte is a great company to be a part of, but poor leadership and no interest in employee growth does not interest me professionally.
Pros
Large company, international, great benefits package.
Cons
Poor leadership, cult like hiring and promotion attitudes, terrible organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My boss hated me because I was hired before her
Director of Purchasing (Former Employee) –  TexasMarch 27, 2016
Deloitte hated the management company so that fxxxxx.... Me. I got very sick in the hospital 4 times. My boss got fired during my last stay. I hated the place and needed to get the hxxx out. Some musilium "hassan" replaced my boss... I knew my days were numbered... "Isis" back to park city but did not have to pay the 14k in relocation... Smart accounting company... They sxxx... If you are from india your got it made....
Pros
WELCOME TO AMERICA
Cons
WAY TO MANY TO LIST
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encourage Collaboration and Provide Opportunity to Learn
Senior Consultant, Technology (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 5, 2016
Deloitte is a wonderful place to enhance one's skillset and get opportunities to support Fortune 500 clients. Opportunities are numerous to grow one's network within the company establishing the base required to advance. It is a mostly collaborative environment with some very bright people you will learn a lot from.

It will however challenge your ability to maintain a work life balance. This isn't the case on all projects but, more than half of the time you will put in 12+ hours per day though some of that is away from the office tending to emails on your PD.

The importance of your network cannot be understated. Take all opportunities to grow it if you're interested in a long career at Deloitte.
Pros
Collaborative environment, pay
Cons
Work Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good firm to work for
Audit Manager, Financial Services (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 31, 2016
Very good Firm to work for, and I suggest other to get some good experience from Deloitte!! I really like their culture and the way overall management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strong big consulting firm
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 3, 2016
This is one of the strongest large consulting firms still in existence. As opposed to many other consulting firms going the way of public ownership and losing sight of their true culture, Deloitte is still privately owned and it shows in the culture. Employees are very high-caliber, there are great growth opportunities and management is supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Specialist Master (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2016
Deloitte is a great organizations for any level of candidate. The company believes in "Employee as an Asset" values. Lots of flexibility and accountability provided to its pratitioner's. Good compentation
Pros
Trust on Employee, Great Compensation, Flexibility and Work Life Fit policy
Cons
Need to work on their inter office transfer poilicies
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Work can be grueling
Oracle HCM Implementation Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 26, 2015
Fast paced work. Work load can be a bit extreme when in the thick of a project. Deloitte's answer to issues in a project involve throwing more resources at the problem. Change and Issue management are not really discussed in terms of adjusting timelines with clients. Deloitte team members are expected to deliver against original planned timelines, regardless of issues and or delays out of the teams' control. On top of project work, you are being pulled into Personal Development initiatives, and expected to network continually. Time left over for family is very limited.
Pros
Travel points accumulated
Cons
Long hours, little work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High profile big-4 corporate environment
Manager - Multimedia (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 23, 2016
Deloitte certainly gives you the skills to succeed, and invests in its employees. It was my role to produce high profile global videos for C-Suite executives. I had the opportunity to meet many executives, and travel to several countries.
Pros
corporate education
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Pressure, High Reward, High Politics, Unnecessary Stress
Senior Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 25, 2016
I worked for 5 years in consulting and 3 years in an internal role. All 8 years were challenging, but what I experienced in each role was very different. There is a lot of pressure to perform well, which provides stress but also a lot of opportunity to learn and grow quickly - hence the high reward.

Unfortunately, with this high pressure comes a lot of unreasonable expectations that hinder work/life balance and create unnecessary stress. There are also a lot of politics that you deal with - at Deloitte and at the client.

Overall, it was a good place to start my career, but my health and personal relationships would probably be better if I had only spent a few years at Deloitte and left for a less stressful company.
Pros
Alternate travel
Cons
Unreasonable expectations, Poor work/life balance (despite what they say)
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment, great teamwork
Audit Senior Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 12, 2016
Although a typical work day at D&T started around 9am-9:30am, I preferred to come in at 7:30am in order to meet deadlines and be as productive as possible. I worked closely with my team and developed good relationships with my interns, first year assistants, seniors and managers. I enjoyed traveling as part of the job, and wished to do more traveling. My clients mainly consisted of companies within the TMT (telecom, media and technology) industry, and I maintained a good working relationship with client staff. I very much appreciated my tenure at D&T, and I hope my experience and skills that I developed there can be put to excellent use at another growing and dynamic organization.
Pros
Travel, teamwork, collaborative and productive environment, diversity
Cons
Work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart people with a great culture
Senior Consultant/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 25, 2016
Fun culture, focused on striving to optimize processes, and decent pay for the hours worked. Management is pioneering the flexible work schedules to accommodate to the evolving technology enhancements. Great company!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a Sub-contractor in Deloitte. Knowing the functionality and the framework of the project which were well documented made coding fun
Senior .Net Developer (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAMarch 22, 2016
It is productive 8 hours work, mostly you can plan your next day work with some buffer for critical issues. Will need extra hours during initial development phase.
I was able to improve my leading and management skills. The development team, database team and the testing team worked together. The were well informed about the other team work and helpful to each other when issues occur.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience with Deloitte, Management Horrible!
Center Associate (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSAugust 17, 2015
I had a great experience with Deloitte. I was able to travel and experience some interesting environments. I was able to visit a friend for a wedding in a completely different state and work from his home at the same time.

They had a decent training program. Unfortunately, I had previous experience, and they wanted me to come onboard as an experienced developer rather than an entry-level developer. I had no support at all. Part of this was due to the fact that the center where I worked was closing down.

The management was too busy trying to advance their own careers than to support their developers with the problems they are confronted with.
Pros
Great company. Good work/life balance
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace full of opportunities
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Charleston, WVJanuary 20, 2016
Long hours at the client site but hard work pays off. Management is firm but fair. Co-workers are friendly and always helpful. Hardest part of job is conveying ideas and changes to client. Most enjoyable part of job is the co-worker friendships and employee appreciation days.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think about this before applying or accepting
Analyst (Current Employee) –  PhiladelphiaAugust 17, 2015
Deloitte is a good firm with competitive benefits and has a good brand.
However it has many of the departments working in silos which makes it very difficult to move around. It can be a cutthroat environment coupled with the departments managed by incompetent people at first and second level management and above them are so far removed and out of touch they do not know what is going on. This setup for making it more difficult to move and to try something new.
Pros
Benefits, work schedule, strong firm
Cons
office politics, chronism, lack of leadership development, leadership and workforce is not diverse with minorites
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to begin your career
Senior Consultant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 15, 2015
Deloitte is a great company to start your career. You are surrounded by intelligent individuals and have access to wide variety of resources. You are entrusted with a large amount of responsibility, but at times you have to figure things out on your own. Management quality varies by individual. Some lack the appropriate skills and some are very good. Job work/life balance is good, but can be bad at times. It really depends on the time of year and the projects you are working on. Compensation could be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,408 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8