Find companies:
Delphi Automotive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
75 reviews

Delphi Automotive Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Jr. Engineer (Former Employee), MexicoAugust 5, 2014
Delphi is an excellent company! During the time that I worked there, I learned and improved my profession and personal life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with my hands.....
seal machine operator (Former Employee), Warren, OHJuly 19, 2014
Working here you could set your own goals for yourself. If you got tired of a certain job you could put in for a different job so you never got bored. I loved working here! The Union was very good back in the 1990's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Punishing environment
North American Supplier Quality Manager (Former Employee), Lockport, NYMay 13, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: expectations that people will work till they fall over dead.
Smart people without good leadership from upper management. Turf wars and little concern for peoples well being.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding
Assembly Technician (Former Employee), Dayton, OHApril 3, 2014
I worked for Delphi Automotive for 10 years. Great pay, Co- workers were amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basic manufaturing plant
Maintenance Laborer (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 19, 2014
Pros: decent salary for people without families
Cons: no job security
Typical union style plant. You won't know about overtime until the day of. Shifts can change at the drop of a hat. Layoffs were looming over head every week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
All Purpose Operator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 4, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: short breaks and great health care
It was fun and very busy working on an assembly line, sad the company moved to Mexico
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace,great people
service general / checker (Former Employee), Warren, OHFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: the hourly wage & benefits
Cons: really nothing
I supplied parts and equipment to a great group of people who ran spark plug wire cutting machines. It was a wonderful job for me because I enjoy working and helping other people. The hardest thing for me there was adjusting to different shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as an Industrial Maintenance Mechanic/ Fabrication and Repair Specialist.
Industrial Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Warren, OHFebruary 28, 2014
I worked in skilled trades departments while at Delphi. I spent time in the construction group and moved on to machinery maintenance, finally ending up in the Fabrication department where we worked closely with Engineering developing custom machinery for for specific job requirements. Eventually became shop group leader. This was the most enjoyable – more... job to have. The challenges of producing equipment from the design and drawings to installation and productivity was very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
AUDITOR - ACCOUNTING INTERNSHIP (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 7, 2014
Internship was a very good insight of how typical accounting jobs are
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and insurance
Line Worker - Parts Maker (Former Employee), dayton, ohioJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: pay and insurance
Cons: what you smell like after working
It was union so everyone was treated for the most part fairly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tier 1 Supplier, Strong Company
Engineering Laboratory Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee), Troy, MIJanuary 14, 2014
Typical Day:

Wiring
Programming
Testing
Support Program Teams
Road Trips
Cross Country Testing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 year Employee at Delphi
Senior Industrial Engineer (Former Employee), Vandalia, OHOctober 22, 2013
Pros: learned alot from some great leaders, what to do and what not to do.
Cons: need to work on mentoring more.
Delphi was good to me and my career. I learned a lot in my 15 years there. I have a lot of respect for most of the management there, like any place you will like some management styles and you won't. I worked at a lot of locations for them and the manufacturing sites always had something going on, no time to be bored. The hardest part of the job was – more... fitting everything you needed to get done in one day. The most enjoyable was all the different people I got to know and work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delphi Automotive
I was doing mechanical assembly at Delphi. (Former Employee), Troy, MIOctober 9, 2013
Typical day at work was to assemble mechanical parts and to build them, and then to test them in a machine. I learned a lot as far as to working with tools, and to build parts from scratch. The co-workers and myself got along very well, always were a team and trying to accomplish the mission. I would say there was really no hard part about the job, – more... it just took a matter of time, on how to do it correct and efficiently. the most enjoyable part of the job was to beat the deadline of the parts, and to get them to the customer on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed the assembly line in each stage of production and inspected product to constantly maintain the highest quality parts.
Team Member (Former Employee), Adrian, MISeptember 22, 2013
Pros: no weekends
Cons: was given a permanent layoff
Operated machinery to produce quality products for our customers.

I learned about the assembly of instrument panels.

Management was good.

My co-workers were great, after a while you become a family.

The hardest part of my job was being away from my family working 2nd shift.

The most enjoyable part to the job was the production team I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun environment
Quality inspector (Former Employee), Troy, MISeptember 20, 2013
A typical day is productive
how to check for faulty parts
Management treat employees as equals
Co-workers were inviting and nice
Standing for periods of time
passing parts of the inspection
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent compensation and benefits, until economy collapsed
Manufacturing Supervisor (Former Employee), Athens, ALSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: challenging for production, union membership, safety, delivery balance
Cons: cost conservation plans were directed toward salaried employees, non-union.
Plants produced Rack and Pinion Steering components and assembled Gears, Axles, Columns, hoses, intermediate shafts and hoses and Power Steering Pumps from 1975 until 2010. Plant/Site closed in October 2009. Operations moved to Saginaw Michigan, then sold to China company now called Nexsteer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The machine will be off for 4 hours of your 8 hour shift today.
o Auto parts manufacturer, product inspector (Former Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 7, 2013
As my summary suggests by the time I worked at Delphi the automotive machines needed serious maintenance. It was normal for the machine our section worked on to be down and unusable for 2 or 3 hours every day (we had a clock to track it). Usually had something else to do when this was the case but still was annoying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Battery plant
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Anaheim, CASeptember 3, 2013
Great place to start career. Vast amount of varied technology. great team atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This division bought by BWI
ALGORITHM TEST ENGINEER (Former Employee), Brighton, MISeptember 3, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule, great colleagues.
Cons: managers in constant meetings, little time for guidance. uaw culture.
Learned base brake system components and contributions/losses for modeling.
Learned disc rotor thermal modelling, and sensitivities to assumptions.
Hosting vehicle demonstrations of new base brake technology was enjoyable.

Controlled brake algorithm testing on stand or in vehicle.
Winter testing near Houghton was interesting. Old military air strip – more... turned into vehicle dynamics testing area. Complete with quonset huts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive, adversarial, exploitative
Injection Molding Team Leader / Job Setter (Former Employee), Vandalia, OhioAugust 27, 2013
The culture is badly corrupt at Delphi Thermal Vandalia Operations. Management and the USW-87L local union collude to abuse and exploit the workers. For months on end I worked seven days a week, twelve hour days. I worked there for seven years from 10/7/2005 through until December 2012. I was capped at earning $10.50 an hour. Workers were given year-end – more... bonuses at the end of 2011 but I was told that I was not eligible because I had been out on sick leave. The worst is that they know they are wrong but cannot help themselves. The Union is on the Company's side, so the worker is always wrong. Open displays of blatant hostility on the part of management towards workers are common and go unpunished; the Union representatives also intimidate the workers. One of the management is son of the Steelworker's Local President. He was my supervisor for years. He would harass me no end, hector me using sexual explicitness, call me names. It really was about attitude and approach. It is a horrifying place. I would not wish employment at this facility on my worst enemy. So much mandatory overtime, with same day / last minute notice. It wears people down. – less

1 2 3 4

About Delphi Automotive

Warwick, UK — Delphi, the company that makes the parts cars are born with, announced today that is has become the Official – Read more