Find companies:
Denny's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,009 reviews

Denny's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere to work in.
Waitress (Former Employee), Reno, NVJuly 7, 2014
Pros: meals at a discount.
Cons: slippery floor.
Was fun waiting on people. Their good time became a part of your work time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy work place
Food Preparation Worker (Former Employee), Carthage, TXJuly 4, 2014
Being busy all day long
Maybe you will get some kind of training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food
Host/Server (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 4, 2014
It was a summer job but they did help me get my foot in the door so I will always appreciate them for that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad workers
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Evansville, INJuly 1, 2014
Pros: free meal a day for managment.
Cons: no breaks if busy.
The hardest part of the job was watching people steal, or be rude to the guest cause they are having a bad day. A typical day would be to come in and get everything ready be for the dinner rush.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Hostess (Former Employee), Ashwaubenon, WIJuly 1, 2014
Pros: short breaks
Cons: busy saturday/sunday crowds
I had experience in customer service in working in a casino but not in a fast paced family setting restaurant. I have learned discipline and order within boundaries of working with an order, I have also gained experience in serving or waitress, customer complaints and customer relations as I have acquired many of the same repeat customers and my gm – more... loved every minute of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day working at Denny's.
Server/Host/Dishwasher (Former Employee), Charlotte, N.CJune 27, 2014
Execellent use of customer service, fixed/or got management to fix any problems/or errors, and very friendly/kind towards others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great Learning Experience
Part-time Hostess/Waitress (Former Employee), CaliforniaJune 26, 2014
Seat guest, take orders, refill condiments, clean work space. Learned to work in a busy fast pace environment. The management is good as well as my co-workers. hardest thing about this job is remembering the whole menu as well as the new items that r added every now and then. What's fun about this job is that you get regulars cause that shows that your – more... doing a good job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Denny's is a great place to work and grow.
Teller (Current Employee), Tallahassee, FLJune 25, 2014
I get to work at 9am clock in then my work day starts.Make sure my area is clean and everything I may need is in place.I work at a college so the some days the kids are very uptight and stress out.Getting to how to deal with that is very powerful meaning knowing how to make other bad into good with good customer service.I think the management team can – more... do better.I like the job it not hard at all as long as you are a people person.I enjoy working and getting to the students and staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very hard but fun place to work!
Server (Former Employee), Anthem, AZJune 24, 2014
Pros: 50% off meals.
Cons: never took a break.
Good environment. Everyone is always happy and customers are all coming back. Having regulars and interacting with them and learning about them and having them come back was a special thing for us servers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for education required. Long hours and lots of stress
Store Manager (Former Employee), Buttonwillow, CAJune 24, 2014
Pros: good environment, learned a great deal about working with employees and how to communicate with people.
Cons: too many hours and the shifts changed every 3 months.
I was a store manager at Dennys in Buttonwillow, Ca. It was the busiest Dennys in Kern County. It was a good job at that time in my life. Salary was based on a 50 hour work week, and we generally had overtime. I had three children, young at that time, so I was away a lot. I did learn a great deal about management and all the work it required. I would – more... probably do it again if I could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staffing & Management
Server (Former Employee), Raytown, MOJune 24, 2014
Pros: 1/2 off food
Cons: many table at once. even big parties.
Serving single and mutiple customer parties.
i learned how to work as a team and assist co workers
staff is very helpful.
management is very caring and also firm
the hardest part is working so hard for hardly any tips.
most enjoyable is shift variance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Functional
Line Cook (Former Employee), Taylorsville, UTJune 24, 2014
Pros: one free meal for lunch.
Cons: majorly slippery floors during cleanup
Work environment was practical and functional. Efficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N?A
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Fairport, NYJune 23, 2014
No comment.... bad working environment. Bosses treated workers like garbage, unsanitary, garbage everywhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good food and free lunch!
Server/Host (Former Employee), Boulder, COJune 23, 2014
Pros: lunches, yes, free!
Cons: no benefits
Typical day was pretty routine
Learned to meet and greet
Management was fair but the "over turn" was hectic.
Co-workers, all good, many students from CU, Boulder. Likable
Hardest part were some managers were micro-managers. I believe you can work well with good communication and treatment of all employees equally.
Most enjoyable, meeting good people, – more... mostly customers and students who seemed like good people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Prosuctiv workplace
Server (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VaJune 22, 2014
A typical day at Denny’s is very exciting; every day I have an opportunity to work with great customers. Throughout my customers dining experience, I supply great services by collecting and serving specific meals and drinks to my customers. I also maintain outstanding services throughout their meal. At the end of the night all servers had to finish – more... their specific side-work and rolling a certain amount utensils.
I learned to be a great team player in a workplace; Working with servers, cooks, and the host to complete all of our duties in a timely manner. Staffing at Denny’s work well with each other, they are very friendly and show great teamwork. Because I enjoyed my job as a server there isn’t anything hard about my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a hostess.
HOSTESS (Former Employee), Clarksburg WvJune 19, 2014
Pros: great work environment and positive attitudes.
Cons: couldn't get enough hours
Working for Denny's was quite pleasant. Everyone had a good attitude and did very well as a team whether it was day shift or night shift. Hostess must keep the front looking neat and tidy at all times. Hostess always makes sure all condiments are fully stocked for customers needs during each meal. Making sure tables are cleaned after each guest has – more... finished their meals and is not waiting at the cash register to pay their bill. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
waitress (Former Employee), metairie, laJune 19, 2014
Pros: great costumers
A typical day at work starts with putting the previous shifts numbers into the system, making sure everyone has shown for scheduled shifts, pep talks to ensure a positive atmosphere to work in, counting product, cleaning, prepping and pulling product, assisting in any department needed, etc. I truly enjoy working with the public and seeing new faces – more... often. My co workers are absolutely awesome and make the job more enjoyable, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so enjoyable place to work
Cook (Current Employee), Oak Grove, KYJune 18, 2014
Pros: learning how to be a cook
Cons: healthcare, benefits, management, being underpaid
working at Denny's when it first open was a very enjoyable place to work but now with all these new employees its not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Other Denny's might have a better work environment but this one didn't.
Server (Former Employee), milwaukee, wiJune 18, 2014
I was never trained properly, my trainer didn't show me the correct skills I needed to be successful at my job position. My trainer was very rude to customers and I was left to clean up after her mess, fixed what she did wrong, and apologize for her behavior.

It was not so sanitary behind the scenes; cooks were smoking while cooking food in the kitchen. – more... other servers would eat off customer's plates before handing them to the customers. There was a bucket of sanitizer where they kept spoons to mix drinks with and one server took a spoon straight from the bucket and put it into a customers drink. Once I asked her isn't she supposed to rinse and wipe the spoon off first before putting it in the drink, she replied "No" then I asked but there's bleach residue on the spoon that being mixed into the drink she replied " No, it's fine we do this all the time." So if you ever go to this Denny's and your soda taste funny it's because there is bleach mixed in it.

My manager was very inappropriate towards me. My manager would call me names, make rude comments about my weight, and when ever I would ask her a question about how things are done around the diner (because I didn't know them because I wasn't being trained properly) my manager would reply "I'm too busy to talk to you, go figure it out yourself" or "You're not going to last around here long if you keep asking me all of these questions." She always "forgot" to put my name on the work schedule and when I'd confront her about she replied "Well, I never wanted you working here in the first place, so of course you'd slip my mind when I'm making the schedule"

This was not a good experience, but I will not let this horrible work environment stop me. What I learned from working here is how to deal with ridiculous people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's
Hostess, dishwasher. (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLJune 18, 2014
Pros: great discounts on food, great people, fun.
Cons: scrubbing walls and floors etc, being sent home early because too many employees
I enjoyed Dennys because I did different things on my days working. Some things harder then others but I liked it. As a hostess I learned the computer way to put in customers orders, as this was not the way it was done back when I was a waitress, years ago. I liked the managers as they would work with you and help you when you needed it. My co-workers – more... were funny and I got along with all of them, even when things got stressful, we all managed to be ok. Taking the big barrels of garbage out was hard at times because it was so heavy, but a co-worker or a manager would help me. The one thing I liked a lot was you felt like family and could laugh at each other no matter what. Friendly place to work. – less

1 2 3 4 5