Denny's Employee Reviews

Found 3,145 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive fast pace work place
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Eloy, AZApril 6, 2017
A typical day at work at dennys was fast paced, i learned how to multitask very well, management was fair, the hardest part of the job was remembering what all your tables need, i enjoyed serving people and seeing them smile
Pros
free lunches, meeting lots of people
Cons
rude customers, short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 6, 2017
Making sure the resturant is adhering to health codes and safety standards. Works effectivly in team settings but also has leadership qualities communicating excellent.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and cutthroat
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario, ORApril 6, 2017
when i started with dennys it was a restaurant to be proud of. however after many years it has gone down hill so much to save money that it is a disgrace to the name in which it started.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Host (Former Employee) –  Rice Hill, ORApril 5, 2017
Hit or miss with the staff, some friendly, some not. Some managers were good, some weren't. Busy work. Didn't like the truck stop environment personally.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dennys
Server (Former Employee) –  Barstow, CAApril 5, 2017
management is unfair,he picks and chooses with his employees,but I loved waiting on my customers I wouldn't regret working for them I have learned a lot of things working with them for three years.
Pros
loved making my customers happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized management not to its standards runs eml
Waitress/servier (Former Employee) –  Ogden, UTApril 5, 2017
Work was unorganized and very chaotic, management has little to no leadership skills. Other food servers are rude to customers, cooks always mixing up orders.
Pros
Free food good break times
Cons
Working past my schedule time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great buisness
waitress, hostess, assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Tehachapi, CAApril 5, 2017
Resturant was nice. I liked that i could move up within the company, and that i had the opportunity to. I liked being able to meet new people and also see the regulars on a daily bases.
Pros
Made great friends
Cons
Could have been run a little more efficiently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Hostess/Server/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Menomonie, WIApril 4, 2017
I knew I'd love my job when I had my interview! Part time hours with great co-workers :-)
Great at working with your schedule and training and you will feel like a family
Pros
Free drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun and good people i learned alot
cook prep (Former Employee) –  Edinburg, TXApril 4, 2017
it was a good job i learned to cook things i never thought i would do i like to learn so i really like the job as a cook . i would like the chance to work there again in the future
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Server (Current Employee) –  Surfside Beach, SCApril 4, 2017
A great place to work. Kind management and wonderful co workers. Everyone wants each other to succeed. The time goes by because you constantly have something to do and a job to complete. Keeps you busy.
Pros
50% off food while on the clock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dennys
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXApril 3, 2017
I was a excellent server, my first day of training was nervous but by the time you know it was ready to serve and take orders. I was very friendly and always made sure my costumers lefted with a smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive stressful but fun
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXApril 3, 2017
good service is provided but may need a little more excitement not many teens work there as the should but over all good job experience sometimes is hard because mostly alot of people get there at once but i can handle pressure
Pros
food is available
Cons
some co-workers feel the need to always blame the hostess
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work hours
Server Assistant (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 3, 2017
Clean and maintain server areas, wash and stock dishes for cooks, fill ice, break down boxes and change and take trash out. Sweep and mop front and back of house. Also assist servers by cleaning and setting up tables.
Pros
good work flow
Cons
Always short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean work environment, but no benefits
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCApril 3, 2017
Will work with your schedule regardless of what it is. Management comes and goes as often as other staff (which is often), but the rules are flip/floppy so you're not sure what to do half the time
Pros
remodeled dining room
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking, stressfull, but also productive environment
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Merritt Island, FL 32952April 3, 2017
I was service assistant at my time at Denny's. I learned how to work the dish room and how to interact with my coworkers. The management was helpful by helping me around the work environment. The hardest part of the job was the morning rush during breakfast hours. I was running both the dishwasher and cleaning the tables for the customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was free drinks while working and staying in the back helping out my coworkers cleaning up after themselves.
Pros
Free drinks, healthcare
Cons
Short/rarely any breaks, juggling multiple positions at once
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoying working with people
Server (Current Employee) –  Glen Carbon, ILApril 3, 2017
take and deliver customers orders...refill drinks, clear tables, accept cash or credit cards for payments, answer phone, clean and set up for the next shift of workers
Pros
meeting different people
Cons
late night hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low stress
Server (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAApril 3, 2017
One of the easiest jobs I've had. Great people to work for, very helpful, understanding, care about their employees and, guest. Very clean restaurant front and back. Very happy there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place
Server (Former Employee) –  Rio Grande City, TXApril 3, 2017
Great experience fun environment great management and amazing coworkers that they have best place to start a new job and amazing place to get retail experience
Pros
Good people skills
Cons
No social life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A regular day at work
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVApril 2, 2017
A regular day at denny's was always a busy day. The denny's I work at usually gets hit with loads of rushes but we stay a team and work together to get stuff done. Management was a little difficult but it can get pretty stressful.
Pros
50% off your meals and great skill builder
Cons
Can get stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Host/Server (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAApril 2, 2017
• we would have to make sure the customers had good and fast service.
• we would also have to keep our stations cleaned and get ready for the rush
• we would have to prepare our station if there was no customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,376 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5