Denny's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and poor management
Cook (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNNovember 22, 2017
Would not recommend employment there.
I was over worked and underutilized. Some of the employees worked hard and food was good. However the over all experience was stressful.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work great manager and co workers
Bust boy/ dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Medford, ORNovember 21, 2017
Why I was employed at dennys I had an amazing job enviorment great managers and fun to work with co workers the job as a bis boy is fast paste and washing dishes but as u stick to ur job description I will do just fine not a verry hard job to do
Pros
Half off meals
Cons
No.healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Bordentown, NJNovember 21, 2017
loved working here meeting different people. management was
great and pushed me to advance would love to go back but live to far
Pros
very competive
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server/hostess/cashier
Server (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXNovember 21, 2017
Cleaning organization, customer satisfaction
Most days I learn something new from someone
Management getting so much bettee experienced managers only
Pros
Tips, reg customers
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server Life
Server (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORNovember 21, 2017
While I loved working for Denny's it seemed like the managers never knew what anyone else was doing so it was very hard to know what you needed to focus on beyond serving food to the guests. (side-work, deep cleaning)
Pros
Tips, friendly co-workers
Cons
if you didn't up-sell enough you would lose shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Denton, TX 76207November 21, 2017
Overall a good experience. But there is little room for advancement and you end up working very long hours if you can handle it. Be prepared to work 2-3 jobs at once as you try to climb the ladder.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Enfield, CTNovember 20, 2017
It was a temporary job for me that I was glad I didn't have to stay at very long. When I received a better job offer elsewhere, I took it immediately. My manager at the time was nice but her replacement barely did her job whatsoever... A lot of people quit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees, Great Managers, but no money was to be made
Host/Server (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 19, 2017
The Employees I worked with were marvelous. When it was hectic at work, I would volunteer to help my coworkers so we would have an equal chance of receiving tips since our checks were based off the tips and also because when customers would come, they would flood through the door. I would help calm any angry customers who were in a rush and would not want to wait the time it took to cook the food by keeping them entertained and intrigued on the meal they were waiting for. I still keep in touch with my manages because we all connected and enjoyed each others company in our professional work environment. I mainly enjoyed the satisfaction of reaching my sales expectations and exceeding what was being asked of me.
Pros
Discounted meals
Cons
Worked during my break and too much dead time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work
Sever (Current Employee) –  Pekin, ILNovember 18, 2017
Dennys is a great place to work. The mangers r fair the care about u and whats going on in your life.i love the customer that come to dennys. It a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed getting to meet new people everyday.
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Murrieta, CANovember 18, 2017
I had the opportunity to engage in conversations with new people and regular customers every day. This work environment is very fast paced. I always received support from management and there was lots of team work required in order to meet customers needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Cook (Former Employee) –  Spindale, NCNovember 18, 2017
I used to go to Dennys when I was a child and when the opportunity came up to work there I couldn't pass it up, the place runs like a well oiled machine.
Pros
Fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to eat
Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 17, 2017
poor service on table product didn't have correct tempera the store was always dirty manager were not focus on the store to much employee were not on time
Pros
no
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced but not to sressfull
Host/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, WANovember 17, 2017
Denny's was a pretty fast pace job but it wasn't so bad to the point were i was stressed out or upset it had a nice balance of quickness and enjoyment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressing environment
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXNovember 16, 2017
Not a bad job but can be stressful on busy days i do like my boss.the company is a professional business. I think that stall works will with one another
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced high stress job
Server (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMNovember 16, 2017
all was good until new store was built and opened. Majority of employees including management became unruly. Great location with awesome local guests. The new 2 kitchen concept is something noone is able to grasp
Pros
food
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick customer service operated 24hours
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 16, 2017
main concern was time management and customer service , fast paced but also kept you on your toes. The better your timing was ,the faster you got done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diner setting
Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, UTNovember 16, 2017
Wonderful owner sometimes management has quite a bit of nepotism in the pay but its still the most frequented restaurant in the town.Both Dennys are national level but franchised owned
Pros
tips
Cons
utah server wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with dennys help me overcome my shyness,it was fun.its an team player invorment.
Waitress/Hostess (Former Employee) –  SeaTac, WANovember 16, 2017
I liked working at dennys but they didnt offer no benefits, no retirement plan or nothing i can ever fall back on when i decide to retire.it wasnt working.
Pros
Had to pay to eat
Cons
Short breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 16, 2017
A typical day at work was normally busy with always something to do. I learned how to manage others and multi-task through my years while working for Denny's. Management was fair but at times a little to biased. The hardest part of the job was the stress of trying to balance everything you were assigned to do and run the restaurant by yourself in the 10 hour time frame.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Server (Former Employee) –  Monroe, MINovember 16, 2017
A fast paced job with little to no advancement opportunity. Restaurant conditions were poor, constantly scheduled outside of my availability, and the managers were rude and unsympathetic.
Pros
tips
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 4,476 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4