Find companies:
DENNYS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
244 reviews

DENNYS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUNNNN
Server/Cashier (Former Employee), Franklin, KYFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: interstate so lots of customers
Cons: rude truck drivers
This job is good if you like the fact that you work around truck drivers and its by the interstate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced work environment
Server/Cashier (Former Employee), Hanford, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch if you clean the store, pay, hours
Cons: benefits, short breaks, short lunches
While working for dennys I had to move very quickly as orders are to be made fast and accurately. I enjoyed my job when it was fast paced however when we would have downtime it was very dead and boring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment to work in
Host (Current Employee), Saint George, SCFebruary 1, 2014
I love my job I look forward to work daily. The management is wonderful and friendly individuals. My co workers are the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard worker, and strong on my feet
Server, Cashier,Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: we had a 10% discount on all food but steaks
I would come in ready to work, clothes, make-up, and a smile. I would clock in and look at what tables I have and start work right away, I was a team player, if any of my co-workers needed anything I helped, from passing out food to giving their customers something. Me and all my co-workers got alone well and I kept my customers happy and coming back, – more... I was never short from my register and I never had any customers complaints. I got my food out on time, and kept a clean environment, and I was always on time to work and didn't mind staying longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment just a few people issues.
Cook (Former Employee), Ellsworth, MEJanuary 30, 2014
Cook, clean, prep, There are a few weak links like most other businesses but all in all a good work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job, underpaid
General Manager (Former Employee), Eureka, MOJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: long hours, meetings scheduled at last minute
Good job if you are willing to work long hours. Work/life balance can be sometimes be challenging. The main office above the store level is often disorganized and not good with communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 27, 2014
I wet though Dennys Corp Management program, learned a lot through it, costs to cooking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
guest that came in for me was the best
Server/Cashier (Former Employee), Kissimmee, FLJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: 50% off meal
Cons: had to work 40 hours to get health care
take orders
keep the guest happy
cash out guest
clean tables
chat with the guest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Host
HOST (Former Employee), Kennewick, WaJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: discont on food
Cons: lack of hours
I would greet and seat customers, manage to-go orders, answer phone calls, cash customers out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the customers
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee), madera,caJanuary 20, 2014
no commit what so ever ! love working here ..love the people I work with !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a fun place to work
Waitress (Former Employee), Terrell, TXJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: great money, great staff, great management.
Cons: i can't think of one.
Just know what you're doing. Doing as you're told will make it very easy. Don't pick fights with co-workers and NEVER with costumers. Its pretty fun and a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly customer service
Servant Assistant (Former Employee), Redding, CAJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: meals half off
Cons: the negative evironment from management
busy every minute of the day I made sure I went above and beyond for my team efforts in being a team player. Tho sometimes I had to pull the strings for others it was my attitude that made the difference. as long as I had fun in what I did and stayed friendly with others it wasn't so bad. Management was kind of terrible! They made you not want to be – more... there. But the other co workers made it enjoyable. They sure stick together as a team when it comes to being picked on in the work place. The hardest part was management. When they don't want to be there themselves they really show it by overwhelming their employees with too much work to handle for one person. or by not sticking to the codes but then again when you have such a great team that pulls together, then its pretty fun working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swing shift is horrible
Server (Former Employee), Humble, TXJanuary 15, 2014
You can do well on early morning or night shifts, but there is no point in working swing shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Dish Washer (Former Employee), Aurora, COJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches, good breaks.
Easy work flow, Management very supportive with any issues. good co-workers (there's always that one down bringer) no hard points really.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work but some people are hard to work with
Host (Former Employee), Black Mountain, NCJanuary 11, 2014
I was host at Dennys. My duties is to maintain the cash register and take people to their seats. During the busy hours, I also would have to help out waiters and waitresses with cleaning their tables.

Most of the co-workers are easy to work with but there were at least 2 waiter or waitresses who would make work unbearable. They constantly complain – more... about the every little detail that you do because you don't do how they do it. It's probably the hardest part of the job, facing them and trying so hard to be patient with them.

The enjoyable part of my job was meeting and greeting the customers. They are the ones who would always brighten my day as well as me brightening their day too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy restaraunt
Cook (Former Employee), North Olmsted, OHJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: management wasnt on the ball
I learned to further hone my skills as a cook in a fast paced enviroment. coworkers got along great, but management lacked in so many ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great job experince
Cook (Former Employee), richland waDecember 13, 2013
Pros: managament program
Cons: not enough hours
the place had lot of oppertunits and was a great place to learn team work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Environment
Cook (Former Employee), Ocean City, MDDecember 13, 2013
Pros: good employees
Cons: not organized
i worked graveyard shift, 10pm to 6am. i dealt with ignorance from drunk customers during the nights , management was a little reasonable. co-workers there was nice specially on my shift , hardest part bout the job was running out of food , best part was getting the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome fun nightlife vibe full of Singers and Friendly people
Server (Former Employee), De la torre airport blvd salinas caDecember 9, 2013
Fun place to work roomy enough for big parties or reservations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding, and run like a slave company
Waitress (Former Employee), Dothan, ALDecember 8, 2013
Cons: everything
Dothan Dennys needs new management.
They are trying to compete like they are the best in the country, and it's taking a huge toll on it's waitresses. I think they need to come down off their high horse, and realize they're a restaurant just like any other. They will never be the #1 restaurant in the country, or the number 1 restaurant chain in America. – more... It's just not the best there is to offer honestly.
I've seen a lot of waitresses come and go in that place, and most of them quit to find better places to work. I don't blame them. Even many of the regulars are upset about how management treats their waitresses.

They say they don't have favoritism, but I think that's garbage. It is present, and many of the workers know that. Any waitress who has a personal relationship with any manager outside of work, they get special treatment. One girl was recently fired because she was a no call no show, even though she had done it countless times before and got away with it, and now all of a sudden management decided it's time to crack the whip and follow company policy. That is just out right ridiculous. I feel terribly sorry for every person that works there under Dothan Dennys management. – less