Denver Public Schools Employee Reviews

Showing all 225 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful because of the adults
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 21, 2017
Working with our youth is the most rewarding work there is. DPS gives you an extra layer of stress for this difficult work. The district is admin heavy and nobody ever really knows who's in charge or what's going on. Things change arbitrarily and the turn around time for answers is always twice as long as it should be. The additional paperwork being required of DPS teachers is leading to burn out and a ridiculously high turnover rate. The board and superintendent have a privatization agenda and figuring out how they are supporting students, staff, and parents in not possible.
Pros
the kids
Cons
administration, dismantling of public education
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Executive Secretary to the Director (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 10, 2017
I prefer not to review this company. people have to learn for themselves how management/executive directors really are, some are supportive of their staff and others are not.
Pros
great pay
Cons
not very supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
calm, and chaotic
Swimming Instructor, Lesson Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 7, 2017
Denver Public school was a good place to work because they respect their staff. There were a few stressful days but that comes with working with children
Pros
benefits for full time
Cons
no work in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working with my co-workers
Food Service Worker II (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 5, 2017
preparing food for the students
how to temp and handle food properly
get along well with my manager
good work place
really nothing hard about the job
working with my co-workers
Pros
free lunches
Cons
kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 26, 2017
i had fun working for the company i would love to go bock the kids wore great the teachers wore great driving the bus was amazing no one can do that job without care
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change is constant and lacks direction
Director of Competency Based Learning (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 20, 2017
Priorities and goals are constantly changing. Difficult to create strategic plans and have a long-term focus. However, dynamic environment and opportunity for impact.
Pros
Autonomy
Cons
Security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging workplace. Low manager accountability.
Operations (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 19, 2017
Managers and HR collude to keep salaries and morale at all time lows. Unless your in the club.
Pros
Flexible schedule, paid vacation
Cons
Understaffed department. The decrees and delligations are never ending
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great After-School Music Program
Site Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bruce Randolph SchoolJune 15, 2017
El Sistema After-School Program at Bruce Randolph School is a great place to work at. Staff are always willing to help and music teacher are very patient with all students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DPS is not a secure place to work
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 13, 2017
They treat their employees like expendable resources, instead of people. Management only cares about self-interests. They claim to care about students and teachers, but it's all a mask.
Pros
Student population is diverse
Cons
Administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part time job.
Program Lead (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 12, 2017
This is a good part time job, since I enjoy working with children. It is fun to learn what different interests that the children have. I enjoy the flexibility of the hours.
Pros
enjoy working with kids
Cons
sometimes it can be challenging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too big of a District. Poor communication.
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Substitute TeacherJune 12, 2017
Substituting is brutal.. Administration gives no support.. Lost in a sea of numbers..Improperly informed by HR. Nightmare communicating with HR . This job has been a waste of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and political
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 12, 2017
Working for Denver Public schools largely depends on the leadership at the school you end up working at. I had originally worked under an incredible principal and the school was thriving. Unfortunately that quickly changed with new leadership.
Pros
Summer Vacations
Cons
Stressful work environemtn
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Math Fellow, DCIS (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 11, 2017
I've worked for DPS for a few years. It's been a learning experience for sure! The kids are pretty challenging, but I like it. It brings me back down to earth. It's the best when you have a great principle and teaching staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DPS Review
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 6, 2017
DPS is a really nice organization to work for because you are working fro a good cause. The only limitation is that there is not a lot of room for financial growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sick of kids
Facility Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 5, 2017
stressful good pay crazy parents and good kids. works around your children if you have any always home at night. safety has been difficult per parents not allowing us to do our jobs.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Para Pro (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 26, 2017
all of the para pros and bus drivers were friendly, respectable, easy to communicate with and easy going. The kids that we had to associate with were nice kids, as well.
Pros
free food
Cons
split schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Janitoral work
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 26, 2017
I worked for three years cleaning the classrooms as a sweeper. I was certified to the strip and wax process and also to the carpet cleaning. I used lots of cleaning supplies and took a lot of pride in what i did. The hardest part was cleaning up dirty messes such as throw-up. What I likes most was the teamwork mentality and how we all worked hard together to get the schools clean.
Pros
teamwork skills
Cons
not very good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 25, 2017
the most enjoyable part of the job is to be able to help keep a building clean. starting work day going in to clean the lunch room until about 1pm then going to sweep the stairs until 4pm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Educational and fun
Paraprofessional Educator (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 24, 2017
It is a good place to get to know many cultures management is reasonable you learn from every thing and everyone and the hardest part of the job is over sized classes and the best part of the job is learning and working with the children
Pros
Very rewarding when children learn
Cons
stressful if there is no help from parents
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
RN (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMay 20, 2017
Great work life balance but not as well paying as other nursing jobs in the metro area. Every day is different so there is variety in the work and there are many opportunities in the district.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
lower pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denver Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 225 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

Denver Public Schools Reviews by Location