Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
360 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of room for professional growth.
Information Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Harrisburg, PADecember 15, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Excellent career stepping but no upward mobility. Co workers are great to work with and are very supportvie.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has a great mission to manage public lands
Forester (Former Employee), Munising MIDecember 11, 2014
Pros: good retirement, satisfaction of public service
Cons: meetings and inadequate supervisors
Working for the Federal government has many benefets.
Maxi flex working day
Poor to very poor management
great co workers
snowshoes in the winter
working outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not take a job unless it is permanent
Ecologist (Current Employee), Bend, ORDecember 9, 2014
I have been a "temporary" hire at the USDA Forest Service since 1997 (18 years). My supervisor would love to hire me "permanently" so I can have full benefits and job security, however the hiring practices for the Federal government, and for USDA Forest Service in particular, are horrendously unfair in the name of being uniform and unbiased.

I would – more... advise anyone interested in a job with the Federal government to take a permanent job, but the temporary jobs absolutely do NOT lead to a permanent job. They really don't. Instead, take the permanent job in the outer reaches of society, and then apply for the permanent job in the place you want to end up once you are in the system.

The USDA Forest Service, at least, hires in two ways: they advertise in-house, and they advertise nationwide. Supervisors who are hiring must select either from the in-house list, which is all of the current permanents, or must select from the nationwide list. However, if they select from the nationwide list they must first offer the job to military veterans even if they barely qualify for the job. Staff officers of the hiring supervisors also get a good rating on their job performance if they hire minorities, so some will look at ethnic-sounding last names (because it's illegal to ask someone if they are a minority). But if the hiring supervisor doesn't want a barely qualified veteran, or pressure to hire someone based on their last name, they go to the in-house list of job candidates. This is why most of the jobs in more popular locations go to those who already have a permanent job within the Forest Service. They can actually review applicants credentials, interview several people, and hire who they'd like to hire if they do it from the in-house list.

If you already have a family, mortgage and husband's job to consider, then you're out of luck... but if you're mobile, the method above could work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Career
Senior Special Agent (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 7, 2014
Government structure; highly organized hierarchy; clear expectations and clear career pathways to all employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful experience
Observation (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, NYDecember 1, 2014
My time at the USDA was very short, but it was very interesting. The head vet, as well as the traveling vet were very helpful and insightful for my future endeavors. They were always offering me more opportunities to learn and gain more experiences.
Being that I was only there one day a week, they would often call me to come in when a delivery was scheduled, – more... so I can gain experience being around the animals, and accounting for the animals in a delivery. I wish I would have been able to extend my time there, and do more with the USDA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed to develop and impliment new initiatives.
Division Administrator (Former Employee), Sparks, NevadaDecember 1, 2014
Pros: operational latitude.
Cons: budget constraints during certain periods of year.
24 by 7 job; immediate response to director and governor required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I got to get out and see new scenery and go to different states.
AD Driver (Former Employee), London, KyNovember 24, 2014
I was always going to different states and travel seeing new scenery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with team emphasis
Mail Clerk/Supply Clerk, GS (Former Employee), Fort Collins, CONovember 17, 2014
Pros: maxi flex schedule
Cons: no opportunity to advance
Worked opening and closing entrance doors, loading dock
Received all incoming packages in shipping and receiving
Received, sort, processed and distributed mail
Ordered, distributed supplies
Maintained and updated supplies inventory
Operated, maintained fax machines, copiers and printers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
biological science technician (Former Employee), Catron County NMNovember 14, 2014
I worked closely with local ranchers, county, state and federal employees to ensure a balance between wildlife and ranching, and farming. I performed depredation investigations and removals thru lethal and non-lethal methods. The hardest part of my duties was working within the Mexican Wolf Program as there was a lot of emotion with locals and animal – more... activists within that program. I really enjoyed working in Catron County as it was a beautiful place. I also enjoyed being outside most of the time and working with wildlife. I guess what I miss most about the job was being able to help my cooperators by solving their depredation problems. The most important thing I guess that I learned working in this position was being able to work with people that had very different ways of life and values than that of mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first Job
Senior Auditor (Current Employee), Beltsville, MDNovember 13, 2014
I was recruited fresh out of college and I can say that being an auditor in such a large department exposed me a variety of industries. Very flexible work schedules, great managers who want to see you advance and excellent benefits. In the beginning, the travel was alluring, but once you have a family, it can become a bit demanding. Overall, amazing – more... experience and I'm thankful for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very business like atmosphere due to sensitive cases.
Deputy Regional Director (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCNovember 12, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: bureaucracy of government
Arrive to work at 6:30am to read and answer emails received over night. Contact Field Supervisors as to updates on sensitity investigations. Update Management Team on any issues that might need attention. Meet with Intell personnel as to critical requests made by field. The hardest part of my duties was the large area covered by my responsibilities. – more... I enjoyed the people and assisting them in achieving their goals within the organization. Managing the Eastrn Region field operations(all states east the Mississippi including MN) was a challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over time was a must to complete reports
Clerk-Typist, GS (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 5, 2014
Pros: you get paid holidays. you were also given an hour for lunch
Cons: must work over time
It was important to send out survey ti framers as to how their corps was doing and also will they be able to sale at the store they send them to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government employee for the USDA
Human Resource Assistant (Former Employee), Lancaster, CANovember 3, 2014
Human Resource Assistant - April 2009- February 2012
A part of the Temporary hiring team for the nation. My responsibilities included:
qualifying applicants
determining veteran preference
reviewing transcripts
updating data bases such as NFC, 52 Trackers, EmpowHr, eForms
filling confidential and non confidential paperwork
speaking with and answering – more... questions through email or phone from supervisors, applicants, employees and manager
setting pay
create, edit and send confirmation letters to new hires and rehires
created spreadsheets and documents using Microsoft word, excel, and powerpoint
case manager work correcting problems and answering questions having to do with pay, name changes, qualification questions, address changes, etc.

Office Automation Clerk in Human Resources - February 2007- April 2009
Assistant to an administrator on the permanent employment team and my responsibilities included:
created documents and spreadsheets using Microsoft word, excel and powerpoint
filed confidential and non confidential paperwork
filed and kept track of all my supervisors employees paperwork on employment
answered emails and phone calls from supervisors, co workers, and applicants
schedule and arrange travel
coordinate calendars for supervisor
review payroll
input and update databases such as NFC, 52 tracker, EmporwHr, eForms
ordered office supplies, delivered mail to correct offices, mailed mail and packages,
kept inventory of supplies
qualified applicants, determined veteran preference, and reviewed transcripts
attended the annual Region 5 Fire Hire
certified expanded dispatcher – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, but not a great advancing position
Seasonal Biological Technician (Former Employee), Chiloquin, OROctober 31, 2014
Pros: outdoors, assisting in valuable research, learning new skills
Cons: monotonous, isolated area, some negative co workers
Basically in this position I hiked for 10 hours 4 days a week in order to collect data about possible Spotted Owl habitat in the Fremont-Winema Forest. I loved being outside all day and got to see some neat wildlife. A couple of things I didn't enjoy about this position were a few of the co workers and the job itself was pretty monotonous and isolated. – more... Being in a very small town area like that can be difficult as the culture there is some what stagnated and antiquated. Overall it was an educating summer, and a wonderful experience, but I declined the invitation to return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I like about the USDA
Supervisory Consumer Safety Inspector (Current Employee), Wilkesboro, NCOctober 29, 2014
Pros: working with people from various backgrounds
Cons: the grey areas of the job
I supervise daily enforcement of federal regulatory requirements to ensure that food is processed in a clean and wholesome environment. I have learned to be a more professional person when dealing with adversarial people. I manage people, processes, and material to ensure the Agency's mission is accomplished. The hardest part of the job motivating workers – more... to stay focused on their job priorities. The most enjoyable part working with different people, learning from them, and get the mission completed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talking with Farmers
Enumerator/Coach/Trainer (Current Employee), Little Rock, AROctober 23, 2014
Pros: good enviroment
Cons: not enough hours
Fun place to work with great people, very team orientated. Enjoyed training new staff, and coaching people to do a great job on the phone. Enjoyed dealing with the farmers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NASS
Program Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Olivette, MOOctober 22, 2014
Do not work for this company. It isnt worth you time. It is a waste of government money and should be handled by a private company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asistant staffs to get work done
Summer Associate (Former Employee), Faribault, MNOctober 22, 2014
Everyone is nice and willing to help.
I learned a lot about mortgage and analyzing financial statements
Working environment is excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People with the combination of cultures.
ADMINISTRATIVE CLERK (Current Employee), Elkins WVOctober 22, 2014
Pros: always active and learning
Cons: job security is horrible
Early work hours
Great foreign nationals to work with.
Smart environment with great scientist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the working environment
Program Assistant (Current Employee), Riverdale, MDOctober 20, 2014
Cons: can't retire because of age
I love my job and have no immediate plans to leave. I will be eligible for retirement based on Social Security Standards when I'm 67 years old, but I actually able to retire now because of length of employment. I love my colleagues, supervisor and the work that I do. No complaints here.

1 2 3 4 5

About DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

The Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries strives towards a united and prosperous agricultural sector, with the aim – Read more

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Photos