Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
283 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Supervisory Procurement Analyst (Former Employee), Warren, PAApril 11, 2014
Pros: work environment
Fast paced work environment that was challenging and fulfilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working here for 22 yrs
Lead Systems Administrator (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 2, 2014
Pros: good opportunity for growth, and training
Cons: budget cutbacks and pay raise freeze
I began in the admin field and immediately got involved into the IT environment. Great training and good growth over my career at USDA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience and interesting field of study
Agricultural Statistician (Former Employee), Austin, TXMarch 29, 2014
Pros: lasting peer friendships and compensation
Cons: rather not say
Good initial exposure to statistical modeling related to market environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Investigator (Former Employee), Woodbury, NJMarch 25, 2014
Pros: work from home. schedule work for the day.
Cons: traveling in inclement weather, sometimes long distance.
Room for advancement was poor. People were excellent to work with. Management at times out of touch with personnel. Work was uneventful. The enjoyable part of day was returning to home office to complete the days activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outdoors work
intern (Former Employee), MacDoel CaMarch 21, 2014
outdoor work, free range fences, campground clean up and 5 team crew work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of interesting reseach
Agricultural Science Research Technician (Current Employee), Beltsville, MDMarch 18, 2014
Plenty of new innovative research in agriculture is coming down the pipeline...this is one place to be involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
GS5 Forestry Technician (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COMarch 16, 2014
Great time working for the fed. solid work life mix..............................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun at all
Enumerator (Former Employee), Olivette, MOMarch 15, 2014
nothing good here but the patients- management was bad- learned nothing- no honesty here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 YEARS OF WORK IN THE FIELD FORMULATING IMPLEMENTING AND ADMINISTRATING RESEARCH WORK
Research Officer (Former Employee), PERADENIYA, SRI LANKAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: social benefits and health care nor included
I HAVE WORKED IN DIFFERENT CAPACITIES DURING THE PERIOD AND WAS ALWAYS WITH SUPPORTING STAFF WHO WERE REALLY HELPFUL TO ME AND CHEERFUL. i HAVE ALSO HAD MANY PUBLICATIONS AND TWO BOOKS ON RICE AND FOUR RICE VARIETIES BRED AND RELEASED. MOST ENJOYABLE PART IS MY OUTPUT DEVELOPING RESEARCH STATIONS, MANAGING DIFFERENT LEVEL OF OFFICERS INCLUDING LABOUR – more... WHO WORKED WITH ME AND THEIR HELPFUL HANDS IN ANY WORK FOR THE SUCCESSFUL ACCOMPLISHMENT – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience every year benefitting my pst education with this particular job.
Forestry Technician (Former Employee), Garden Valley, IDMarch 8, 2014
Pros: waking up to a slendid sunrise most people have never had the experience to cherish.
Cons: missing out on good concerts, art in the park, other fun social activities.
Start studying more maps, topos, base maps and google earth maps, Learning new country and blind spots from my seeing area.Management is helpful in some ways. Best to work with them in the early season before fire season breaks out and then everyone is dispatched out. There is no hard part of this job, just trying to explain to visitors that its not – more... really as boring as they dare to beleive. Meeting with new people and finding out their interests, where they work and how their quality of life is treating them. sometimes a thought or suggestion can make a world of difference in their present lives that can make a difference thev'e not thought of before. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Life
Forestry Tech. (Former Employee), Waldport, ORMarch 6, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: management says one thing but expects somthing else.
Its to hard to become permeate employee there is no adherences that you will get a job and you keep coming back year after year, and at some point you finally work your way into a position, but you never get that permeate status you are always classified seasonal employee. You get to work with some really good people, and the jobs you do are really – more... interesting. The hardest part of the job is that they are always downsizing but the work load stays the same. sanctification of a job well done. and someone saying good job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting inviroment to work in and experience different things.
Forestry Technician (Current Employee), Northern CaMarch 6, 2014
Pros: nature
Cons: staff lacking motivation for completing job tasks.
A typical day at work isn't very fast-paced or productive though can be fun if given the right staff. Learn a lot about government standards and red tape. Management can make or break your experience. Co-workers are typically fairly lazy. Hardest part of the job is the diminishing budget and the lack of motivation from fellow employees. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is seeing all the neat things that nature has to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Environment
Biological Science Aid (Former Employee), College Station, TXMarch 3, 2014
Pros: group lunches, great coworkers, good hours, decent pay
Cons: lots of work, low budget
I learned how to conduct myself professionally in a laboratory setting. Everyone was very helpful and supportive. The hardest part of the job was working around the budget - there were always budget issues. Also, the reward for hard work didn't quite seem balanced. But I always looked forward to going in every day to work in the lab and be around some – more... great people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair
Agricultural Economist (Former Employee), Kathmandu, NepalFebruary 28, 2014
Poor working environment and low salary. No reward and punishment. Low potential co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to Learn
SQL Server BI Developer (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 26, 2014
This is the place to work and learn, thanks to the company to make me in this ways
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspected Poultry
Food & Safety Inspector Services (Current Employee), Cumming, GAFebruary 24, 2014
Enjoyed working with people and enjoyed the Challenage the poulrty Field offered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly demanding, but very rewarding
Agriculture Commodities Grader (Current Employee), Knob Noster, MOFebruary 10, 2014
Excellent job for someone who works well independently. Very limited supervision, excellent benefits, wonderful people to work with throughout the United States
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Advisory Consultant (Former Employee), Washington DCFebruary 3, 2014
I enjoyed the level of work that was performed for this client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Loan Processor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 31, 2014
What I do is come and assist homeowners who needs assistance with their mortgage account. The assistance range from helping workout out arrangements to pay back delinquent balance to offering assistance to organizations in their area to help them make their delinquent payments. The hardest part of my job is to listen to the sad stories on how the borrower – more... have ran out of options to bring their account current. The best party besides my great coworkers is to help create an successful homeowner. I've learned over the years is to be very patient with customers and to let the complete what they have to say before you offer an suggestions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employment I have ever had
Processor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJanuary 29, 2014
Working here was miserable. I found myself being micromanaged by individuals who knew absolutely nothing about leading team members. I was terminated for a service connected disability that the company hired me knowing I had. I am ashamed that this is a government agency.

1 2 3 4 5

About DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

With the stony faces of┬áMount Rushmore┬áserving as a constant reminder to civic duty, the Office of the Governor of South Dakota – Read more

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Photos