Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
316 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Hours, Seasonal
PPQ-Aide (Current Employee), Clyde, NYAugust 18, 2014
Pros: working on my own when there is hours
Cons: not enough hours
Seasonal work schedule, there is weeks that I do not work at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job but hard to advance and seasonal
Forestry Technician (Current Employee), Ferron, UTAugust 16, 2014
Pros: decent pay and working in the mountains
Cons: seasonal and hard to advance
a typical day is a lot of hard manual labor, I really enjoyed working out doors and would like to advance but it is hard to do so. most of the employees have been working there for many years and don't plan on leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement, Don't care about the "little guy"
Biological Science Aid (Current Employee), Bushland, TXAugust 12, 2014
Pros: learning opportunities, work/personal balance
Cons: pay/benefits, management, advancement opportunities
Lots of good learning experiences but there is no room for advancement and the pay is extremely low. The scientist, not all but most, treat the people below them like peons. Just like anything the government has its hand in, it is very inefficient with a lot of unnecessary spending
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putting my skills and knowledge every day at the job
Plant Protection Quarantine (PPQ) Technician (Former Employee), Carolina PRAugust 12, 2014
Pros: work in an excellent and comforting place
Cons: spend a lot of hours in overtime
A day at work start when I confiscate prohibit material, plants, plant products and pests to the passengers going to the United States. Every baggage was pass to the x-ray machine to view inside their luggage and after we see some fruits we inspected and if they were contaminated, take it to the lab for final determination when I see them to the microscope, – more... find the scientific name and the name of pests or insects that could be contaminating the fruits or plants that they were carrying in the luggage. After I determined the material was contaminated I start the paper work and fill out the forms and refers suspects to a professional for identification and submission. This work increase my knowledge in the field of science. Made it possible to develop more communication skills and work with a great team in the lab area which enjoyed a lot. I don't think it was an impossible or hard part of the job but when I have to look inside the fruit for pests and insects take me a little bit of time but I really enjoy this part of my job. I learned about nature, plants and different pests that exist on our planet. I could learn different methods and tools that will help me in the field of botany and ecology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good places to work
Technician (Former Employee), Aguadilla, PRAugust 8, 2014
Pros: 7% cola
Cons: full medical plan
My work is very good and has good benefits. I like it because it gives me the opportunity to develop my abilities and skills. It has good coworkers and good team of supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a seasonal job
Field Technician (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAAugust 2, 2014
Pros: outdoors, real science.
Cons: seasonal
Interesting and kept me in touch with real science. Nice work locations and interesting people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable benefits, good sick leave and vacation pay. Work life balance
Engineering Technician, District Engineer (Current Employee), Hebo, ORAugust 2, 2014
My job has a lot of variety. Much of my job consists of coordination of engineering related work. Overall it is a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN FUN FUN
Agricultural Research Service (Current Employee), Stoneville, MSJuly 28, 2014
A DAY AT USDA CAN BE VERY FUN AT TIME, I HAVE THREE OF THE MOST AMAZON COWORKERS I EVER HAD. BERFORE I START WORKING FOR USDA I KNEW HOW TO DO SOME THINGS BUT MY MIND WAS OPEN TO LEARN MORE. THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS LEAVING BECAUSE ITS ONLY A SUMMER JOB. I LIKE TO JOKE AROUND WITH MY COWORKERS BECAUSE WE ALL LIKE A FAMILY IF U REALLY SPEND A DAY – more... AROUND US. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Student assistant (Former Employee), Ocilla, GAJuly 24, 2014
ok but the guy over me was a jerk to everyone he met the whole year i was there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Statistics
Research Greenhouse Specialist (Former Employee), HomeJuly 14, 2014
Had to be a self starter ready to interview Farmers over the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work with good benefits.
Poultry Inspector (Former Employee), Springdale, ARJuly 13, 2014
Pros: steady work with decent pay and benefits.
Cons: non caring, no ethic coworkers.
Inspected beef and poultry 8 hours a day. We worked with a variety of different cultures in the plants which was interesting.
Management at the level I was at was horrible. My last supervisor only liked to stay in his office and feel important. His actual job was to be out in the plant supervising the employees,which he rarely did. Consequently we had – more... inspectors that slept on the line,singing and dancing and just general horse play.This was very hard for me to tolerate as i believe we had a very important job to do,keep food safe for consumers.This was a wide spread problem nearly everywhere I worked, supervisory veterinarians not caring about what was being passed on to the consumer,very disturbing!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job culture
Equal Opportunity Student Trainee (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 10, 2014
A typical day at work is working directly under a Equal Opportunity Specialist. Writing reports, working on the webpage design is part of my internship duty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work & I learned a great deal about the industry
Office Support Assistant (Current Employee), Lakewood, COJuly 10, 2014
Pros: teamwork and special proejcts
Cons: office closing
There was a good variety of work to be done, incoming email messages that needed to be printed, entered into different systems, and saved for reference; supply requests disbursement, requisitioning, and financial control; secure mail handling and distribution; producing training manuals (IMPS, Division instructions, Child Nutrition, COOL, Union/Management – more... contract, ect.) brochures, and assorted employee handouts, reviewed incoming and outgoing check registers and procedures; suggested and created new forms to streamline procedures; vehicle fleet management reports; USPS daily reports for return mail costs, reproduction services, and postage meter; verifying and reconciling UPS and FedEx weekly billing (hard and electronic copy); management of UPS database of address; 3-day detail to USDA, Forest Service, Job Corps National Office; assisting in closing the QAD Lakewood Office including scheduling and shipping supply stockpile, inventory supplies and equipment, packaging and shipping museum-quality antiques, converting serveral years of files and data into electronic format for long-term storage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have only ever worked as a temporary employee... ok.. once as a term.
GS5, Trails (Former Employee), Safford, AZJune 28, 2014
Pros: getting laid off after six months, beautiful scenery, outdoors
Cons: getting laid off after six months, lack of health care, no retirement
As a temp you work 6 months or less. Usually 6 months on... 6 months off. No health care. No retirement. No uniform. No getting 3 hours a week to exercise like the permanents do. No getting part of your gym membership paid for like the permanents do... Overall I have really enjoyed working for the US Forest Service. Beautiful areas. Hard work, but some – more... really awesome experiences. After ten years as a temp though.... hard not to feel like a throw away person in a throw away culture. Like most of the public land agencies.... more and more emphasis is being put on people with Degrees being in management. And those people want a decent life and salary. Can not blame them. But much of the day to day business of a public agency is dirty, hard, no appreciation kind of work. People with Masters degrees or PHDs are not going to clean the toilets, arrest the timber thieves, keep the trails open... etc, etc. Like most of the public land agencies... paper seems to mean as much or more than people these days. Forest Service is too often the Office Service. Our forest full of trash.... used needles, garbage...

Get your degree. Masters preferable. Then you can get a cost of living increase while talking of how hard to manage it all is.... Only work as a temp if you love the outdoors more than money, and can afford to have a job without healthcare or retirement. Average these days is ten years... ten years as a seasonal before you will make permanent. If you make permanent... I will probably go back to seasonal sooner or later. Great way to make some cash for the summer, see some cool scenery and then go on unemployment. You can do it till your too old to work... then you can live illegally in the Forest you used to patrol. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strength building and determination.
Forest Service Technician (Former Employee), Sonora, CAJune 16, 2014
Loved the experience.
Loved the traveling.
Extremely like my crew members and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship program
Internship (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 12, 2014
Great experience, learned a great deal about the NAFTA countries, trade, and the ERS systems used to analyze the data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Program Clerk/Automation Clerk (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEJune 10, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, everyone was hurried but they knew that they could only do so much at a time
Cons: budget, they are limited by budget and regulations on what they can do
I would go in and check my email then Update and maintain records of all lenders and borrowers in various file formats.
Scan and save records to the USDA webpage
Prepare and assemble Single Family Housing Dockets and other materials for scanning into the Central Servicing Center’ database
Created PowerPoint slides for presentation
Maintained confidentiality – more... of documents and papers of the organization
Review, record and store documents for proper use
Sort Compliance Reports by program and date
Prepare and affix labels to files with appropriate destruction information
Sort and compile Budget Reports
Update and organize the SOP for scanning
Work with Administration, Housing, Business Programs, Community Programs
Format Budget Object Classification Codes
Conduct equipment inventory for the entire state
Work with Business Energy on a project that included adding 200 recipients of Renewable Energy Education Assistance Program(REAP,REDA) into GLS (Guaranteed Loan System) database system
Work with the Civil Engineer and entered data for the Nebraska Rural Water Association, metered water rates
Work with Business Energy Specialists in entering data into GLS computer database system
Continued to work as a volunteer basis after paid position expired on 10/2012
I learned how to multi-task.
The management and co-workers wanted to help out in any way they could.
I enjoyed the job and the challenge of learning new things – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Duties - Administrative (Former Employee), bartlett, tnJune 4, 2014
I was not happy working in an agency which had leadership that would not listen, help or monitor anything in the lab area. We had employees cheating, talking, leaving their post - without any problems from the management. Co-workers constantly talked about other employees - and caused harm to people who wanted to keep to themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An important mission!
Area Specialist (Former Employee), Devils Lake, NDMay 27, 2014
Committed to helping improve the economy and quality of life in rural America - a very important mission and a really great, hard-working group of people to see that there is a real positive impact on the rural communities in our country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average
CONSTRUCTION INSPECTOR (PROGRAM SPECIALIST) (Former Employee), Pohnpei, FSMMay 26, 2014
This is where I first embarked on my work experience beginning with a Construction Clerk followed by being promoted to Inspector.

1 2 3 4 5

About DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

The Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries strives towards a united and prosperous agricultural sector, with the aim – Read more

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Photos